Ratings based on 449 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Ohio

Great location near the Vatican

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent.
Cons: The information provided as to where to meet the hotel staff picking us up at the airport. It needs to be clearer and more accurate.
Atlante Star is convenient to the Vatican, taxis, busses, and with a little walking, to the Metro. All but one of the desk staff were very helpful. All spoke English well. The only complaint I have is that our air conditioning wasn't working in our room. Since the cleaning staff just turned our air off every day and opened the window, we assumed the air had been turned off for the season. We'd been there for a week, very uncomfortable, kept awake by street noises, before finding out that it could be fixed and our windows shut. But I would recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Old style and clean. With an airport pick up and drop off service. Pick up is free!!
Cons: I'd hope it would be the same if I travelled again
Location: Heart of Rome so everything Rome has is within walking distance. Very good transport if walking is an issue.
Very good, clean retro hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Hotel.. Great location!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
The Atlante Star Hotel was great. It is only a few blocks from the Vatican. We ended up purchasing the breakfast which was good but wouldn't do it again as their are many Cafe's around that were cheaper. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were great and always helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel close to Vatican

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Rooftop bar and proximity to the Vatican.
Cons: Mannerism of the staff
Location: Vatican City
Reception desk staff were rude and not very helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london.

Great hotel, close to vatican

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast... Friendly staff. Clean and tidy.
Cons: Don't think there could be anything to change.
Location: Located approx 5 mins walking from The Vatican. 10 mins from the nearest Metro Line.
Great hotel, clean and comfortable. Very friendly staff Buffett breakfast 1st class. Great selection of hot and cold food. With fruit juice and fresh fruit. Fantastic views across Rome from their roof terrace. Rooms small but very comfortable. Large bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, UK

Lovely hotel very close to Vatican city.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: This hotel was clean, friendly, welcoming. They supplied a shuttle bus to and from the hotel, which was extremely convenient. The staff were very good
Cons: If anything, then maybe a little modernization of the decor.
Location: Mentioned above.
We find this a very nice hotel, very close to St Peter's and a short walk over the River Tiber for the alleyways of the old city. Very easy to access and an excellent walk. The Metro, Vatican City Museum, Castel d'Sant Angelo and shops just a 5 minute walk away. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful with regards to directions for attractions, they were welcoming, courteous and friendly, and spoke English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Trip to Rome

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location, roof terrace, staff
Cons: Could have 2 pillows each instead of 1
Location: Close to Vatican, open top bus sets off from nearby, pleanty of good restraunts
When we arrived at the airport we were 30 mins early. We phoned the hotel and they said the driver was on his way. We said where we would be and in 20 mins he came and found us. On arriving we booked in and we had emailed to ask if we could have a view. We did not expect the view to be so amazing from our window we could see St Peters the Vatican my goodness. All the staff were lovely just so helpful nothing was a problem. At breakfast the coffee was not quite as hot as I like it so we asked for some hot water no problem. The food was very nice and there was plenty of it. The views from the restaurant were breath taking a must for a photo when you have had your breakfast get a coffee or a glass of juice and take the steps up to the roof terrace where you can look out over Rome I don't think you will find a Hotel with everything this has. Yes it may be a little old-fashioned and the d├ęcor a bit tired but it is a gem. Everyday when we returned our room was spotless bed made all tidy. There is a safe in the room. As for the location it will take some beating there are small back streets to explore with restaurants small and cheap to posh and not so cheap but all with a warm welcome. If you turn right and walk up the street less than five mins you will come to a square from here you can get a tram, a bus or turn right on the corner by Footlocker and get the Metro. You can get anywhere and it wont cost a packet. Would we stay here again yes, we would not go anywhere else!.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel, close to Vatican.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast, AC, view from rooftop garden.
Cons: Disclosure on front page (not hidden in fine print) of all taxes and other charges. In particular it should read "free shuttle from airport."
Location: Vatican City, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Novona
The hotel is centrally located- a few blocks away from Vatican City and the Tiber River. Our family of 6 needed 2 rooms, which was fine. The rooms are on the small side but having AC made up for that! They were clean and moderately comfortable. There's a roof top sitting area with a great view of the city that was a highlight of the hotel for us. We ate a lunch of food purchased from the grocery around the corner up there one day- felt great to only spend 30 Euro on a lunch for 6 instead of 125 that we would have spent at a restaurant! The breakfast included in the price of the rooms was very good. The hotel staff was pleasant enough but didn't kill us with kindness. There was a hidden tax at the end of our stay that we didn't know about but it wasn't too much (less than 30 Euro). The only thing I have to complain about is that the "free airport shuttle service" advertised when I booked the hotel is apparently only from the airport to the hotel. We needed a shuttle from the hotel to the airport, which ended up being 80 Euro. When I complained that this information was misleading the staff behind the desk had a printout of Expedia's fine print at the ready that I apparently didn't read before. He didn't seem to care.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, USA

Great location.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The roof terrace and the bedroom suite which was very comfortable.
Cons: The shuttle driver and bell boy were not very friendly
Location: St Peter's Basilica and The Vatican Museum are very close. Also an easy walk over the river to Piazza Navona and catch #81 bus to the Colosseum.
We were very happy with the hotel and it's location near to the Vatican. It was with easy walking distance (15 minutes) to wonderful streets, cafes and Piazza Navona. After emailing the hotel the day before we were picked up at the airport and taken to the hotel free of charge (but it needs to be arranged 24 hours in advance). The return shuttle costs 40 euros for a couple, and cost us 50 for a family of four. Breakfast was provided each day and included in the price with a good selection and choice of food and a great view. The hotel had the most fantastic roof terrace which overlooked St Peters Basilica and The Vatican. It was a wonderful place to go early evening for a cocktail. We were very pleased with our room as we are a family of four with two teenagers! We were given a suite and the the room was divided by a bathroom, we had more privacy than we expected. The only problem we had was that as the bathroom design was so old we could not have a shower without covering the floor in water. We would definitely return to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

360 degree views of Rome

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Upscale but welcoming.
Cons: I'd love to see a coffee/tea maker in the rooms.
Location: The Vatican, St. Peter's square, the Tiber river and several other historical sites are all within walking distance, along with many cafes.
I'm always nervous about what our hotel will be like in European cities. The Atlante Star far surpassed our expectations with a staff the hotel can be proud of. We were made to feel welcome right away, the room was very clean and nicely decorated. The roof terrace is a lovely with sweeping views of the city and many of its historical sites visible--a nice place to cool off after a long day of sightseeing and watch the sun set with cocktails. If our path ever takes to Rome again, we will definitely stay in this hotel again.