Ratings based on 855 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Great History

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Just about everything. The only good in room coffee I,ve ever had in a hotel.
Cons: The water in the shower wasn't hot.
Location: Gorgeous setting. The town of Estes Park is at the foot of Rocky Mountain National Park with a plethora of outdoor activities. Nice shops & restauran
Really a fun place to stay. The restoration of this historic building makes it special. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable. Be sure to take the tour; it,s well worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom albuquerque, nm

Haunted Rocky Mountain hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Very clean. Great history!
Cons: Fix shower controls. Add breakfast and/or a hotel tour to the room...cuz it's pricey!!
Location: Estes park...hiking, jeep tours, shopping, eating
Beautiful setting! Great site for history buffs. But....our room was very hot even in mid-October. The shower was either icy cold or scalding hot. I think they could throw in breakfast or at least a free hotel tour with the pricey rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. louis

Great get away

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Ghost tours great! Food good, scenery beautiful. The town of Estes park was great. Local people were very nice. The roads are improving coming and going out of the park. Gas about the same in Colorado. Lots of nice places to chill out and watch the wild life. Drive slow, lots of mule deer and elk around. Some cross the roads in the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Romantic anniversary get-away

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Loved the historical aspect and the tours available.
Cons: Everything was perfect
Location: There is lots of fun shopping in Estes Park, scenic drives and great restaurants.
We had a great time there. Loved all the architecture and the history of the building. I would recommend the Stanley Hotel for anyone looking for a special-occasion place to stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of mountains

Posted Oct 10, 2014
We stayed at the Stanley Hotel as part of a long trip out west. We stayed in the original hotel on the fourth floor. I admit that the reason for staying is because I am a big Stephen King fan so I was like a kid in a candy store for all the details of the hotel from the book. The hotel does a good job of having some modern amenities while staying true to origins. If you are expecting new, modern rooms do not stay in original hotel. The rooms are nice but have original aspects to them. Even without the Stephen King tie-ins, this is a beautiful hotel with a good location near Estes Park downtown area. The view of the mountains is beautiful. Also it is close to entrance of Rocky Mountain national park. We took the Stanley history tour which was a nice combination of historical facts about the Stanleys and inclusion of the ghost stories. Definitely book your tour ahead of time because people staying at neighboring hotels come to tours, also the restaurant and bar fill up quickly in the evening. The only disappointment was in the gift shop . I had intended to buy Christmas presents for my relatives that are also fans. I was disappointed by the small amount of Shining associated items and what they did have did not say Stanley Hotel. I recommend staying there.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado Mountains

Over priced and over rated.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The Whiskey Bar is spectacular if you can see it when the crowds are absent. Continental breakfast was exceptional and the room spectacular.
Cons: Staff attitude commensurate with a first class hotel.
Location: Elk watching in RMNP. Nice hike nearby to Gem Lake.
The hotel did not honor an Expedia reservation for a Classic room in the main hotel. Instead we were in the Lodge nearby. Since the reason for staying at the Stanley is to experience the "haunted house" environment we were disappointed to say the least. The hotel staff seemed haughty and aloof, not at all friendly. They have turning the historic site into a tourist trap with hordes of people milling around the main floor, In addition, all of the interesting rooms on the main floor were closed off for seminars and conference attendees, so there was little to see. Actually there is no reason to stay at the hotel since everyone wanders in and out. The Lodge was pleasant enough but the elevator was out of service and had been for some time since a printed sign indicated such. Needless to say that wasn't what 3 70+ people wanted to hear with arthritis and bad hips. There was no bellman to assist when we arrived to haul bags up two and three flights of stairs. Overall a very disappointing experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Norwalk, CT

Would not recommend the Stanley Hotel.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The grounds and the overall appearance of the hotel are beautiful. Hard to beat a location like Estes Park.
Cons: Price could be more reasonable. Employees could be more interested in making the stay better.
Location: Estes Park is very developed town. Lots of outdoor things to do - hiking, horseback riding.
We were in room 409 which is located on the top floor and on the back side of the hotel. The room was small with a slanted ceiling so had to be careful not to bonk your head getting in and out of bed. We were awakened around midnight by a very loud group of people outside. Apparently it was a group of employees who were partying behind the hotel and they continued until about 1:30 am. It was hot in the room and there was no air conditioning so we had to keep the window open for ventilation so we couldn't get away from the noise. Then trucks started backing into the loading dock down below our window at 7 am so we really got a terrible night's sleep. When we reported it to the desk clerk in the morning she seemed totally disinterested. We did the ghost tour which was ok. No TV in room. The guide mentioned that the hotel had been in bankruptcy twice. If our experience is any indicator of how the hotel is run, I can understand why. We also thought it was expensive for what it was.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Love this place, the only issue I had was that we had booked a room in the main hotel and they put us in the lodge. I feel it takes away from the experience of the place if you can't stay in the main building.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Hotel is truly haunted.

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: It was beautiful inside and out and looked like paradise. The food was good at the cascade room. It was a gorgeous resort.
Cons: Air conditioning, less ghosts.
Location: Estes Park, Rocky Mountain Park, Grand Lake, Hot springs.
We booked on Expedia, and I had no idea that this hotel could be haunted from the reviews on the website. After I booked it, I went to the actual hotel sight and saw they had ghost tours. Really I thought nothing of it because I don't believe in that kind of thing. Our room was on the 4th floor and the tours walking by our room said that the 4th floor had the most "activity" meaning paranormal experiences. Still didn't think this was a problem until about 11:00 pm at night, we heard "children" playing in the hallway, running up and down the hall laughing and yelling, and when we looked into the hallway there was no one there. Everyone on the 4th floor was experiencing the same thing. The sounds finally stopped around 3:00 am. We decided to buy earplugs for the next night. Same thing happened except at about 2:30 in the morning my husband was grabbed by his foot and pulled off of the bed. Just a forewarning. Our room was not said to be one of the haunted rooms, but we definitely had an experience Also there was no air conditioning and it was 85 degrees that week. Made for a hot and sweaty evening to say the least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Cons: A continental breakfast would be nice, or at least coffee and juice.
Location: Hiking and wildlife. A bull elk was on the front lawn!
The ghost tour is lots of fun, but you may not slleo as well!!!