Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Life of luxury!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Everything! The shuttle bus service was very useful. LIttle extras like ipad and cycle load and chargers all added to the convenience.
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be nice although the room service menu was extensive.
Location: The location is about 2 miles outside the city centre. He is close to the main park in ROme and is a retreat at the end of a day sightseeing.
We recently went to Rome for a 3 night stay and chose the Aldrovandi for his 5 star rating, proximity to the city centre and a swimming pool. The hotel was amazing, staff could not do enough for you, the swimming pool area was well maintained and the pool staff attentive. Breakfast offered a wide choice and the staff were very hospitable. The room was comfortable and the maid service excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room smallish..otherwise excellent

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Quiet area with little access to caf├ęs,etc VG front desk Pretty lobby Lovely pool & great pool staff Excellent breakfast buffet w service Bathroom modern Only complaint is that the room is smallish
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Perfection in the City

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The gardens and pool
Location: North of the central city, but near enough for a cheap cab ride to the center. Bikes available free to ride in the park and visit the art galleries.
Perfect hotel for a hot city.....spend the morning seeing all that Rome has to offer and then chill by the pool ready to face the evening ahead! The staff were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Elegant Villa away from Center Rome

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The staff, food, and pool.
Cons: I loved it, I would change nothing!!
Location: There is a nice park and zoo right across street. And close to center of Rome.
This Villa was very clean, traditional decor. Staff was helpful in every request we had. Pool was a great treat to a hot day of sightseeing.Pool boys were attentive, lunch by pool was great!! We had breakfast included which was superb. Had a shuttle to drop off at Spanish Steps, we used a few times but mostly taxi and public transportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beverley, England

Beautiful hotel with pool

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The first thing that hits you when you walk into the lobby of this beautiful hotel is the wonderful aroma. Reception was friendly and helpful and check in was efficient. It has a lovely pool, an oasis to return to after a hot day sightseeing although mostly shaded late in the afternoon, it is still a beautiful area to relax and read a book. The attendants are excellent, finding you sun beds and bringing towels and ice cold water. Lovely cocktails at the pool bar despite the very slow but impeccable service, we waited over half an hour on 2 occasions. We had 2 small but lovely, interconnecting rooms on the 5th floor overlooking the garden which were very nice, excellent housekeeping, only suggestion, it would have been nice to have a Nespresso machine or some other coffee/ tea making facility. We didn't eat at the hotel (although the restaurant and menu looked lovely for a special occassion) as we wanted to experience more of a traditional Roman cuisine. Overall this is an excellent hotel a pleasant 15 minute walk through the park from the Piazza del Popolo or a short taxi ride, we didn't use the hotel shuttle as it runs hourly and didn't coincide with our times. We travel extensively and this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in, we would happily stay here again the next time we visit Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice modern hotel in Rome.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The hotel was a great experience. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fleet, Hampshire, UK

A Really Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The staff, (i wouldn't single anyone out, they are all lovely, the cleanliness, we loved absolutely everything about the hotel.
Cons: It is just right as it is
Location: As above, a little out of the way, but it is so easy to reach all of Rome's attractions
We have just stayed at the Aldrovandi for 6 nights to allow plenty of time for sightseeing and still leaving time for relaxing at the hotel. After dropping off other travellers at hotels in the city centre, we were delighted with the location of the Aldrovandi, it is a little way out of the city, but you can walk to the nearest Metro station in about 10 minutes, (the Metro is really easy to use), or you can use the hotels complimentary shuttle to the Spanish Steps which is pretty central. The location suited us, it was quiet at night and in a nice area. This is a really lovely hotel, spotlessly clean with the nicest and most attentive staff we have ever come across, we opted for bed and breakfast, which is a good option as the cost of breakfast is quite expensive and there isn't anywhere quite close to eat breakfast out of the hotel, the food, choice and staff were really good anyway. They have compimentary bicycles to use, you just need to book them, the park opposite is lovely to cycle round, but we did cycle to the Vatican one day, pretty lively on the roads but great fun. You would not be disappoined with the Aldrovandi If you do go to Rome, make sure you book the Colosseum and Vatican in advance online, you can skip straight past big queues with a bit of forward planning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Walter from Texas

Excellent Hotel!

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really can't say enough wonerful things about this hotel! Friendly staff, clean, beautiful pool and outdoor area, outstanding breakfast buffet & so much more! I would go back, as this was one of the best experiences I have ever had at any hotel. Our experience at the Aldrovandi helped to make our trip a memory of a lifetime.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brussels belgium

Long check in...slow service at the pool...

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Overpriced for service and quality. Food at the grill wasn't that good, sent back 2 out of 4 plates!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Rome

Posted Jun 26, 2014
this is a very nice hotel I wish I could have stayed longer. the staff is very professional and courteous.