Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easiest access to 81

Posted May 11, 2014
Easy on/off ramp! However if you're staying part of hotel & it's windy..good luck: sounds like someone is constantly trying to open your door..was kind of scary at first.
1 out of 5
by Ally

Please, never stay here.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
It was terrible. Even the curtains were peeling. They didn't have milk. The waffles were gross. The hotel staff had an attitude. I wanted to only stay one night because of how bad it was. NEVER PREPAY. I prepaid and when I asked for the rest of my money back they got snippy with me and said. "We'll, that's what you get when you prepay.". Seriously? If it comes to staying here or sleeping in your car, SLEEP IN YOUR CAR. It will be more pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elmer

Not what I expected in a good way

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness of the rooms was superb.
Cons: Get new exterior doors as well as connecting doors that fit well and have working deadbolts.
Other hotels in Roanoke were booked that weekend and we ended up staying here - thought it was going to be an old "motor inn" experience but was pleasantly surprised. The room we were in was very comfortable, extremely clean and updated with new carpets, linens, paint, granite countertops. The beds were very comfortable. There were a couple of minor problems with the rooms. First, the doors need to be replaced. It didn't provide a tight seal and allowed us to see daylight outside through the edges of the doors, which contributed to the road noise since the hotel is right next to the interstate. The door deadbolt lock on either room didn't work either, but we felt safe enough since there was a swing lock to use when we were in the room. Also we had connecting rooms and the connecting doors were not of the same quality as the rest of the room and one had been obviously kicked in at one point, with some splinters near the deadbolt and footprints on the door itself. The breakfast was okay - the waffles tasted "funny" and one day we were there the apple juice tasted off as well. I have had better continental breakfasts elsewhere. The staff kept the food well stocked, though, and they never ran out of anything even when it was close to the ending time for breakfast. We didn't go away hungry.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smells Like Smoke

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Even though the room was supposed to be non-smoking, it smelled terribly of cigarette smoke! We were told we could not have another room. Also, the walls were very thin. We could hear every word from the neighbors on both sides.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cathy from New York

Needed place to stay in snowstorm

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located right off the highway so it is perfect for someone passing through town. Rooms were clean and staff was very helpful. Remote did not work and they brought me a new one. Only complaint I have is it is two story indoor hotel and there is no elevator and it was a long sprawling staircase you had to go up. Hotel was under construction so they had no first floor rooms available.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Daniels from Roanoke Airport, Planation Road

Not Handicao Friendly

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel 's main lobby is attractive; however, the handicap rooms are not in the main part of the hotel. Our room door was not tight, but had a crack for cold air to come through. The bathroom is no where handicap friendly, i.e., no roll-in showers, no showers seats, and not enough handicap bars.I would not recommend this hotel until it makes necessary upgrades to be handicap friendly.I am surprise that this is one of your hotels that listed handicap accessible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Convenient Hotel for a Road trip

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very clean, adequate breakfast, nice staff, right off of the highway we were driving on, and quite cheap!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tara from Florida

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was nice, however booking with hotels.com wasnt. Took 30 min. to check in because their credit card declined and I was told to call and straighten out even though I had already pre paid. I was not happy to begin my trip this way.
1 out of 5
by Jeff from Round Hill Virginia

AVOID! I'd Never Stay Here Again!

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
Location: Close to I-81.
I knew we were in trouble when we rolled into the parking lot. The hotel had recently had a fire and damage was visible from the front. This is an old property in need of a serious update, maybe part of it will be due to the fire. The front desk clerk was very pleasant, and she was the only positive thing about the place. The room was in shabby condition, the heat made a lot of noise, the sheets and curtains had holes in them. The internet did not work, and when I called the front desk the owner told me to call the 800 number listed on the card in the room for technical assistance. I stay at a lot of hotels and I know how to connect to the internet-theirs simply did not work. There is also no elevator to get to the second floor, only a curved staircase which is very awkward when carrying luggage. I have stayed at other hotels in the area, and I chose this one because it was closer to where I needed to be. Big mistake, next time I'll drive a little further for a better room. I know what room rates run in the area and this hotel is priced at twice what it is worth. I will NEVER stay here again.