Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Donna from Phoenix

Location is the only good thing

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Just the location. It was conveniently located for what we needed.
Cons: Don't lie to guests. Fix things when they break....not hours later. Front desk needs to know how to deal with a prepaid room.
I arrived after flying a red eye flight the night before and having spent the majority of the day with my family. When I arrived, there was noone at the front desk. An older woman came out and told me that she couldn't help me because she was just the cooks assistant but she would find the front desk clerk. The front desk clerk asked for my credit card and charged me for the room. This room had been prepaid for. I went up to my room and pulled up my original receipt, went back to the front desk. The clerk apologized and then told me that she did not have the security to refund what they charged me in error and that she had to go get someone else. And wouldn't you know it...the person who had security to reverse the charge was none other than the woman who told me that she couldn't help me check in, she was just the cooks assistant. Guess wben you are really in charge but you really don't want to deal with people, you should be careful who you lie to. In the morning, the cleaning people started in rooms around 8am. They were loud as we had a very long day the day before we were trying to sleep in. The toilet wouldn't flush. We were in and out of the room 4 times before they finally came to fix the toilet. Seems to me that would be something they would fix right away. There was NEVER anyone at the front desk. There was no ice machines. You had to bring your bucket down to the front desk to have the clerk fill, but they were never there and you always had to wait
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Staff- just need a better bed

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Need a newer more comfy bed-Also need more for the breakfast
Staff was very helpful about where I can park my car and where I can go to get a good supper. Bed was not very comfy but the room was clean. Had to go get ice downstairs at the check in desk and just was your basic cereal and English muffin breakfast. Nothing major for what I paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredibly friendly staff!!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
We had a scheduling snafu due to Expedia. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate us on a hectic weekend
2 out of 5
by Not Going Back from Chicago, IL

I didn't expect much, but this was awful

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Location: Sweet bakery across the street has excellent donuts. The jewelry and stuff store two shops down is great.
After reading other reviews, I wasn't expecting much from this place. It was still a disappointment, though. The staff were quite nice, and it was clean -- I didn't find anyone else's hair, and my room was clearly cleaned the second day I was there. That's really the best things I can say, though. In particular, everything just seemed dingy and old. Not antique old, or even old that creates character. Just chipped/faded/not replaced old. The lobby sometimes, but not always, smelled of feces. The hallway sometimes, but not always, smelled of pound cake. The towels/toilet paper/tissues/coffee were the lowest passable quality, and I didn't even go near the bowl of goo that I think was supposed to be biscuits and gravy for continental breakfast. There was hot water when I showered at 10am, but not when I wanted to shower at 8am, and not when I wanted to wash my hands at 8am, 11am, or 10pm. The bed was so hard and uncomfortable that I tried sleeping on the floor (fyi, the floor wasn't any better). There were mini-blinds, but no curtains, so the room flooded with light as the sun rose, making sleep even more of a distant dream. I didn't have any weird "haunting" experiences, but it was still generally unpleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming downtown Hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2014
The room was not huge but it was clean and comfortable. The location was good and the price was right. Breakfast has very few choices but was adequate. The hotel has a lot of historic charm and is located in the heart of Sycamore's historic district.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DeKalb, IL

Classic hotel for an historical feel with elevator

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: See above.
Cons: They could have a permanent ramp in their entry and handicapped accessible rooms. Also it would be nice if the room s had a microwave and fridge.
Location: Taxco is an excellent authentic Mexican restaurant and historic Sycamore is very nice. Highlights include the courthouse, and house architecture.
This hotel has a very historical feel. It is located in downtown Sycamore, just a few blocks from the DeKalb County Courthouse that was used in the TV movie "Will." The hotel does include an elevator, but also has a couple of steps in its entryway meaning that one cannot get a luggage cart to the car. However, they do offer a portable ramp for wheelchair entry. Nevertheless, they do lack handicapped accessible rooms. The sheets are a class act with a high thread count for true comfort. The have a continental breakfast with real utensils and china. While they do not offer a microwave or fridge in the room they do make ones on the property available. The fan didn't work it our bathroom. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by Kathleen from San Antonio, Texas

Noisy Guests

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: Charming location on the main street, with a lovely bakery right across from us.
Cons: Definitely time to update the decor. The bathroom/closet configuration was awkward and the furniture old and outdated, not yet charming or antique.
Location: Enjoyed the fresh doughnuts at the bakery across the street. Also visited the Ellwood House Museum in Dekaulb; the tour was well done and interesting
We were awakened in the night by a woman screaming and in distress; this seemed to last several minutes, though coming out of a sound sleep it is hard to say. It was from a room on our floor, or so it seemed. I will not soon forget the sound. Eventually we heard someone who knew her say "we could hear you from downstairs!" There was more sobbing, doors closed, and we were left feeling uncomfortable and more than ready to leave! My guess is that the bar downstairs may be one of the few in town, and this was a bad party? Use caution taking children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

What Country Inn wants to be

Posted Apr 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
I love Country Inn and Suites with their quaint country style of decor. This place is just like that BUT it is not decor, it is original furnishings. The rooms are typical size with country style furniture. They actually use real keys and not mag stripes. Continental breakfast was sparse and a bit stale but there are nice cafes and restaurants on the same street. I go through Sycamore once a year on business and plan to stay here from now on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from High Ridge, MO

Posted Apr 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
First room the toliet seat was broken and the TV cabnet had broken doors. The moved us to another room and the toilet was not bolted to the floor properly. Person working night was helpful but the girl on the day shift not very helpful. Breakfast consisted of cold biscuts right from the box and boiling gravy. Dry cereal. Not even bread for a slice of toast, and they have a restarant, which was closed. Rug at enterence frayed could be a trip hazard. Lamp in room broken.