Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MD

Entire floor smells like an ashtray!

Posted Nov 4, 2014
So much cigarette smoke on floor that a towel under the door couldn't keep out the smell! Horrible!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stiff beds and thin walls

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Location, price.
Cons: Softer beds, improved insulation between rooms.
Location: LOTS of restaurants and dining within a 5-10 minute drive, beautiful mountain views in the area.
On our wedding night we stayed here on the way back home. The price was great and the location was perfect but the beds were kind of stiff and we could easily hear the people in the room next to us if they were coughing and could hear their voices at different times throughout the night.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

Closing for much needed renovations...

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The location is great. The hotel staff was pleasant.
Cons: Possibly, with the improvements made to the hotel, we would consider staying there again.
Location: Conveniently located right off the highway, not far from Main St and downtown Salem.
We were informed upon our arrival that the hotel would be closing in 1 week for renovations. This explained the lack of a restaurant/bar and limited options for the free breakfast. Our rooms clearly needed updating with tattered furniture, old mattresses and peeling wallpaper. On top of that the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Although. this is a non-smoking hotel 1 of our 2 rooms smelled of smoke and some hotel staff smoked right outside the entrance to the lobby.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

Smoker's paradise

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Beds were comfortable. Convenient to the highway.
Cons: Do not put non-smoking guests in a designated smoking room. Clean the bathrooms properly. Educate the staff to be less surly.
Location: 30 minutes from VT. Less than 15 minutes from Roanoke.
We booked in advance a non-smoking room with two queen beds. Upon arrival, we were told we were in a non-smoking room and we'd be penalized if we smoked in the room. Imagine our surprise when we arrived at our room and the sign did NOT say "No smoking" and it smelled slightly of cigarette smoke. Unfortunately, the longer we stayed in the room, the more apparent the cigarette smell was. We turned on the air unit to assist with airing the room and discovered that made it worse. The hallway reeked of cigarette smoke. As we came in from dinner, we overheard another guest complaining about cigarette smell in their room and they were told no other (non-smoking) rooms were available. The bathroom had been cleaned, but the corners needed a good cleaning (hair and dust in the corners) and the hair in the sink was a turnoff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Fantastic, Clean,Comfy Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Great Room & 24 hr coffee
Cons: Have to pay for Breakfast separate from the room
Location: About 15 mins from the Roanoke Civic Center
Quick, easy Check-In & Check-Out since I booked online. The Room was larger than I expected. It was VERY clean and extremely comfortable. I really enjoyed the hotel & the 24hr coffee!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Good rates; convenient location

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Clean, updated rooms and bathrooms; convenient location right off I-81; friendly staff
Cons: The shower in our room made a high-pitched sound.
Location: Convenient to the highway and Roanoke College. Need to drive to shops/restaurants - not walkable.
We were looking for a hotel close to Roanoke College for convenience. This is a good option - very reasonable and nice rooms. Nothing fancy but perfect for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by jkennaway

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Suzanne ackley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shane Chesmorefrom iowa

Decent hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Helpful staff nice place right next to the highway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by meshari

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com