Ratings based on 836 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwalk, CT

Would not recommend the Stanley Hotel.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The grounds and the overall appearance of the hotel are beautiful. Hard to beat a location like Estes Park.
Cons: Price could be more reasonable. Employees could be more interested in making the stay better.
Location: Estes Park is very developed town. Lots of outdoor things to do - hiking, horseback riding.
We were in room 409 which is located on the top floor and on the back side of the hotel. The room was small with a slanted ceiling so had to be careful not to bonk your head getting in and out of bed. We were awakened around midnight by a very loud group of people outside. Apparently it was a group of employees who were partying behind the hotel and they continued until about 1:30 am. It was hot in the room and there was no air conditioning so we had to keep the window open for ventilation so we couldn't get away from the noise. Then trucks started backing into the loading dock down below our window at 7 am so we really got a terrible night's sleep. When we reported it to the desk clerk in the morning she seemed totally disinterested. We did the ghost tour which was ok. No TV in room. The guide mentioned that the hotel had been in bankruptcy twice. If our experience is any indicator of how the hotel is run, I can understand why. We also thought it was expensive for what it was.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Love this place, the only issue I had was that we had booked a room in the main hotel and they put us in the lodge. I feel it takes away from the experience of the place if you can't stay in the main building.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Hotel is truly haunted.

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: It was beautiful inside and out and looked like paradise. The food was good at the cascade room. It was a gorgeous resort.
Cons: Air conditioning, less ghosts.
Location: Estes Park, Rocky Mountain Park, Grand Lake, Hot springs.
We booked on Expedia, and I had no idea that this hotel could be haunted from the reviews on the website. After I booked it, I went to the actual hotel sight and saw they had ghost tours. Really I thought nothing of it because I don't believe in that kind of thing. Our room was on the 4th floor and the tours walking by our room said that the 4th floor had the most "activity" meaning paranormal experiences. Still didn't think this was a problem until about 11:00 pm at night, we heard "children" playing in the hallway, running up and down the hall laughing and yelling, and when we looked into the hallway there was no one there. Everyone on the 4th floor was experiencing the same thing. The sounds finally stopped around 3:00 am. We decided to buy earplugs for the next night. Same thing happened except at about 2:30 in the morning my husband was grabbed by his foot and pulled off of the bed. Just a forewarning. Our room was not said to be one of the haunted rooms, but we definitely had an experience Also there was no air conditioning and it was 85 degrees that week. Made for a hot and sweaty evening to say the least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Cons: A continental breakfast would be nice, or at least coffee and juice.
Location: Hiking and wildlife. A bull elk was on the front lawn!
The ghost tour is lots of fun, but you may not slleo as well!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New orleans

Perfect setting for seeing nature up close.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Reminded me of what things must have been like in the early 1900's.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The town is great...the hotel was perfect.
Drove up early to attend a wedding in Denver, Co. The best part of the trip was spent at this are and hotel. Once in Denver, the world returned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Beautiful setting.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Other than the beautiful setting, there's nothing special about this hotel. Definitely not worth the price that I paid for the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa

Bathroom renovation and cleaning required.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: The sheets on the bed were very crisp and I thought the bed in general was comfortable.
Cons: Major renovation of bathroom required.
Location: Rocky Mountain National Park
I would not recommend staying at the Stanley. If you'd like to see the hotel I recommend you take the tour. We stayed in room 208. The bathroom should be gutted. The floor tiles were damaged. The baseboards and walls were dirty and showed water damage. The toilet seat was damaged and should be replaced. It was the worst bathroom I have ever had the displeasure of using in hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Stanley Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Everything was perfect from the hotel to the staff to the weather. We arrived on Labor Day so the hotel was crowded not just from guests but people who visit for the day. It cleared out the following day and was perfect. We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening and watching the elk. Nice!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Stay

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: History and location. Views of the mountain are stunning.
Location: Centrally located in Estes Park. Rocky Mountain National Park close by. Shopping and restaurants in very close proximity.
We stayed in a two room condo located directly behind the hotel. It was well furnished and very comfortable. Hotel was just a short walk. Condos were very quiet in the evening. Hotel location very close to trails and Rocky Mountain National Park. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Be sure to take the historical tour of the hotel. 70 percent historic and 30 percent haunted stories! Very fascinating. Also, it was a real treat to see the Elk every evening on the front lawn on the hotel. They start to saunter out around 6pm. Definitely worth catching!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Location: Close to the downtown shopping
Enjoyed staying at the Stanley when visiting Estes Park, we even got to watch a bear tree climbing from our room window.