Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Historic Lodge

Posted Apr 21, 2014
My husband and I love to visit Estes Park. We had no idea about this Lodge or that it was one of the first in Estes Park. They have kept the charm and originality of the place without sacrificing the necessities of staying away from home. We stayed in one of the room with a mini kitchen...it was great! Always love to have the option to eat breakfast and have coffee (great coffee by the way) at our leisure. The views were incredible! The towels were great... The only down part of our stay was when we checked in and brought our luggage to our room, it was extremely hot in our room...nearly 80 degrees. We turned off the heat, opened all the windows, and luckily we had brought a portable fan for noise reduction. We stuck the fan in the window and within the hour, it had cooled off in the room. We never turned the heat back on the rest of our stay.
Comment from
Jan 23, 2014
What a great review of an excellent trip! We are honored that you and your husband chose The Historic Crags Lodge for another memorable visit to Estes Park. Our location is a guest favorite for many reasons including plenty of shopping and fun festivals that celebrate each season. It would be our pleasure to host you during your future visits and we will be sure to properly ventilate each unit prior to all arrivals. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to your return.
Comment from
Jan 23, 2014
What a great review of an excellent trip! We are honored that you and your husband chose The Historic Crags Lodge for another memorable visit to Estes Park. Our location is a guest favorite for many reasons including plenty of shopping and fun festivals that celebrate each season. It would be our pleasure to host you during your future visits and we will be sure to properly ventilate each unit prior to all arrivals. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to your return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Fargo, ND

Charming place, friendly staff.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: It's charm, location, and friendly staff.
Cons: Breakfast?
Location: Near downtown, yet secluded on a hillside surrounded by trees. Nice view from the rear dining room windows.
My wife and I were on vacation and this resort/hotel was a great stay! It had a charming, rustic, but comfortable feel and due to it's somewhat secluded location it was nice and quiet. Very friendly staff, clean room. Would stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian and Kay from Nebraska

Great Hotel, with easy access to Estes and RMNP.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: We stayed in a shoulder season (late March) so it was easy to walk into town for dining and shopping (very little traffic). Easy drive to RMNP.
Cons: Parking can be tight at the hotel. Some repair work needed on retaining wall.
Location: We went hiking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing in Rocky Mountain National Park. Elk and deer were easy to view in the park along to roads.
Great place to use as a base for going to Rocky Mountain National Park. We stayed in one of the 1 bedroom suites and it was nicely sized. Friends came up from Fort Collins and stayed a night with us. The living room had a hide-a-bed couch and they said it was comfortable. The room had a full size coffee maker! If your on a budget there is a stove and refrigerator in the room and pots, pans and place settings for 4 people. We stayed in late March so there wasn't much traffic. The hotel restaurant was closed for the season so we would walk to downtown Estes for dining and shopping. We would definitely come back and stay again. Try the Thai and Vietnamese restaurant by the Post Office in Estes, it is really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, clean comfy rooms.

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Good launching point to explore Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alexis

Cute hotel with personality

Posted Mar 30, 2014
We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was small but very cute and comfortable. Only complaint is it was a little loud due to neighbors slamming doors and walking down the hallways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rick from nc

Nice hotel in the mountains

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Our stay was very pleasant and the staff was very helpful. Rooms were very quiet and clean. The view of the village was great. The only draw back was that the restraunt was closed for the winter but overall great weekend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel with a view

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: The view, the staff, the amenities, the upkeep of the historical lodge, the location, the hot tub.
Cons: Two things: 1) Our room was very warm and we could not turn the heat down any further. 2) The shower temperature was difficult to control.
Location: The hotel is very close to downtown Estes Park and everything it offers. It is also very close to the Rocky Mountain National Park.
The Crags was a beautiful old hotel with an amazing view of Estes Park! The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. The studio room we stayed in was wonderfully outfitted with anything we could have wanted or needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eric from Omaha

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Very nice and accommodating staff, room was very clean and for price seemed very reasonable. Overall a very nice place.
Cons: n/a
Location: Location is a few minutes from downtown, which gives it a nice level of privacy.
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Thank you for our comments. Please come back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Location: great, off the main highway but still close
Great place would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014