Ratings based on 581 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel no pool nice gym

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Only stayed for one night. The room was very clean and spacious. There was no pool which was disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. Unfortunately we are in the process of renovating the pool area, which should be complete by Memorial Day. I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Staff were super helpful and friendly. The rooms were well detailed and clean. The location was great to getting downtown. Would definitely come again!! Oh, and don't forget the warm chocolate cookies they give you at check in - yummy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to serve you again if your travels return you to the area. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Beautiful, historical, and a cookie.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
This is a gorgeous hotel in a beautiful mountainous place. We loved the bed, the linens, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice size rooms with complimentary coffee in room. I highly recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear B, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and the recommendation. I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Lovely hotel, elegant and stately.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Comfortable room, clean bathroom, excellent food in dining room and at conference.
This was my second year in a row attending a large conference at the hotel. My room was clean and comfortable. The food served at the conference was yummy. I recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2015 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Virginia, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored by your recommendation and look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2015 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Virginia, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored by your recommendation and look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Hotel reservations were messed up and we lost power the morning of check out, other than that it is a wonderful place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2015 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced, but hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2015 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced, but hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Derek

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Derek, thank you for your review and rating. We hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We look forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia Beach, VA

Historical hotel walking distance to downtown!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The ambiance....with it being so historic it was so beautiful and charming. Also it's proximity to downtown.
Cons: We self parked in the lot and it was such a long walk with our luggage up stairs in the freezing cold temperatures.
Location: Close to everything! There is a breezeway that you can take to downtown, we were amazed at the amount of options for dining and cocktails!
We spent one evening at the Hotel Roanoke and the next day we did not want to leave so we tried for a second evening. Our room was cozy with a great view of the Roanoke Star. We were walking distance from the open air market and all the wonderful restaurants and bars downtown. All in all a wonderful experience and we will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ashley, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much you didn't want to leave! We love to make that impression on guests and I will be certainly sharing your review with our team. I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We look forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jamesfrom MA

Honeymoon

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great experience !
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear James, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your honeymoon and we are honored to have been a part of such wonderful memories. I hope if your travels return you to the area, we will again be able to serve you. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gretna, Va.

Excellent Valentines get away

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: My husband and I enjoyed the efficient service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Restaurants, entertainment, shopping all convenient.
The service, staff, food, and accommodations were excellent. The valet service was a very special touch. All of the young men were most courteous professional. Chivalry is not dead, it lives on at Hotel Roanoke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Terrell, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have been a part of a romantic getaway and hope if your travel return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by charlesfrom Wytheville, Virginia

Decent, but nothing special if rooms aren't clean.

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
Property has lots of character and history. Staff was courteous and professional. The bathroom shower/bath had noticeable black mold/mildew in the grout channels which is never a good sign. The remainder of the room and bathroom seemed fairly clean, although nothing special for a higher end hotel. We checked in late and just did not want to make the effort to call and get moved to a different room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Charles, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced as this is not acceptable to our standards and will be addressed immediately. I appreciate you sharing your experience with us and I promise an improved experience if you return to our area. We hope to serve you again. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager