Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Athena Hotel is brilliant!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The staff were helpful, the breakfast had a variety of food, the location was brilliant and many food shops right near the hotel! Family friendly too!
Cons: I didn't realise there was a city tax so perhaps we should be told when checking in that this is the case. Having said that, there was a sign.
Location: 15 mins walk to Termini station, surrounding areas known as Piazza di Bologna has many shops and restaurants. Great bus links to station.
Athena hotel was truly a great choice, from the location to its staff, my family and I had a brilliant stay for seven nights. The hotel has so many shops near buy so you won't go hungry and has great links to the main hub, Termini Station. We walked there everyday and it took us about fifteen mins. The staff were amazing, in particular the two female members of the team, but all staff were helpful! Our hot water wasn't working for a bit and one of the staff immediately issued another room to have a shower in, the service is brilliant! Our room was clean and it had air con and a TV, both worked. The breakfast was delicious with a wide range of foods available. Our experience as a family was really good and we found it hard to fault the hotel. It was brilliant!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

You need to accept you are in the university area

Posted Jul 5, 2014
The reception is on the first floor no signs bit annoying when you arrive late. Make sure the room you get is what you booked we had to change rooms as the one we got was not what we booked and we were not impressed to wast our holiday sorting it out
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay on a budget.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The location is great.
I stayed there for two nights and had a queen bed. The room was relatively small but was clean and had a little balcony. The bathroom and the shower were also small but OK. The hotel is close to metro stations which makes it easy to get to the city centre and attractions. It is also located out of the touristic area and near the University of Rome (thus a student neighbourhood) and therefore there are a lot of cheap places to eat nearby. Overall, it is a good place to stay and what you get worth what you pay for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff but

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Friendly very helpful staff but what let it down was the air conditioning unit was insufficient and with it being so hot meant we could not sleep the whole time, the room was poorly lit dark and dingy. If the air con worked it would be an ok place if you needed somewhere to lay your head but there are definitely no thrills, not somewhere you want to spend much time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elena from Dublin

Great family run hotel and very close to the city.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Freshly brewed coffee on request, Friendly staff, Free WIFI, Very clean room, Great area/ location.
Location: Very tasty Ice-cream just 2 minutes walk, Termini, Shops.
The hotel was really good. The staff was very helpful with directions and other information and exceptionally friendly. The breakfast was very good especially the freshly prepared cappuccino . We had free WiFi and could also use a laptop and tablet free of charge. The location was excellent, only 30 minutes walk from the central train station termini, and a 5 minutes walk to the metro station. Within 15 minutes all major attractions in Rome could be reached from there. All together it was a very pleasant stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by travellover

single room is very small

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: close to metro station.
Cons: it seems there's no pressue when I flush the toilet.
Location: 7 minutes walk to the metro station. Need to take metro to everywhere.
The single room is very small, 10 sq. meters maximum. No air conditioner, so have to open the window, then you hear all kinds of noise, the elevator, the next door's TV, toilet flushing, etc. I see someone is complaining about the breakfast in their review. But I think the food is ok, at least there're choices. You won't complain any more after you only have 1 croissant for breakfast at some other place in Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Southampton UK

Traditional Italian hotel.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Wifi in the room, balcony, was able to leave baggage after checked out.
Cons: Would have liked a bath, walls was a bit on the thin side. Variety at breakfast eg more fruit, cereal
Location: As above.
Good location metro (Bologna, blue line) 10min away. Shops, restaurant, cafe and pizzeria near by. None tourist area. Cheep electronic shop minute away. Be prepare to try your Italian in the shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by J Taylor from Seattle

Enjoyable

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
For the price you can expect the hotel to be a bit utilitarian. The building is a little old and power/phone/etc. are run in conduits on the walls rather than inside the wall. It doesn't look bad, but it might not have the seamless, finished look you're accustomed to. The building and room was very clean, and the staff worked hard to keep it that way. Speaking of the staff, they are very nice. Depending on who's working the desk, their English might be a bit basic but certainly they know enough to get you checked in, etc. It would be helpful to bring an Italian-English dictionary or similar just in case. They are very patient in trying to understand you and what you need. (I wold have formed this in to readable paragraphs but apparently this review system doesn't allow that. Sorry.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: conveniently located near Tiburtina station, with spartan, yet comfortable small room, with tv, small fridge and wonderful hot shower. Friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Prynce J from London

Budget Hotel, Don't expect any Luxury !!

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: location was convenient
Cons: Breakfast !! This was very limited
Location: transportation was easily accessible to get to the colosseum and all other major attractions in Rome
This Hotel meets all the basics needs, Not bad for location and transportation is easily accessible. The all inclusive breakfast is very limited and you'd be better off having breakfast outside the Hotel. For what its worth its convenient for low budget purposes but should you require some pampering,entertainment good food etc this is not the place for that. However for a quick sleep and go its perfectly ideal.