Ratings based on 457 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Wonderful hotel, historic, extremely convenient to downtown. The Hotel Roanoke is one of my favorite hotels and I have travelled all over the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Front Royal, VA

Great location for this historic hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent and the sky walk over the tracks to the shopping and dining district was very convenient.
Cons: Service in the Pine Room Bar was a bit slow, I think they just under staffed for a busy Saturday night.
Location: Very convenient to museums and downtown shopping and dining, easy access across an enclosed sky walk.
We wanted a quick romantic getaway close to museums and the Black Dog Salvage company used in the TV show Salvage Dawgs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The professional attitude of the hotel. The hotel was beautiful.
Cons: The daily fee for the refrigerator. I stay at many hotels throughout the US. Most provide a refrigerator without a fee.
Location: I was at a conference at the Civic Center. It was easy to walk to; however, the hotel did provide a shuttle if one was desired.
I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center. The room was comfortable, clean, and the staff was accomodating and pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Great weekend get away

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Room, outdoor dining/bar, location.
Cons: We had a handicap accessible bathroom which flooded everytime we used the shower. Seems there should be some way to prevent this.
Location: The Market Center is in the downtown - the bridge from the hotel drops you right in it. Good shopping and restaurants. Also, lots of hiking, etc.
The hotel exceeded expectations in every way. The location for getting to downtown and around cannot be beat. We did not move our car once we parked for the entire weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Martha, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am thrilled to read you enjoyed the hotel as well as the walk ability of the downtown area and location. I hope if your travels return you to the Roanoke Valley, you will again choose us for your accommodations. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel for a nice price

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Beautiful hotel. 3 star room with small touches that made it stand out. Great staff. Lobby coffee would be greatly appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we will take your coffee concept into consideration. I hope if your travels return you to the Valley, you will again choose us for your stay. We look forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Only spent one night but was pleased with our room. Bed was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Diana, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We hope to serve you again soon on possibly a longer stay in the Roanoke Valley! There are a lot of great things happening in the area every season! Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Grand old lady with a lot of character

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Great location - good pool and gym facility, breakfast was a bit frantic but perfectly good. And all the staff were very attentive and friendly.
Cons: The 'pub' food is pretty dire - saved only by the excellent service!
Location: Across the bridge and right into town. I'd recommend the hotdog king and Billy's! Oh and he science museum is excellent for kids.
Stayed here for a couple of days in order to explore Roanoke and couldn't have chosen a better spot - up on the hill and easy access to town. The hotel itself has a lovely old world feel about it. A bit tired perhaps in places, but that's part of the attraction! The room was clean, comfortable and spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Jules, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you had a chance to experience the Roanoke area, and hope if your travels return you to the area, that you will again choose us for your stay. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reidsville NC

Beautiful historic hotel, great location.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Nice pool and spa has jets, not just bubbles like most hotels. Even had lifts available for handicapped individuals for both pool and spa. Staff is very attentive. Blueberry french toast was best I've ever had. Outside verandas very nice for summer evenings. Glass walkway takes you right to the heart of downtown activities and restaurants.Self parking ( $8) was easy but valet available for higher price. Hotel interior and restaurants are luxurious. Giant lit star on nearby mountain is visible from hotel. I recommend driving to top of Mill Mnt at night to see the lights of Roanoke. Also easy access to Blue Ridge Parkway. I will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Glad, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad to read your experience was wonderful and that you will return again if your travels bring you back to the area. We look forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Ehh. Not that great.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear J, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We wish we could learn more about your experience to better our service and product. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

a hotel with lots of class

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: it was beautiful, spacious and everyone who worked their was very nice. great location. 2 minutes from downtown.
Cons: parking should be included in the price.
Location: great restaurants and bars, farmers market.
gorgeus hotel. spacious room. great amenities. great location. my only complaint is that you had to pay extra for parking and breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear nancy, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your lodging. We look forward to serving you. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager