Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed at the condos

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Very nice condos......but and a very big but...there is no a/c. Room was in the mid 80's during the day and cooled to mid 70s at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stanley Hotel Overlook condos-mixed feelings

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Condo was clean. View was fantastic. Location very convenient.
Cons: Front desk staff service poor. (Staff were nice and polite, but did not take care of any of our needs.) Sofa bed needs better quality mattress.
Location: Location was excellent, safeway grocery very close.
We stayed at the Overlook condos, managed by the Stanley Hotel in July, 2014. The hotel front desk service was disappointing. We arrived a bit early and waited for 2 1/2 hours in the lobby-the front desk staff said they would call as soon as the the condo was ready. They did not call, yet the room was ready when I walked up to check 2 1/2 hours later. We had requested a roll-away through our Expedia reservation, and it was noted when I had called to confirm our reservation 4 days before our stay. No roll away in room. I called front desk and was told a roll away would be brought. Still no roll away. We ended up using an air mattress we had in the car for one of the kids instead, as I was tired of hassling with front desk. Roll away was on our bill at check out, much to my annoyance, since we never got one. Hotel staff did remove it from bill. We had also reserved a ghost and history tour, and the tour we had selected online had the time changed and we were not notified either by phone or email. We arrived and had to wait 30 minutes for the next tour. Our condo, #315, was nicely decorated and clean. Housekeeping was good, fresh towels were brought daily and trash removed. The bedroom and loft beds were comfortable. The sofa bed mattress was terrible-kids were quite unhappy and ended up sleeping on the floor on air mattresses. The hot tub was very nice and clean and we enjoyed it very much. No coffeepot in kitchen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Getting the Experience

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The view from the veranda is the best in town. Sitting there and having a cool drink was the best part of the stay.
In many visits to Estes, I had never stayed at the Stanley, but the situation worked out for a one-night stay recently. It's clearly a hundred-year-old facility, but very well maintained . It was uncomfortably warm in my room at check in, but after opening the window, turning on the ceiling fan and benefitting from late afternoon and early evening showers, it cooled off enough for sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

VERY DISAPPOINTING

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Imposing looking hotel in spacious grounds with a commanding view of the Rocky mountains.
Cons: Change out or train top management to better focus on customer satisfaction. Eliminate "tours". Revenue to be replaced with satisfied guests.
Location: Close to Estes Park. A quaint mountain town and gateway to Rocky Mountain National Park.
Based on its history and location, this hotel should be at least a four star hotel, but unfortunately it is managed as a two star at best. The only major problem I had was the constant stream of visitors on the "tours". Although signs were posted saying "guests only beyond this point", there was no enforcement and anyone was able to roam around the hotel. In my opinion this is a security risk and an annoyance to guests at best. There were several minor problems due to lack of attention to detail. eg. shower head bracket broken necessitating first days shower on my knees; copper wash basin badly corroded; mini blind in bathroom broken; toilet seat pad broken off; no bottled water and facial tissues for first two days; ran out of coffee for in room coffee maker and "couldn't get any more until tomorrow" as though the hotel was cut off from civilization. As other reviews point out, there's no air conditioning in the main building bedrooms. As it's a historic hotel I have no problem with that other than the fact when opening windows to let in air, it unfortunately lets in noise from the open air bar below. The apparent attitude of the hotel is the majority of their business is not generated from repeat business, and it is managed as such.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great stay but needs to get with the times!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Scenery, bar, pleasant staff and location of local restaurants and grocery stores.
Cons: Air conditioning it's 2014!
Location: Rocky Mountain National Park, Estes Park brewery, little shops and stores.
Hotel had a great view, lobby was beautiful and clean. The front porch and back patio were very nice to enjoy the scenery. Hotel staff was polite and courteous. The bar has a great selection of whiskey's, craft beers and awesome bloody mary's. The room was small and cramped and featured an angled ceiling which made getting into bed uncomfortable. We visited in the summer and were not informed the rooms had no air conditioning. The one small window and ceiling fan did not provide enough circulation in the room to make it comfortable. Front desk was able to provide a small fan that didn't help. The shower temperature was very hard to adjust. Worth visiting in early summer or fall, but not mid summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale, Fl

Grand old charm in gorgeous setting

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Relaxing on the lodge porch was heavenly
Cons: Elevator not working, but we were on the fist floor so not a problem for us.
Location: Just outside Rockly mountain national park. Lots to do hiking, horseback riding, gondola ride to top of mountain, boating, biking around Lake Estes.
Serene old-world charm. We skipped the ghost & hotel tours, a bit too touristy for us. Instead we just wondered around the grounds & buildings and were very happy. The Cascade restaurant was perfect, best veggie meal ever, Acorn Squash with wild rice, yummy and I'm not a vegetarian, just wanted a lighter meal. Wow. Staff was always smiling and helpful. A lot of stairs so be prepared to ask staff for help with bags and such if needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Estas Park Getaway

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Great location and amenities.
Cons: AC in the rooms in the Lodge. Pool?
Great hotel, excellent staff and customer service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 94536

Nice Historic Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
-Nice location with scenic view of Rockies -Walking distance to Estes main street - Pet Friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

Great if you are only there for the history

Posted Jul 6, 2014
It's an awesome building with great history. Unfortunately, it's a tourist trap. The rooms are very small and do not have air conditioning. The pool has been boarded up. The rooms are very clean and the bathrooms have updated well. Because the hotel does not have air conditioning, the room was a bit warm and stayed hot throughout the night. The staff does not at all act like staff of a hotel that charges $300 a night for a room. No valet and there are no bell hops to help you with your bags. Room service ends at 8pm. Nothing in the hotel is included in your room rate, tours and events cost extra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Upscale without the chain-hotel experience

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The Stanley was very classy. They had excellent customer service and decent prices in the cafe, bar and restaurant.
Cons: The room was lit by one little bed-side lamp so it was relatively dark.
Location: The town of Estes Park is tourist-friendly, full of good restaurants. You'll find enjoyable hikes for every level of hiker in and out of RMNP.
I'm glad we stayed at The Stanley, even though is was sometimes like sleeping in a museum. Many people who are familiar with The Shining want to come see the hotel that inspired the movie. And The Stanley makes the most of this association, inviting tourists to take a ghost tour through the building and keeping the grounds and hotel in pristine condition. Unfortunately many tourists ignore the request that they stay on the lobby level so there is sometimes noise in the hall--especially on the second floor in front of Room 217. There are many areas to sit and relax--the porch, lobby, fire pit area, bar, cafe and restaurant. The views are spectacular. Rooms are nice and big but basic--no desk or chairs or fridge included. There is no air conditioning but we didn't really need it in July, so we just kept the windows open (no screens but no bugs either) and turned the ceiling fan when we needed it. It was very close to everything we planned to do in the area and we could even see its red roof from one of our hikes in Rocky Mountain Natl Park.