Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

A real gem

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Location: Its very nice wandering in the Villa Borgese gardens. Also the cafe at the Museum of Modern Art is very nice (about 5 minutes walk down the hill).
Fantastic place to stay. Slightly outside the historical centre but my word, what an oasis of calm to come back to after a day sight seeing in the hustle bustle of Rome. Gorgeous pool area. Excellent housekeeping with very spotless rooms. I am particularly impressed by the removable/washable linen covers on the bed's headrest. The staff were incredibly nice and helpful and went out of their way to cater to our every need. Top Tip: Get the tram from right outside the hotel to the Buenos Aires/Margaretta area - only a few stops - and explore lots of lovely cafes and shops in a classy neighbourhood that is not overrun by tourists and tourist traps!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southwest florida

excellent

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: location was beautiful, safe area, able to walk to everything
Cons: nothing
Location: see above
staff extremely helpful showed how to walk to local GREAT supermarket pool very nice breakfast service very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kailua, Hawaii, USA

Excellent hotel in a beautiful neighborhood

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Constantin, the concierge, was extremely helpful with giving advice about things to do, he even ordered us pizza when we were too tired to go out.
Location: Right next to the zoo, the Modern Art Museum and the Borghese Villa and Museum. An easy walk to restaurants and shopping, in a quiet neighborhood.
We were very happy with everything about this hotel. The room was large to say the least, the staff helpful, there is a great free breakfast in the mornings and the pool is wonderful after a hot day of sightseeing. They really go the extra mile to be sure you are happy. The location is a few minutes walk through the Borghese to all the sites, and if you don't want to walk the tram stops right outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich, UK

A lovely hotel in a quiet and relaxing location.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The staff where excellent, the hotel suite was superb,full of the old style charm and luxurious. The breakfast was amazing, everything you could want.
Location: There was a lovely restaurant nearby (Taverna Rossini) which was 1 stop down on the tram or a 10 min walk away. There was a handy super market nearby.
This hotel was an excellent base from which we could explore Rome's attractions. There was a tram stop right outside the hotel and a bus stop a short walk away through the park, which made access into the city really easy. After a long day sight seeing it was lovely to return to the hotel and relax around the pool. We found a super market 10 mins from the hotel which was great to stock up the fridge with water. we found it using google maps on the phone. After we had checked out at 11:00, our flight home wasn't until 22:00, the hotel staff allowed us to use the pool facilities until our transport to the airport arrived at 7pm. The pool is very nice with excellent changing facilities and a quaint little bar which served light snacks at a very reasonable price. Overall the hotel staff were very accommodating and we had a great stay in a lovely city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Pleasant relaxed place to stay.
Location: The hotel was about 30 mins walk from the centre of Rome. It was on two tram routes which took you direct to areas such as the vatican and colosseum.
My daughters and I visited Rome for the first time recently and stayed at this hotel. The whole experience was delightful. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. The pool facility was welcome in the very warm temperatures and most particularly after a day sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosie from Kilmacolm Scotland

Lovely traditional hotel in a quiet location

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: The room was very large and the bed most comfortable
Cons: The hotel is a little dated but that is part of the attraction.
Location: Excellent location, quiet and very close to the Museum of Modern Art. Away from the hustle and bustle of the city but very accessible.
Stayed here following a lovely cruise from Venice. We were given a very warm welcome on arrival and provided with a map and directions to the nearest attraction as it was morning and our room was not available until 4pm . The hotel is well located with an easy walk to the historical part of the city. We walked to the Vatican which is a fair distance in the heat but quite enjoyable and what a treat when you arrive. The tram stop is directly outside the hotel if you wish to use public transport , quite cheap and frequent. The nearest metro is a fifteen minute walk at most, we only used it once. The hotel rooms are full of character as is the building with a very quiet and private pool at the back, such a bonus. The pool area is very tidy and clean with towels and comfortable sun loungers provided. The snack bar area is shaded and reasonably priced. Breakfast is very good with an excellent choice of fresh fruit, pastries, cold meats, cheeses and hot dishes, perhaps a little more interaction from the waiting staff would have been good. We will certainly recommend this hotel, so different from the usual modern run of the mill hotels you find today. There are excellent Italian restaurants within a ten minute walk as the hotel does not have a full restaurant which is fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fab self catering hotel!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
What a fab hotel, although not in the centre of Rome, the tram stop is right outside so very easy to be back in the thick of it. We loved everything about the Aldrovandi and were there for 8 nights, breakfast was excellent, so much choice! Constantine the desk porter is a great guy, well they all are but we have most contact with Constatine, really helpful & chatty, advising where everything is located, which tram to get and ordering us pizza delivery. I strongly recommend City Suites to anyone and will definitely be staying there again when I'm next back to Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from Northern Ireland

Excellent hotel, facilities and location

Posted Jun 24, 2014
We visited for four nights in June when this central but quiet area is filled with blossom on the trees. Lovely spacious room with character perfect to relax in after seeing the sights : all within walking distance if you plan your route. Best of both worlds with housekeeping, safe pool and hotel buffet breakfast and freedom of kitchenette in room. Staff were friendly and helpful and concierge service is excellent providing advice, maps and booking visit to Vatican.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2014 by Manuel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest thank you for your review I wish we'll see you soon back in Roma to visit us at Aldrovandi Residence Best Regards Manuel Libertucci Executive Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from South Wales

Lovely Hotel, with a beautiful pool.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The staff made out stay an unforgettable experience.
Location: Situated 10 minute walk from town, or in the opposite direction, 10 minutes from Flaminio and the metro link.
The residence is fantastic. The accommodation is fabulous and the staff can't do enough for you to make your stay the best possible. the pool is beautiful and maintained to an excellent standard. Breakfast is great, with a great selection, in a very comfortable lounge/dining area. You are 10 minutes each way from town or the metro links.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2014 by Manuel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I will share with all the staff your positive experience at Aldrovandi Residence Thank you Manuel Libertucci Executive Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Blaine from Atlanta, Georgia

Great hotel in a charming neighborhood

Posted Jun 12, 2014
The hotel had spacious room with wonderful amenities. Great neighborhood for walking to restaurants, groceries and shopping. Staff was extremely helpful and ready to answer any questions we had. Rossini's italian taverns nearby with great food and service. Open till 2am!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by Manuel, Hotel Management
Dear Friend thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a wonderful time with us at Aldrovandi Residence Best Regards Manuel Libertucci Executive Director