Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Amazing hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Brilliant hotel, great location, fantastic facilities. Luggage guys were completely useless, didn't help just pointed in the direction of the lift. Everyone else was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Wonderful "grand old lady) on the hill did not disappoint. Food, atmosphere, accommodations and fitness center were all superb!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad we didn't disappoint and I hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, Historic, and Elegant.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location: In downtown Roanoke. There is plenty to see and a lot of good local restaurants!
We had a great stay at Hotel Roanoke. They had actually given our room away, and in return put us in an Executive Suite, which sounds opulent however it seemed to just be another room. It did give us access to the Executive Lounge and a complementary breakfast, the only thing was that it was one of the smallest breakfast bars I have seen at a hotel. My recommendation is to just stay in an ordinary room, and go to the restaurant in the hotel for breakfast. Overall it was a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Noisy but nice

Posted Jun 27, 2014
I stayed 4 nights in June 2014. There was constant noise! Trains rumbling by all the time, whistling and blowing steam throughout the day! Then there is the traffic- being downtown and along a freeway means noise. You can't hear between rooms but you can everything in the hallway- doors banging shut, people walking, cleaning staff talking- all reverberates in the room. There is no room service so I'm not sure how they are rated as 4 star. Parking is extremely inconvenient and expensive whether you use valet or not. It is a beautiful older hotel with a gorgeous facade and grounds but it is convenient only for those who intend to stay there in downtown Roanoke their whole trip. If you come and go it is not at all convenient. My room was clean and comfortable although very small. My interactions with the staff were very positive and friendly. I did eat twice in the Pine Room and once it was very slow and the other was very fast but both were expensive. It is a unique place- nice to visit- but I think next time in Roanoke I might prefer a less expensive three star and get more bang for my buck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, elegant hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Only stayed one night but it was outstanding. Definitely plan on going again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2014
Dear Traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you have the opportunity to come back again and visit soon! We look forward to serving you. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Room for Improvement

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Carpet, staff, amenities.
Location: Market area.
I have stayed at the Hotel Roanoke off and on since 1985. This is a super location. Unfortunately, the facility is tired and has a lot of deferred maintenance. At my first room, the keys did not work. At the second room, the bathroom was flooded. The third room was nice. I was given free breakfast passes for two. But the Regency Room wait staff was not particularly solicitous. I had to flag someone to get my water glass filled. This experience really flies in the face of my overall experience over the years. The potential is there. It is just not being realized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn from Washington DC

Girls Weekend

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Cons: A more clearly defined pedestrian crossing at the bottom of the stone steps accessing the self parking lot near the entrance drive.
My overnight stay at the Hotel Roanoke far exceeded my expectations! I met up with one of my best friends for a girls weekend and had the absolute best experience. First impression, the hotel and grounds are beautiful with the perfect mix of historic beauty and modern elegance. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. At every turn, the staff were helpful, friendly and extremely accommodating. After hearing about the amazing brunch at the Regency Room, I called to make reservations for the following morning, which happened to be Father's Day, so I crossed my fingers. I was initially told they were booked, but they so graciously squeezed us in and I am so glad they did. What an impressive and beautiful brunch we had! I perfect way to end our weekend stay! The hotel is adjacent to a pedestrian bridge that takes you over the railroad tracks into the downtown area, which is filled with restaurants and little shops. The downtown area is fantastic and I just loved the fact that we could leave the cars and walk everywhere. So convenient! Definitely stop and read the history timeline of the hotel that lines the walls at the entrance of the bridge. It really is a fascinating history. I honestly can't say enough about this hotel and am just so happy that we found this gem. I look forward to many more memorable visits.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2014
Dear Dawn, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your girls weekend! We are honored by your kind remarks and I am thankful that you chose the hotel for your special weekend away! We look forward to serving you again and hope you can come back to visit again soon. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Lovely historic hotel. clean room, pleasant staff. good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2014
Dear Traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to serve you again in the future! Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stately historic building in an urban setting.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The historic building.
Cons: They could use updated furniture.
Location: This is in the beautiful Virginia mountains. The views are spectacular! There are several nice restaurants as well as a city market.
We had to ask for a different room as soon as we saw the one were assigned as there was only one chair and no sofa. The new room was an improvement, without a refrigerator. I later saw one being wheeled down a corridor. The mattresses were soft and comfy and the water pressure was excellent. They had plenty of bath sheets available and their restaurant was surprisingly good. Access on and off the highway was easy. We would come again. Also there is a walkway into the center of Roanoke. We loved our weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2014
Dear Traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad that the transisiton of rooms worked out smoothly and you enjoyed your weekend! I hope if your travels return you to the Roanoke Valley, you will again choose us for your accommodations. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Greensboro, NC

Great historic hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2014
When arriving I must suggest to use the Valet parking. It's worth the extra so you don't have the walk from the parking lot. All staff employees were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is beautiful with nice lounge chairs and sofas around. Room was very nice and clean. Only minor complaint would be the very loud air conditioning when it is on. Easy access to downtown Roanoke via the walkway that crosses the railroad tracks. All in all, an enjoyable stay and would go there again. Also, breakfast in the restaurant there is reasonable and very good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2014
Dear Greg, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay and would return! We look forward to serving you if your travels ever bring you back to the Valley. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager