Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from NORTHAMPTON

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Clean and tidy hotel close to all of Rome's attractions. Staff friendly and helpful. Furnishings functional rather then comfortable. Main selling point is definitely the location.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JJ from Canada

Never even saw the room

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The day of check in there were plumbing issues and they sent us in a taxi to another hotel. The lady was very nice but we were fed up. At the end of our three-week holiday we wanted the location, and to be settled without having to move hotels again. They wanted us to spend one night elsewhere then transfer back to Alius, which we did not agree to because it didn't work with our tour schedule. They did accommodate us at the new location for all three nights but that hotel room didn't have a phone for wake-up service and was not even on the same street as the reception desk. Very confusing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JS from London

Great location

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: The shower was lacking in pressure and the water took a very long time to run hot.
Location: Within walking distance of the Forum, Palatine Hill and Colosseum and close to the Republica metro station.
We had booked a room for three people, however on arrival found that we had a small room with one double bed. The room we had booked (and paid extra for) was not available until the following day which was disappointing but we did move to the larger room the next day and enjoyed the rest of our stay. The hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance of many sights and is clean and tidy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great Location

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed this hotel. It's not as difficult to find as some would say. I felt safe in the neighborhood. You can walk everywhere. The metro is only 5 blocks away. It was what you need when your traveling and running around all day. Front desk was always there and they serve breakfast. For me it was exactly what i needed. Hassan was great too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from USA

Good location

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were two tourists in our twenties. The good: great location, everything was walkable. Most people at the front desk were nice. It's on a busy street, but the windows blocked out the noise and the black out shades kept the room dark. The bad: we didn't realize there was an elevator for a while and walking up to the 4th floor after walking all day was rough. The shower wasnt great. The bed was very hard, and the breakfast was very basic. Overall for the price and location, it was a clean decent hotel. We booked knowing we were going to be out all day. If they updated the beds a bit I would have given it a better review.
2 out of 5
by bviabe from Virgin Islands (Br)

Excellent location but 1* hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2012
Pros: Its location and one member of staff
Cons: Its breakfasts and another member of staff
Location: Well located, on via Nazionale, between Termini and historic sites. near Intimate restaurants, bus stops and bank. Street entrance not easy to find.
Very secure - claimed to be accessible at any time Very small elevator hidden to one side of huge lobby shared with other small hotels in large building. The handful of staff include English speakers and one was very helpful, but another one seemed to count every item we took from a very basic continental breakfast (machine dispensed tea & coffee for 50c at other times). No toiletries provided. Small room had en suite bathroom. Satellite TV in Italian only. Suitable for students wanting somewhere to sleep near the historic sites, but we are a mature couple who want more comfort on holiday.
1 out of 5
by Penny from New Zealand

Okay hotel in rome

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff and noisyness of the room
Location: Only a 5 min walk to train station and walking distance to main attractions metro is close but we didnt use it as everything was walkabke
The main thing that was a positve about the hotel was the location, but thats once you find it as like the other reviews mention it is quite tucked away and hard to find. Rooms very noisy and average service from staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

okay enough

Posted Jun 1, 2012
Loud during the night if your room is facing the main street. Other than that, it's great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doha, Qatar

Horrible hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2011 on Hotels.com
Location and service of the staff was great but the hotel facility was horrible. Hotel is in the 3rd floor of a multi-hotel complex. In the ground floor there's reception area but the lady there is horrible. It was raining so I was waiting for my husband to bring the umbrellas from the room and the lady at the reception insisted I couldnt wait by the door, I had to go up to the 3rd floor by my hotel or stay outside by the street under the rain. She was flat out rude. The hotel room was very small and noisy. The decorations were from the early 80's and to get Internet you had to go to the breakfast area. Breakfast was very limited and you had to cross the breakfast area to get to the rooms. I will NOT be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Alius Hotel - great value for money

Posted Oct 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
Alius Hotel was terrific value for money given the price of most Rome accommodation. Located just a 2min walk from a metro station, it was easy to get around Rome. It was also just a 10minute walk to Termani station which made it easy to get to/from the airports. If you are feeling fit then its a 30min walk (up and down a few hills!) to the spanish steps/most tourist attractions. The staff were helpful and the room clean. would recommend this hotel to friends as it was terrific value for money in an expensive city!