Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Creek, WV.

Comfortable Stay

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Very clean and comfortable, near restaurants, gas stations and the interstate.
Cons: Seems to be older building but well maintained.....
Location: Just off the interstate, many restaurants, gas stations and places to shop.....
Was in town to visit plant about a transfer. Also scoping out the real estate market.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Salem Super 8 okay but needs more cleaning.

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our visit was okay. I did find several pieces of furniture that had been cleaned on top but not on other areas. Our toilet overflowed the morning we left and my husband had to find a plunger from the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elizabethfrom VA

Simple but good

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only negative thing was that the lobby is extremely small and that is where the continental breakfast is served. I would go back.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Last Resort

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked this room as it was the only left in Salem for the weekend. There is no elevator. The hallways smelled of stale cooking odors and the room smelled very strongly of orange cleaner. The grout around the bathtub was moldy. The front desk person was very busy on a personal call when I arrived and seemed put out that I interrupted him. If I could give this no stars, I would.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by kmacfrom va

Great for a quick stay

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Desk clerk was very nice and friendly. Room was clean and better than expected. Used room as base for VA Tech game - a little far, but that's what I get for last minute booking! Good value for the price
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Jamiefrom Pa

Poor Management DO NOT STAY

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was prefect for my needs, however there was an issue with the folks in the room above mine. I called the desk and notified them if the issue. After 30 minutes I called back and they offered to move me to a different room. I collected the the keys to the new room and gathered my belongings. The new room was a smoking room so I returned to the desk and was told there were no more rooms as they weren't allowed to rent out rooms with reservations the following day. The manager then direct me to a 3rd room when I found to be occupied! I ended up back in my original noisy room. Upon check out the following day, I heard the clerk giving the "no available rooms" speech to another customer who wasn't able to use her bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jim24153from Salem

Jim24153

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Did not have a Pool !!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Location: Most of the well know chain restaurants were about 5-7 miles away. There was a restaurant next to the hotel.
Room had a strange smell when I arrive. It was dusty and looked like no one had been there for a while. The area around the hotel was filled with equipment, although there was enough room to park. Rooms were quite and there was only enough room for the two beds. I was traveling with a pet and there was no room for a dog crate.