Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Jacksonville, Florida

Avoid this place

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Do not judge this hotel by pictures, or the way the building looks like from outside. Room was dirty. Carpets were not vacuumed. Black mold in the ceiling in the room and bathroom. Bathroom was caked with mold. Bathtub was not cleaned in a while and had dirt built up. Front desk person told us we could park in their parking lot, but withheld information that they charged for parking. Location is not close to anything. Unless you have a car, you should not stay here if you are planning to see any of the tourist sights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chris/Billfrom London, Canada

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything was very good except for the breakfast. It had watered down juice, very few cereal offerings and only hard boiled eggs. Plus a few pastries and toast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathfrom West Sussex

Great Hotel for a couple to do sightseeing in Rome

Posted Nov 1, 2012
We booked into the Aurora Garden Hotel having looked at previous reviews. We arrived at the hotel about 8.00 pm and was greeted by very friendly staff. We booked the hotel away from the centre of Rome as we were travelling as a couple and were happy to travel as the centre of Rome is only 8km away. The room was very small but functional but the only draw back would be that they do not provide any tea or coffee facilities in the room only a minibar. We walked to the centre of Rome via the Via Nomentana which took us ages but was really enjoyable as on the way we saw a lot of the surrounding areas and how the Italians lived and stopped off in a few cafes along the way. We did however use the metro but at first it was very confused and once we did eventually master it it was very easy. We would definitely go back there as it was good value for money and although 8km away from the centre of Rome it did not bother us. It would not be a good idea to take kids though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a nice hotel, better than I expected after reading other reviews. Friendly & very helpful staff. A little far from the centre but the transport system is very easy to use. Overall a plesant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and quaint

Posted Jul 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Quite cozy, clean and comfortable. The concierge was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alyssa

Helpful and friendly staff, nice and quiet hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed this hotel. The staff told us about many neat places to visit that we would not have normally known about. This hotel wasn't as close to downtown but it was close to the subway which was easy and efficient to get downtown.
2 out of 5
by Davidfrom Newcastle Upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK

Aurora Garden Hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2012
Pros: Economic, and friendly staff
Cons: Location and basic resources
Location: Out of the way, taxi from the hotel to the Colosseum came to 25 euros (started at 7), and took about an hour to walk in.
The hotel was rather out of the way of other tourist locations, and the taxi that the hotel concierge kindly booked for us was ludicrously expensive compared to taxis we got from in town back to the hotel (many of the in-town taxi drivers hadn't even heard of the hotel!). All staff were friendly and, despite a slight language barrier, were always helpful. All functions and resources of the hotel were basic and limited; the breakfast 'buffet' (included in the package) was poor quality and unimaginative, and the room service menu was nearly bare. That being said, we were only really using the hotel as a place to stay as we explored the city throughout the day, and so it is more a place that I would recommend to sightseers, and not to families expecting plenty of entertainment from the hotel. Decent and acceptable all round, no major complaints.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Divya

Average hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was ok, we just needed a place to crash for one night. about 1 hour away by public transport to central Rome. We would probably look for a hotel near the metro station the next time, we wasted a lot of time in the traffic. Good parking facilities. Receptionist kept trying to sell us one of their tours the whole time! I would not go back there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staff was WONDERFUL. Very informative and friendly. We stayed at alot of hotels during our vacation and I must say the staff here was by far the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Posted Jan 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
We've spent six nights at the hotel and find it an unexpected gem. Read and decide for yourself. Convenience: The hotel is located in the San Cleto area of Rome, Northeast of the center of the city. It may be hard to locate it on a map, but it is surprisingly easy to reach by subway and bus: From Downtown Rom: You take linea [Line] B -- the Blue Line, toward Rebibia which is the final stop, but get off one stop before at Ponte Mammolo because it is a bus station with lots of buses coming and going. At the bus station take bus 343 or 344 to Casale San Basilio and Nicolai. From there it's 5-7 minutes on foot to the hotel.. Buses run until very very late at night as does the subway. There are at least two restaurants within a short walking distance from the hotel, both serve good food and are open late and there are several stores/delis (including a bakery) within minutes of the hotel. Breakfast: Aurora Gardens is a bed & breakfast hotel and breakfast is served conveniently from 7:00 to 10:00 A.M. It consists of toast (white or rye), fruit salad a variety of meats and cheeses, an assortment of bakery goods, juice, and hard-boiled eggs. The coffee is excellent and you can have as many cups of Americano, cappuccino, cafe latte etc. It's a wonderful breakfast. Room & Bathroom: The room is comfortably spacious, has dark blinds for people who come to Rome to sleep late (I don't understand that). The bed was wide and very good (I know, I suffer from a bad back on occasion), the lights were all over the place, the water in the bath was hot (or very hot if you prefer to turn it up), and the hotel supplied large fluffy towels plus a mat. The sink was large and did not require the use of contortions. New and clean towels and a mat appeared daily on the rack. The room has a fairly big closet with hangers as well as a desk and a mini fridge stocked with drinks (but YOU pay dearly for them) .This was convenient enough to store some cheese/meats when we didn't feel like going out at night. There are no drawers or shelf space for clothes, however—only for hanging. Staff:: Perhaps the most important element at the Aurora Gardens -- certainly for people who do not speak Italian – are staff members at their hotel. Every one of the courteous and extremely helpful front desk managers spoke English well. Alex (who speaks 4-5 languages including Thai, German, and, of course, English) is a delightful person and a welcome help in every way. Daniele and the late-night manager (whose name we regrettably forgot) are equally pleasant and helpful. They helped us find places, book reservations at a museum and recommended restaurants, bus routes etc. If you are looking for a great hotel at a decent price look no further! DARCY'S OWNERS, Los Angeles CA