Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: The location is excellent for the Vatican its just around the corner (but you have to be there very early because the queues start before 8am)
This was our 3rd stay at the Atlante Star wouldn't stay anywhere else. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast is good and sets you up for a busy day. The roof top garden is heaven on earth sitting in the sun looking at the Vatican and listening to the bells ringing. We always recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston,tx

Close the the Vatican!

Posted Sep 24, 2014
This hotel is easy as pie! The staff were so friendly. They picked up the phone (no machine) when I called to confirm our stay and if u email them 48hours before ur visit to arrange for the free shuttle pick up from the airport they instantly reply with instructions on where to find the man with the sign at the airport. Flying into a busy airport and then instantly finding our driver was so nice. The rooms are small but who spends time in the room other than to sleep. The restrooms were nice and updated the a/c works and the tv is great. For 12 euro I can stuff ur face on at the restaurant for breakfast and if your like us you will need all those calories as you will burn off all of them and more walking 40+ miles walking and exploring Rome! A+ rating all the way
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Ohio

Great location near the Vatican

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent.
Cons: The information provided as to where to meet the hotel staff picking us up at the airport. It needs to be clearer and more accurate.
Atlante Star is convenient to the Vatican, taxis, busses, and with a little walking, to the Metro. All but one of the desk staff were very helpful. All spoke English well. The only complaint I have is that our air conditioning wasn't working in our room. Since the cleaning staff just turned our air off every day and opened the window, we assumed the air had been turned off for the season. We'd been there for a week, very uncomfortable, kept awake by street noises, before finding out that it could be fixed and our windows shut. But I would recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Old style and clean. With an airport pick up and drop off service. Pick up is free!!
Cons: I'd hope it would be the same if I travelled again
Location: Heart of Rome so everything Rome has is within walking distance. Very good transport if walking is an issue.
Very good, clean retro hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Hotel.. Great location!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
The Atlante Star Hotel was great. It is only a few blocks from the Vatican. We ended up purchasing the breakfast which was good but wouldn't do it again as their are many Cafe's around that were cheaper. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were great and always helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel close to Vatican

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Rooftop bar and proximity to the Vatican.
Cons: Mannerism of the staff
Location: Vatican City
Reception desk staff were rude and not very helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london.

Great hotel, close to vatican

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast... Friendly staff. Clean and tidy.
Cons: Don't think there could be anything to change.
Location: Located approx 5 mins walking from The Vatican. 10 mins from the nearest Metro Line.
Great hotel, clean and comfortable. Very friendly staff Buffett breakfast 1st class. Great selection of hot and cold food. With fruit juice and fresh fruit. Fantastic views across Rome from their roof terrace. Rooms small but very comfortable. Large bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, UK

Lovely hotel very close to Vatican city.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: This hotel was clean, friendly, welcoming. They supplied a shuttle bus to and from the hotel, which was extremely convenient. The staff were very good
Cons: If anything, then maybe a little modernization of the decor.
Location: Mentioned above.
We find this a very nice hotel, very close to St Peter's and a short walk over the River Tiber for the alleyways of the old city. Very easy to access and an excellent walk. The Metro, Vatican City Museum, Castel d'Sant Angelo and shops just a 5 minute walk away. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful with regards to directions for attractions, they were welcoming, courteous and friendly, and spoke English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Trip to Rome

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location, roof terrace, staff
Cons: Could have 2 pillows each instead of 1
Location: Close to Vatican, open top bus sets off from nearby, pleanty of good restraunts
When we arrived at the airport we were 30 mins early. We phoned the hotel and they said the driver was on his way. We said where we would be and in 20 mins he came and found us. On arriving we booked in and we had emailed to ask if we could have a view. We did not expect the view to be so amazing from our window we could see St Peters the Vatican my goodness. All the staff were lovely just so helpful nothing was a problem. At breakfast the coffee was not quite as hot as I like it so we asked for some hot water no problem. The food was very nice and there was plenty of it. The views from the restaurant were breath taking a must for a photo when you have had your breakfast get a coffee or a glass of juice and take the steps up to the roof terrace where you can look out over Rome I don't think you will find a Hotel with everything this has. Yes it may be a little old-fashioned and the d├ęcor a bit tired but it is a gem. Everyday when we returned our room was spotless bed made all tidy. There is a safe in the room. As for the location it will take some beating there are small back streets to explore with restaurants small and cheap to posh and not so cheap but all with a warm welcome. If you turn right and walk up the street less than five mins you will come to a square from here you can get a tram, a bus or turn right on the corner by Footlocker and get the Metro. You can get anywhere and it wont cost a packet. Would we stay here again yes, we would not go anywhere else!.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel, close to Vatican.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast, AC, view from rooftop garden.
Cons: Disclosure on front page (not hidden in fine print) of all taxes and other charges. In particular it should read "free shuttle from airport."
Location: Vatican City, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Novona
The hotel is centrally located- a few blocks away from Vatican City and the Tiber River. Our family of 6 needed 2 rooms, which was fine. The rooms are on the small side but having AC made up for that! They were clean and moderately comfortable. There's a roof top sitting area with a great view of the city that was a highlight of the hotel for us. We ate a lunch of food purchased from the grocery around the corner up there one day- felt great to only spend 30 Euro on a lunch for 6 instead of 125 that we would have spent at a restaurant! The breakfast included in the price of the rooms was very good. The hotel staff was pleasant enough but didn't kill us with kindness. There was a hidden tax at the end of our stay that we didn't know about but it wasn't too much (less than 30 Euro). The only thing I have to complain about is that the "free airport shuttle service" advertised when I booked the hotel is apparently only from the airport to the hotel. We needed a shuttle from the hotel to the airport, which ended up being 80 Euro. When I complained that this information was misleading the staff behind the desk had a printout of Expedia's fine print at the ready that I apparently didn't read before. He didn't seem to care.