Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Megan from Lockport, Il

Great hotel

Posted May 18, 2014
Breakfast was great, room was spacious and clean, staff was friendly, pool was a little chilly. Overall a great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One Night Stay

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The overall appearance of the hotel, rooms were clean and staff friendly.
Cons: We stayed for one night but my family and I were pleased.
Location: great restaurants and shopping
My family and I enjoyed the clean room, great staff and great breakfast buffet!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Whitney

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Matt from Iowa City, IA

Overpriced Confusion

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: The bacon at the breakfast buffet was very good.
Cons: Better communication regarding room reservations Competitive room rates
Overall, not good. 1. I had been promised a room with two queen-sized beds but received a room with only one such bed. The hotel staff gave me a paltry $15 refund for this inconvenience. (My wife and two young children were staying with me in the room.) 2. THREE TIMES the front desk staff gave me a room key for the wrong room, so I was unable to get back into my room without waking my sleeping wife. 3. I discovered that another person staying at the same hotel had been charged only 1/3 the amount that I was paying! The hotel was medium-quality but exorbitantly priced. 4.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by GM, Hotel Management
My apologies on the room type but when reservation came across to us it was a standard room which can be a king or 2 queen room. We did see the request for 2 queens but based on our occupancy we were unable to accomodate. I would suggest when you make a reservation such as this and need to be guaranteed a specific room type that you contact the hotel directly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Satisfied guest

Nice hotel. Close to everything.

Posted Oct 9, 2013
We were at the hotel for a week in October. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We used the pool almost every nice. It is small but my 4 year loved it. The only neg I have is that the computer room was out of order the whole time, but who doesn't have a smartphone or the like while traveling these days. Continental breakfast was basic but easy and very convenient. Overall was an excellent stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The beds were marvelous I didn't want to get out of them! Rooms very clean no complaints.The breakfest left a lot to be desired, stale donuts, burnt bacon, hard biscuits.. The fruit looked fresh but I didn't eat any.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: It was close to shopping and restaurants in the DeKalb-Sycamore area.
Cons: Increase parking. Restrict semi truck parking.
Location: Close to many good stores for shopping.
Limited parking available. A semi trailer covered at least 4 parking spots near the front entrance, so I had to park in a dark area off to the side late at night. The staff didn't have much to say when I brought this to their attention...basically, I just had to deal with it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by J from Chicago

It was okay...

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
But just okay. I've been to much better Holiday Inn Express locations. I couldn't tell you what it is about this one, but it kind of had a sad, rundown look to it even though nothing was ostensibly dirty. Honestly, though, it is one of only three places worth staying at in the DeKalb-Sycamore area and its in a virtual tie with the other two. They give free breakfast here, though, so if you have a family it can be worth the extra money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Clean.

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: golfing
Wonderful experience overall. Very Nice accomodations!