Ratings based on 310 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lovely location just on the edge of town.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: the ambiance, the hotel restaurant (which is not open for breakfast) has a lovely outlook, great staff and the food.Free laundry,new machines,
Cons: Air Conditioning in the rooms for summer would be lovely.
Lovely old property, nicely modernised. Although there is little sound insulation in the walls. We had to ask to be moved as the neighbours were having a serious domestic and kept us awake all night. Hotel staff were excellent, moved us into another room away from the noise. "and we will not charge you any extra!" mmm, right, but at least they did it for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Historic hotel on the hill

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Within easy walking distance, but up on a hill, from downtown Estes Park. The facilities are comfortable, the location is quiet, and staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester hills mi

A pleasant stay

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The staff are helpful , professional and caring. The rooms were a little small and there was no air conditioning, however we were close to town without all the noise and the view was beautiful. Also, the restaurant at the crags is one of the best in town!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Historic Crags Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Just because a hotel is labeled "historic" doesn't necessarily mean that it's a good place to stay. The outside of the Crag is very quaint, however, it's the inside that needs a much needed face lift. Looks like the last time it was updated was in the 70's. Very ugly dark green carpet, brown couch, mismatched furniture. Rooms were very drab and dark and hallways stark and barren. The night we stayed there was a wedding reception that went until 11 pm and was very loud throughout the hotel. We had no hot water for showers the next morning. The Historic Crag Hotel should take point from The Historic Stanley Hotel...remodel, furnish and decorate with the original time period in mind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that your room did not meet expectations. While it is true that several of our rooms do need updating, we have several exciting projects of refurbishment planned that we know you will be pleased with when you next visit. We have passed your concerns about the shower to our maintenance department so they can follow up with the proper attention to this matter. We do, from time to time, have furniture that gets damaged and needs to be replaced. That would probably explain the mismatched furniture in the room. One of our major projects for 2014 is the Overlook Garden Area project. This project consists of adding furniture, repairing the fireplaces, and adding new flagstone paving and fencing. We are also updating the main entrance walkway with flagstone and accessibility features along the front of the building, installing televisions, replacing large and small appliances, remodeling the common area bathrooms, adding pool furniture to include tables and umbrellas, refurbishing the heating system for the entire building and painting throughout the property. While we do appreciate your patience with us as we embark on our program of commitment regarding the refurbishment of our resort, it is regrettable that your stay was not more enjoyable. We like would like to welcome you back to our resort in the future and hope you will enjoy our enhancements the next time you visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Traditional lodge with beautiful views

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Nice pool and beautiful views
Cons: They should not book the lower rooms on nights that they have parties.
Location: Rocky Mountain National Park is a stones throw away and there are many other forms of entertainment
Historic Crags Lodge is a nice facility and well maintained. Unfortunately, we were given a room below the restaurant which happened to have a very lively wedding party the afternoon we arrived. The party was on! While they did end the festivities as promised at 10 p.m., we spent several hours in our room with 60 energetic people dancing over our heads. The staff person was nice, although she said that there were no other rooms available for the remainder of our 3 night stay. No effort was made to accomodate us in a more satisfactory manner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent views from the pool and yard.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
We stayed at the lodge in June of this year. We stayed in one of the one bedrooms and it was nice. A little small but ok for two people. It's very close to town and the rocky's but far enough away to be quiet. The pool was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by James from Philadelphia

One night stay at Crags Lodge

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved staying here. The location cannot be beat for our RMNP and whitewater rafting trip. The girls at the front desk were super nice and helpful. The lodge itself is very nice and comfortable with lots of seating and games. The rooms are a bit on the rustic side but that's what I was looking for so I was happy. The pool and hot tub were great after a long day of hiking.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RnR from Greeley CO

Romantic Get Away

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you like sleeping with your head right next to the hall way/door you'll love this room. It is called a Suite and they charge for a Suite but its very small. The view is great if you look past the massive roof line. There is no A/C which didn't help. There pillows smelled funny and not a good funny. All in all I was so glad it was one night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at Historic Crags Lodge! We regret that your room did not fit your needs during your stay. Our studio rooms range in size from 230-260 sq. ft. depending on the unit, we can assure you that this is listed on our website ahead of time, with floor plans available to view. While we understand our fully equipped kitchenette unit with two person occupancy was too small to fit your specific needs, our one-bedroom rooms are more spacious. With our room sizes varying from studio to two-bedrooms, The Historic Crags Lodge has room sizes that fit a variety of travelers and their unique needs. If you were not properly informed that our accommodations are not equipped with air conditioning which is information we prominently post on our website and this had a negative impact on your stay, we apologize. Your business with us is appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, but close to the action.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Quietness and character of an old Inn.
Cons: Showers were not consistent-hot then cold, high pressure then low pressure.
Location: Within 5 minute walk or 1 minute drive to downtown Estes Park.
This hotel has character, not just a cookie cutter spot. It is far enough from downtown but close enough to get to anywhere within minutes. It was a very quiet location and the staff was very accommodating. If I come back to Estes Park, this will definitely be the hotel I will seek out. 5 Minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com