Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value hotel near the Colliseum

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Excellent location
Cons: A bit of TLC
Location: Ideal for all sights, bus stop within 100 yards gives access to most of the attractions
This is a good clean hotel with all necessary facilities. No frills but convenient for the sights with very helpful staff. Kettle in room that is not found in more up-market hotels + free Wi-Fi. If you are looking ofr a good clean basic hotel as a base this is an excellent value option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Great little hotel near the Colloseum

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Bit outdated, but spotless.
Location: Close to Colloseum , lots of restaurants trains and buses.
Great hotel stayed here before, owners fantastic couldn't do enough for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kate from USA

Wonderful Stay!

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We absolutely loved the Arena House and its owners! We felt welcomed instantly! The location is great, right around the corner from the Coliseum but the neighborhood is nice and quiet, which is rare for Rome. We would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Friendly stay in a good location

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Very close to the Metro and buses at the end of the street give easy access to all the major tourist sites.
Comfortable guest house very close to the Colosseum and public transport to other tourist sites in Rome. The owners are very friendly and happy to assist in every way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Quiet B & B very close to the Colosseum

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Arena Guest House! The hosts were very kind and helpful. It was so quiet - no street noise or noise from within to disturb you. Loved the location! We were able to walk almost anywhere and when we couldn't the owners told us which bus to take or how to get there via the metro (tickets only 1,50). Breakfast is next door and it is very simple with a coffee and croissant (my son got hot chocolate). Would definitely stay there again if back in Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Augusta Ga.

Just fantastic

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Price. Location. Staff assitance. Breakfast. Close to grocery, bus tickets, and ATM ! Again, I cant praise the staff enough for the help.
Cons: Larger sign on the building with arrows showing where the door is... its a little sneaky to find at first.
Location: Two small blocks from the Colosseum. One block from the bus stop. It was just great. Simple and quiet.
Look, its a "Guest House"... so dont go expecting a grand room and accomodations... BUT, meeting Chiara and her dad just made it all worth while. She is very fluent in English and knows ALL the bus routes and stops. Incredibly helpful... and cute as a button, I must say. It Quiet. TWO blocks from the Colosseum... THAT close ! Good neighborhood. Its next to the Police station, which has its plus. But the biggest thing was a computer with internet access in my room!! Loved it for searching, planning, and no data use on the phone. Just a note: the entrance is NOT on the main street... its on the side opposite of the garden, down an entrance to a parking garage. Bottom line.... I'd stay there again in a second.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tom Čunko from Canada

Lone traveller

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location making all sights accessible by foot if walking is your preference. Hosts friendly and gave very helpful information regarding surrounding areas and tours. Room was perfect for lone traveller and quiet at night. Next time I know. ..2 nights is not enough.
2 out of 5
by Liz413 from Kentucky, US

Friendly staff, great location, disappointing room

Posted May 13, 2014
The Arena House appears to actually be the 2nd floor of an apartment complex, which the owners have bought out and turned into a hotel. Although I would only rate this "hotel" a 2 Star, it's because I went into it with higher expectations. Its advertisement is not quite accurate. To begin with, the rooms with a view really only look out on a wall fence about 3 feet away. The "breakfast buffet" is really a cup of coffee and bread from the Romance Hotel which is around the corner (Arena House provides a coupon for this). The bathroom has no bathmats, the towels are only "freshened" every three days, and to make the toilet work you have to push the button on the wall repeatedly at a fast race to "pump" the water. Now, all that being said, if you are comparing this place to a European Hotel or hotel in America, you are going to be very disappointed. BUT, if you aren't going to be in your room much - and you just are looking for a place that has a good location (just a couple blocks from The Colosseum), free Wi-Fi and a clean bed - then this place is absolutely fine. I will say the family that runs the hotel is VERY friendly, happy to give directions, provide advice and start up a conversation with you. However, it’s not a place that I would return to, but not something that I would go out of my way to avoid, either.