Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Albergo Del Senato made our honeymoon perfect!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location, roof top bar, friendly staff, free wifi, excellent breakfast.
Cons: Our bank balance so we can go back!
Location: Everything is within easy reach. Buy a Roma Pass to avoid the long queues at the main attractions.
Absolutely wonderful hotel. Perfect location for exploring the city on foot, within easy strolling distance to the Colosseum, Vatican, Trevi, Navona, Spanish Steps, etc. The hotel is beautiful inside and out and the staff are faultless. Friendly, helpful, efficient, happy, from the concierge to the manager, to the bar staff to housekeeping. The room was excellent, with a fabulous view of the Pantheon. The free wifi was useful and the air co system most welcome in August! Although the piazza outside is busy until quite late, the buzz is soon stopped when you close the shutters and the beds are very very comfortable. A very reasonable price for the location and quality. The rooftop terrace bar is just perfect for watching the sun go down over the famous Rome skyline. We're already saving up for our anniversary trip! Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Amazing hotel in the heart of Rome. Fantastic!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The service, the location and the quality of the hotel.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Trevi fountain. Lots of sights to walk to. We caught taxis twice and both were 10 euro including tips.
We arrived at the hotel at 10am and they were able to check us in. The reception staff are extremely friendly, helpful and professional. We felt very welcome. The Hotel is right in the middle of Rome in a fabulous location, 30 seconds walk to the Pantheon. We were on the second floor at the front of the hotel overlooking the square and the Pantheon. Fantastic views and lovely to watch out the window. The room was soundproofed. Hotel rooms are small as expected in Rome but had everything we needed. Lovely bathroom too. Free wifi. free breakfast buffet in the morning. Mostly continental. Nicely presented. Service, location and quality all fabulous. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful hotel and location.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: We liked all aspects of the hotel, the 3 room suite was perfect for us as a couple with our teenage son. There is much to see from this location.
Location: Tip - take taxis to :Colosseum, Vatican, St Peter's. You then have more energy to walk and enjoy these stunning places. St Peter's basilica fantastic
I would definitely recommend this delightful hotel. The staff were courteous and friendly at all times. The hotel is in a great location with the Pantheon right on the doorstep. The square outside the hotel is full of life and energy, with lovely places to eat or to sit and watch the world go by. The hotel is immaculate and all our needs were catered for. We enjoyed the breakfasts, which offered a great deal of choice and variety. It is worth getting the Roma pass to avoid the queues. Ladies -- don't forget to take a light shawl to cover your shoulders and wear clothing that covers your knees when going to the Vatican and Basilica. We booked our entry to the Vatican whist here in London. This secured our entry and time slot (no queuing). You can walk to all the great locations from here but we chose to use the taxis just across from the hotel (not very expensive) to conserve energy in the heat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Great Location, Friendly Staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
We were concerned about previous reviews concerning the noise around the hotel and the staff's discourteous demeanor but found both of these far from the truth (at least with our visit)! Although the hotel is situated at the Pantheon's doorstep and the crowd outside in summer was "busy", our room was quiet and well maintained. The location could not have been better. The hotel staff was very attentive ... even applying nail polish on an 6 year old "guest" on one of the nights we were there ... and their restaurant recommendations helped us eat well throughout Rome. The rooftop bar is worth the price of admission! It was pleasant to sit there in the evenings as the sun set and watch the crowds go by with the Pantheon and piazza as your backdrop. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Wonderful friendly and scenic hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: I stayed with my granddaughter and the staff took every opportunity to make us feel welcomed and special. Superb and friendly service.
Cons: Nothing - it surpassed expectations in every way!
Location: Right beside Pantheon. Superb location near all the main attractions.
A lovely old style hotel with rooftop terrace adjacent to the Pantheon. Terrific service, breakfast, room, everything was top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Hotel I have ever stayed in

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: everything
This is not a 3 star hotel as they claim on rating sites. This is a 5 star gem in my book. From check in to check out this was by far the best hotel experience I and my wife have ever had anywhere. First, the location is pristine. It is walking distance to everything in central Roma. We only took a taxi to the train station because of our luggage. We had a piazza view and it was breathtaking. We were serenaded every day and night by the street performers when in our rooms. Perfect location. The staff was AMAZING! I do not know if he owns the hotel, but if not, Mauro could run any hotel I have ever stayed at. He and the staff made us feel as if Albergo Del Senato was our home, and then English fluency was amazing. Great suggestions were made about dining (since you have 100s of options in Roma). Turn down service was awesome. The room was perfect size for a trip in Roma. You are not in your room much, but when you are you want a clean and comfortable room. The size was great for European standards. The bathroom was amazing, and the floors and bed were squeaky clean and comfortable. Our room overlooked the Pantheon. We will never stay at another hotel in Roma ever again as this was the best possible option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Happily go again

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Lovingly maintained throughout. All staff were welcoming and friendly. Service throughout the stay was excellent.
Location: If it is in the city, and worth a visit, you can normally walk there within in 30 minutes. Dont miss out on the churches and their beautiful interiors
What the hotel lacks in modern facilities it trumps with character and service. Whilst located in an old building it still offers good rooms, both comfort and air-conditioning with free wi-fi throughout. Being situated in the centre of Rome it affords easy access to all the major attractions. Best of all the service is excellent from all staff. A must visit is the roof top bar in the evening. Look out over the Parthenon with views including St Peters Basilica and the Colosseum. After a relaxing drink you are only a short stroll from a vast selection of restaurants catering for all tastes and budgets. Our first visit and one we look forward to repeating..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable great views great location

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Walking distance to everywhere. Roof top terrace a plus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location right next to the Pantheon.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: the hotel was right in the centre of Rome within walking distance from all the sites.
Cons: I would definately return to this hotel but would request a room overlooking the square.
Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and rooms were clean and comfortable. Roof top bar was a perfect start to the evening with great views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England, Devon

A lovely hotel in the perfect location

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Perfect central location and very good value.
Cons: Nothing to mention.
Location: You are in the centre of Rome so everything is within walking distance from the Vatican to the Colosseum.
We had a wonderful stay at the Albergo Del Senato. It was in the perfect location to explore Rome, right in the centre and overlooking the Pantheon. We asked for a room with a view and had room 103. Overlooking the Pantheon Wow!!! The room was very clean, modern d├ęcor with air conditioning and the staff were excellent. The breakfast was very good with a variety of hot & cold continental style buffet. We loved relaxing after a day's exploring with the windows open, listing to the music from the Piazza below before going out for a meal in one of the many restaurants nearby. At nigh the noise from the Piazza was hardly noticeable and we slept really well.