Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cal and Linda from Chicago

What A View!

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: The view especially, the grounds, the meal (very good), the comfortable rooms, and the pleasant staff.
Cons: If I owned the place I'd strip off all the bright colored paint and bring it back to what must have been a rich wood paneled retreat in its day.
Location: Monet's house and gardens in Giverny was why we stayed there. There are also other galleries in the area to browse if you need more.
This small hotel, perched on a bluff overlooking the Seine, has one of the best views you'll ever have from either your window or the glass fronted dining room and terrace; magnificent! The rooms are quite nice to live in although a bit garishly painted in hot colors for my taste. We stayed here and visited Monet's gardens which was an expensive taxi ride, both from the train station and then back to Giverny but for us was well worth the cost. The staff was very nice and put up with our fractured French with good humor. The food was outstanding which included some small extras a surprises during the meal; not cheap but you don't stay here to save money. If you're looking for an unusual location with some history behind it, give this one a look.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lenore from Chicago

Rural Tranquility

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: It was quite and lovely
Cons: It is hard to find Rolleboise. Not on a map, once you find the town, then the hotel is well marked. Staff were very helpful getting me make to Givern
Location: Giverny is a short ( if you don't get lost) distance away.
The hotel is lovely, small and in a rural setting. The rooms are European style ( small) but nicely appointed. Has a small lift.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, nice view

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Very upscale, quiet and restfull
The staff and amenities were outstanding, as well as the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jen from Ithaca NY

Not far from Giverny overlooking the Seine

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is lovely. It is perched on a hill away from town. It has a spa and a pricy but very good restaurant. The room was a little small but very comfortable with a wonderful view over the Seine. The staff was great printing out directions to CDG for us. A very nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CS

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Very clean and comfortable, the room was a little small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by voila from california

quiet hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: We liked the fact it was not in the middle of a busy city. It had a great restaurant with an amazing view of the siene. Room was very comfortable.
Cons: More lighting in the rooms Would have liked a bell hop to help with luggage up 2 flights of stairs
Location: Monets garden in Giverny
We were very pleased to find this out the way hotel on our way to Giverny
2 out of 5
by markles from London

Good place to eat but not to stay

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: The views from the patio
Cons: Renovate the whole place - it is very "tired"
Location: Used it as a base when visitng Monet's house and gardens which are about 12 km away.
We were put in a room on the second floor which was dark, had sloping eaves against which I bumped my head more than once in the gloom, and an integrated (tiny) bathroom with handbasin and small shower. There was a separate toilet. The colour scheme throughout the hotel is purple/mauve and this continued into our bedroom. I have never slept in such a lousy dark room. I defy any lady to try to put her make up on. The hotel is obviously very popular for its dinners. Our meal was first class, albeit a bit overpriced. The breakfast was unbelievably bad. I think perhaps what had happened was that a large group had eaten there before us, as nothing was replaced or refilled. The last straw was when the one and only waitress removed the basket of croissants before we had finished eating. In fairness, the hotel decided not to charge us for breakfast after I had complained. The surrounding area is great, and the view from the balcony overlooking the river is magnificent. The whole place however is very much in need of a major renovation. As we were leaving we saw a big convention party, so it must be popular for this sort of activity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, UK

Great location but in need of refurbishment.

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: The view, the staff and the restaurant.
Cons: The low ceiling in the second floor room, the tired fixtures.
Location: Stunning - particularly from the restaurant terrace and riverside rooms.
A beautiful main building in a stunning setting overlooking a wide meander of the River Seine. The welcome is warm, friendly and informative without being too formal. We had a standard room which was on the second floor and built into the roof space thereby meaning that the ceiling was very low. That was a drawback as I am over six feet tall and hit my head on the beams more than once. The decor of cherry red and dark grey paintwork made the room feel small although it was quite well appointed and the much needed air conditioning was invaluable. The restaurant was excellent with our table on the terrace offering splendid views. The €45 menu is well prepared and presented with care to detail. Wine list and cost of drinks meant our dinner bill for two was €200 but it was just about worth it! Buffet breakfast was plentiful and varied offering items for all tastes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob from Newcastle upon Tyne

Great views of the Seine

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: The views
Cons: Dark purple batcave interiors
Location: Very small town overlooking the R Seine
Great location on an elevated cliff top overlooking the river Seine. The breakfast area is on the hotel terrace, again with views overlooking the Seine, and the breakfast is excellent. The hotel has attempted a 'boutique' interior and everywhere is painted a dark purple. At best it looks amateurish and reminded me of the haunted houses you get at funfairs. This does not detract too much and generally I would recommend this as a good stop. The nearby town of Mantes la Jolie, despite being a large town, is a ghost town in the evening and we could only find 1 decent place to eat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Dellboy from UK

Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
We chose this hotel to finish our holiday on a high note. The hotel was fine and the location great. Bedroom decor was unusual (crimson walls, purple carpet) but we liked the quirky nature of this. We were in the attic room so were rather cramped for head room but otherwise ok. The hotel has a reputation for gourmet food and indeed the food was excellent if rather expensive (cheapest three course meal Eu41 plus high drink charges but this was expected). We were unlucky to choose a date when there was a large party of young people celebrating something but with no concern for anyone else in the restaurant. We asked to be moved to a quieter end of the room but the maitre d’hôte was not obliging and claimed all other tables were booked. We did not get the impression he really welcomed our presence and was not prepared to find a solution to oblige us. We later had cause to complain about some contamination in the meal of our guest and this was met initially with a Gallic shrug and later with a glass of champagne as compensation. We were not asked if we wanted champagne and indeed none of our party did, especially our guest who never drinks alcohol. I eventually asked for a discount from our bill (this was not offered) and the cost of our guest's meal was rather grudgingly removed from the bill. It is a pity this spoiled an otherwise enjoyable stay and we would point out that all other staff were very friendly and obliging.