Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Australia

Great Location Across from ocean and close to port

Posted May 2, 2015
Great hotel right across the road from ocean. The extra €20 for sea view defiantly worth it. I paid €12 for wifi and couldn't access it in the room. I could only log on downstairs in reception. Location is close to everything. Train station, food places and port. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pleasantly surprised. SG exceeded our expecttions. We would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Australia

unexpected elegance

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Elegance, courteous and friendly staff and great location. Only 150 metres from the train station.
Cons: Tea and coffee facilities in the room would be nice.
Location: On the beachfront and close to shops, restaurants and transport.
We stayed for one night post trans-atlantic cruise. We arrived at 10.00am and were told that our room was not ready but that we could store our luggage. We decided to go out for a walk and returned about two hours later to be told that our room was now ready. The room was spacious and clean with a large bathroom and windows that looked out over the sea. That evening, we ate in the hotel dining room. This was also a very enjoyable experience. The food was great (and reasonably priced) and the staff were very attentive and professional. The next morning (I think because the hotel was not busy) they allowed us to have a late checkout with no additional cost. We travel a lot and this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. This hotel and it's staff would not be out of place anywhere in the world.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Ontario

Hotel close to port for cruise

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Close proximity to cruise port for vacation. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good and staff were very attentive.
Cons: I would have preferred to hear from hotel upon reserving about their shuttle service from the airport instead of after having purchased train tickets.
Location: Beautiful park right across the street and there is also a fort within walking distance. Lots of small shops and restaurants nearby also.
Hotel was located nearby train station and within easy reach of port by shuttle or taxi. We wanted something near port since we had three flights in sequence and knew we would be tired and experiencing jet lag. As soon as hotel check-in was done we went for dinner in hotel and then bed.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom houston, texas

Below average hotel with poor management

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Limited facility (1 or 2 stars) breakfast was poor and food run out and no refill with unfriendly server. Transfer was a gimmick and over priceed...They charged us 140 euro to book us in a public shuttle and with two hours waiting ... It is advitized as private transfer, and transfer to ship was by bus, and we have been pushed to leave at 11::00 am instead of agreed 12:00 am time. Stay away from this hotel?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom streamwood Il

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing they are the best
Location: cruised on norwegan
the hotel staff are the best anytime that we go back citivecchia we will at hotel san gorgio
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clearwater, Florida

Perfect for cruises

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The hotel seemed to have history
Cons: The beds were a little uncomfortable
Location: Close to city center
They gave us a free upgrade with a terrace overlooking the ocean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gordonfrom Ottawa, Canada

Bring your Euros, even if you have prepaid

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Just an overnight stay while waiting for a cruise. The hotel certainly tries to capitalize on their guest with cash for this and that - even try to collect a "city tax" in cash when you leave. Maybe this is how it works in Italy but it seems a little sorted to me. Its right on the main drag lots of quaint restaurants nearby. We enjoyed the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only bad thing was paying for WiFi. Other than that, perfectly great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for station

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Nice enough hotel - not really 4 star. No safe in the room, no mini bar / fridge. Good choice for breakfast. Nice bathroom and shower. Good for an overnight stay before picking up a cruise. Expensive though for what it was.