Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kingston

Excellent location!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, beautiful view, reasonable price, breakfast included
Cons: If there was a on-site children's playground, it would be perfect.
1. Facility is old but very clean. 2. Staff is very polite and friendly. 3. The price is very reasonable with the breakfast included. 4. Beatiful view, quiet, excellent location: very close to the highway. 5. Will come back for sure. 6. The hotel is located/hided on Loomis Rd where is just right beside the highway exit. Several guests mentioned they missed the road and needed to turn a big round to get back. You don't see the hotel from the highway, so pay attention to the sign: Loomis Rd, it is very easy to find the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Cons: Cleanliness, remodel, very outdated
You get what you pay for. This place has so much potential, it's too bad it's so dirty and unmaintained
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but snot enough essentials like linens

Posted Aug 9, 2014
No fresh washcloths on 2nd & 3rd day. Otherwise good room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Ok for the price

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive rates. It has a heated pool but we didn't try it. Other guests seemed very friendly as well.
Cons: The room was really cold when we arrived. I know it's probably policy to keep the room air conditioned but it was freezing all night.
Location: We went to the LEGO store in Victor NY!
It's not 5 star hotel but it was a relatively inexpensive place where we stayed the night just passing through town. We had a non-smoking room with two beds but they didn't have it so we were upgraded to a suite at no cost which was awesome. Although it was wasted on us for just a night, I could really enjoy a suite on a longer visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel overall, nice. Room dirty, so uncomfortable

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The bar/lounge was very nice and relaxing. Bartender was very friendly and fun. Cocktails great. The actual bar area needs updating & a good clean.
Cons: Pride ! The owner and staff need to take pride in what they own and where they work. Clean and throw a coat of fresh paint on everything !
Location: Lots to do in the area. Horseracing, concerts, wine country and a beautiful lake just a few miles away.
Hotel OK overall. Service at desk could have been friendlier. When checking out, didn't even ask if my stay was nice. Rates were very reasonable, so Wasn't expecting a 5 star experience. Think they just need to take a little more Pride in the hotel. The location is fabulous. Just needs a little care. Better Cleaning and a fresh coat of paint over all. There was a note in the room that they are re-doing the hotel, so I am hopeful that they will do some painting and very serious cleaning. I have stayed the before years ago, and it was fabulous. I would give the hotel another chance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Seemed ok for the price. Didn't like the bugs in the room, but this was in the middle of the woods.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weird place. Weird staff.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Look elsewhere. It's a bed. Needs updating. The breakfast is pathetic. Not even orange juice. Tampico.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Needs updating.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: The furniture needs to be replaced. All of the wood pieces were in poor condition. The carpet is mismatched and fraying. The curtains had holes.
When we checked in, the bathroom had a hairball on the floor. The hotel knew when we would be coming, our reservations were made several months ago, but the room ac had not been turned on and the room was unbearable hot. We turned on the ac and it sounded like a machine gun firing. We asked the front desk to check it. They said they'd have maintenance come and when we left 2 days later, no maintenance ever showed up. The only help they provided was a room fan. We had to go get 2 more from them to get the 3 rooms cool enough to sleep in. They knew we had 6 members in our party and they had 2 towels for the shower. We had to go get towels. The second day there, the maid called and asked if we wanted the room serviced. I asked for clean towels and for the rooms to be vacuumed. Towels were brought but that same hairball under the bathroom sink remained until the morning we checked out. That doesn't equal clean hotel or good service to me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Farmington Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Nancy. It is review like this that help us improve our service. I am sorry to hear your room was not serviced correctly and we have taken care of this issue. We have a new housekeeper since your stay and is being trained to make sure this doesn't happen again. I am sorry your room was hot, however we do not make it a practice to turn on A/C for our guests, as each person likes their rooms at different temperatures. We do thank you again for your review and hope you will give us another chance for your future stay in this area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naugatuck CT

Not my Hair in the Shower Drain

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The best part of our stay was the brekfast which had good variety and a great selection of coffee.
Cons: Clean the rooms! Air them out to get rid of the musty smell.
From all appearances the maids do not do a very good job cleaning. There was a significant amount long light hair in the shower drain and as a brunette, I know it wasnt mine or my husbands. The coffee pot had clearly been used but not even rinsed out. There was dried coffee on the bottom which was cleaned by simply rinsing the pot. The rooms had a distinct musty smell.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Farmington Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I can assure you that we have reviewed your room and have taken action on the housekeeping staff that was in charge of your particular room, as this is not acceptable. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will stay with us again in the future and let us show you the changes we have made here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Jul 6, 2014
For a quick one night stay it was fine. Pool needs help... Did have a Nice breakfast. I would tell May friends about for a one night stay .