Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Grand old lady with a lot of character

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Great location - good pool and gym facility, breakfast was a bit frantic but perfectly good. And all the staff were very attentive and friendly.
Cons: The 'pub' food is pretty dire - saved only by the excellent service!
Location: Across the bridge and right into town. I'd recommend the hotdog king and Billy's! Oh and he science museum is excellent for kids.
Stayed here for a couple of days in order to explore Roanoke and couldn't have chosen a better spot - up on the hill and easy access to town. The hotel itself has a lovely old world feel about it. A bit tired perhaps in places, but that's part of the attraction! The room was clean, comfortable and spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Jules, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you had a chance to experience the Roanoke area, and hope if your travels return you to the area, that you will again choose us for your stay. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reidsville NC

Beautiful historic hotel, great location.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Nice pool and spa has jets, not just bubbles like most hotels. Even had lifts available for handicapped individuals for both pool and spa. Staff is very attentive. Blueberry french toast was best I've ever had. Outside verandas very nice for summer evenings. Glass walkway takes you right to the heart of downtown activities and restaurants.Self parking ( $8) was easy but valet available for higher price. Hotel interior and restaurants are luxurious. Giant lit star on nearby mountain is visible from hotel. I recommend driving to top of Mill Mnt at night to see the lights of Roanoke. Also easy access to Blue Ridge Parkway. I will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Glad, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad to read your experience was wonderful and that you will return again if your travels bring you back to the area. We look forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Ehh. Not that great.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear J, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We wish we could learn more about your experience to better our service and product. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

a hotel with lots of class

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: it was beautiful, spacious and everyone who worked their was very nice. great location. 2 minutes from downtown.
Cons: parking should be included in the price.
Location: great restaurants and bars, farmers market.
gorgeus hotel. spacious room. great amenities. great location. my only complaint is that you had to pay extra for parking and breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear nancy, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your lodging. We look forward to serving you. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Worcester,MA

Very good overall

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Cons: No free wifi? Pay to self-park? Ugh!
Overall, a fine place to stay in Roanoke. Casual dining restaurant in the hotel was fine and had a billiards table. Breakfast was also good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear dnfromma, thank you for your review and rating. We appreciate the kind words and hope if your travels return you to the Valley, you will again choose the hotel for your accommodations. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Luxurious stop over, so good we stayed an extra night. Get the free breakfast deal if possible!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and even extended the stay for an extra night! I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your accommodations. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

V v nice

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Everyone v nice...took brunch food tour n was wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear sus an, thank you for your review and for coming to dine with us. The Brunch Food Tour is an amazing asset to the area, and I am glad you had the opportunity to experience it. I hope we have another opportunity to serve you again soon. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Superb Historic Hotel True Southern Hospitality

Posted Jul 15, 2014
This hotel is a Grand Dame indeed. The public spaces were stunning and the rooms were comfortable without losing all of their 19th century charm. The staff was welcoming and went out of their way to make sure your needs were met. The fitness center was nice, as was the pool area. The food was good and the location was walking distance from downtown. Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Amazing hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Brilliant hotel, great location, fantastic facilities. Luggage guys were completely useless, didn't help just pointed in the direction of the lift. Everyone else was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Mel, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and we will be reviewing this with our staff, with corrective measures immediately put into place. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope that you will come back and visit again soon. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Wonderful "grand old lady) on the hill did not disappoint. Food, atmosphere, accommodations and fitness center were all superb!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad we didn't disappoint and I hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager