Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake, VA

Our favorite. Just like home.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Probably my tenth time staying there. It isn't overly fancy, but the staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and the proximity to shopping, restaurants and downtown can't be beat !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Quick stay while traveling

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Liked the overall layout of the room, very well supplied.
Cons: hotel and rooms need to be redecorated!
Location: safe location, close to places to eat and highway
Overall the hotel was great for a larger family, 5 of us. The room had a full size kitchen which was helpful. 2 beds and a small pull out loveseat (not too comfortable but ok for one night). The hotel and rooms need to be updated, very 70-80's looking but it was clean. Breakfast was okay, typical continental. Location seemed safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Good location and clean.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Great location. Breakfast does not have many options but okay. The hotel has a more dated look but overall is clean. Small Beds (full size beds) so it but right. It was nice having a fold out couch but didn't realize it would just be a twin size sleeper so it was tight for our family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by clcintn from Tennessee

Very Nice rooms

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Mainstay was easy to get to. The rooms were very well maintained. The staff was very neat and friendly. The rooms were a great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ed from Roanoke, VA

Close to many restaurants and a nice mall

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The front-desk personnel were pleasant and helpful. The room was quiet and had everything we expected. Parking was convenient and you could walk to many restaurants. We ate at Carrabba's. The free breakfast in the morning was delicious; we were surprised that you could make a waffle and also that there were scrambled eggs and sausage. Good stopping place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Eldon from Richmond

Outstanding

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was outstanding
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rick Wiebush from Baltimore

Great place, but I may have lucked out

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved this place, primarily because I was given one of the one bedroom apartments. I like those because it doesn't feel like a hotel room. Mine was very spacious, with a big bathroom, big bedroom and very large kitchen area. The internet service was solid. However, I got this room because the room I was given initially had someone it in when I opened the door. So that's obviously a minus. I have no idea what the other rooms are like, but assume they were as clean and nicely furnished as mine was. The hotel is near a big mall (1/2 mile away) so there is easy access to lots of different restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Martha from Roanoke, VA

Very nice room with kitchen

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was large with living area and kitchen with full sized refrigerator, 2-burner stove, microwave and dishwasher. We only stayed one night, so it was more than what we needed, but would be perfect for longer stays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Sterling, VA

Great for families with kids

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was very spacious, but the beds were small. The location is near the airport and easy to get to although it was not so easy to get back to the highway when leaving. The staff was friendly.