Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

Location near hospital in Weymouth

Posted Jul 22, 2015
The staff was accommodating and the rooms were spotless. I couldn't ask for anything more under the circumstances. A family member was critically ill and I didn't have to worry about my accommodations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Avoid wedding season

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, decent restaurant menu.
Cons: Hot and cold breakfast buffet was average at best and overpriced. Need to be prepared to address noisy guests.
First 5 nights were good. Food in lounge was pretty good and rooms were comfortable enough. On the last night, Friday night, the hotel was flooded with guests for a Saturday wedding. Some of those guests were making horrendous noise beginning around 11:00 pm. Made 2 calls to front desk and was told they would take care of it. Regardless, it went on sporadically until almost 2:00 am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: THE BED, AND VIEW OF THE POOL WAS PERFECT, AND THE BARTENDER WAS AWESOME
Cons: GET A HAIR DRYER THAT WORKS
Location: WENT TO THE SCARLET OAK TAVERN, THAT WAS GREAT, AND WENT TO THE WORLD'S END. THAT WAS BEAUTIFUL
THE BARTENDER IN THE BAR WAS THE FRIENDLIEST BARTENDER THAT WE EVER MET, THE ONLY THING THAT WAS WRONG WITH OUR STAY WAS THAT THE HAIR DRYER DIDN'T WORK, IT WOULD COME ON FOR 5 SECONDS THEN SHUT OFF. EVERYTHING ELSE WAS PERFECT
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by rocklandgm, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate the feedback about your stay. I am very happy to see that you had a positive interaction with our team members and I apologize that your hair dryer was not working properly. I would encourage you to report any issues you may have next time so that we have the opportunity to correct any issue that you may be experiencing throughout your stay. I hope to see you again the next time you are in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Set up in the ballroom was good and accommodated the large crowd
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

So so

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Very loud party that went very late, nearly 2 am. I feel the staff could have done more to allow other guests to get sleep. Some complained and were reimbursed the cost of their room. Because I booked through this site, I cannot receive a credit on my credit card. Please do somethjng to rectify this problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2015 by Rockland GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and your feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that you were unable to get a good night's sleep due to noisy guests. On weekends we do have security guards to help patrol the hallways in order to help curb any noise or disturbance that groups may cause. I apologize that you did not receive an experience that our guests typically have and please know that our management team will be meeting to discuss your experience and ways in which we can better control any possible loud noises from other guests in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Ok but needs updating.

Posted May 31, 2015
While checking in a staff person used profanity. Room was pretty clean but we didn't know we had to ask for a fridge and microwave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2015 by Rockland GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your feedback. I am terribly sorry to hear that a team member was using profanity at the time of check in. I can assure you that this is not a typical experience that our guests have upon checking into the hotel. I apologize about that being a part of your arrival experience. I hope that you will stay with us again in the future and please do not hesitate to call the front desk with any additional request for a refrigerator or other amenities that you may need. Our team would be happy to deliver the items to your guest room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Baseball tourney

Posted May 26, 2015
location was great and lots of options for food. However the breakfast buffet was very disappointing and expensive. It was advertised that kids eat free but we weren't told there was a different menu for them. Room was clean and beds comfy but clean up and toiletries were lacking. had one little bar of soap and 3 towels for 4 people
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2015 by Rockland GM , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you felt the buffet was disappointing. We do offer hot and cold buffet items as well as a full menu . The items on the buffet are prepared fresh daily by our chef and it is offered to guests at $11.95. I apologize that there were not enough towels in your room. I will be meeting with my housekeeping manager to see if there is a way that we can try to avoid similar situations in the future. It is a brand standard to place three towels in the guest rooms but I do understand how it may not be ideal for guests with 4 people staying in a guest room. We do encourage our guests to call the front desk for any extra amenities that they may need and our team will gladly deliver it to your guest room. Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice hotel, nothing above and beyond though.

Posted May 5, 2015
We were in town visiting family. During week nights it was okay. Weekend forget about it. You could hear EVERYTHING in our room. Including the couple in the room beside us at midnight you could hear every single noise. There was a wedding there and after the wedding they had a party in their room 5 rooms down from us until 2:30am when we called to complain. It was so loud. And people in the hallway all night. They were always out of coffee in the mornings. On weeknights it was quiet and he beds are definitely comfortable. Our heating and ac unit never worked either.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Jenna, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that you did not have the great experience that we strive to ensure each of our guests receive. We do value your comments and concerns and we will be reviewing our policies and procedures to ensure that groups staying with us do not get too loud to disrupt other guests' stays. I apologize that your ac/heating unit did not function properly. We have since installed new ac/heating units in all of our guest rooms. I hope that you will stay with us again if you should ever be traveling to the Boston South Shore area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Holi(hallelulia)day!

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: The staff was outstanding. They catered to every taste. With 3 or 4 weddings going on on the same weekend, they treated everyone equally.
Cons: The gym was sort-of non-existent. Since I was the only user for two days, it was fine.
Location: Front desk suggested lunch at 99 and it was fabulous!!
The fresh, lemony water in the lobby is only seen at 5-star cruise resorts. The bath area island was a godsend for people who travel with medications, make-up, etc....you could lay everything out neatly. The toilet and shower being separated was such a genial blessing. Everyone hopped to my every whim. I asked for extra hangers and they appeared immediately. Front desk people smiled constantly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Rockland! I appreciate your feedback and am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and received outstanding customer service throughout your stay. We strive to make all of our guests' stays exceptional! We do offer complimentary infused water to our guests as we understand that our guests may enjoy a refreshing glass of infused water while they are checking in after a hot, long day of traveling. I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in town!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Rockland! I appreciate your feedback and am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and received outstanding customer service throughout your stay. We strive to make all of our guests' stays exceptional! We do offer complimentary infused water to our guests as we understand that our guests may enjoy a refreshing glass of infused water while they are checking in after a hot, long day of traveling. I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in town!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Fast Overnight

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff/ Great service
Cons: Breakfast was a bit expensive
Location: Was not there to see the neighborhood
Hotel was clean, easily accessible and close to where I needed to be. Staff was friendly and helpful. All in all a very satisfactory fast overnight stay.