Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tony from New York

Nice stay, good location

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall I had a very nice time at Carlo Alberto house. I had a bit of a problem checking in (the staff is not always there and comes in from elsewhere), so I had to call when I arrived and someone came to the location. Other than that it was good. The place is centrally located, clean, reasonably priced for Rome, and had free Wi-Fi.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A HORRIFYING EXPERIENCE----DON'T EVER BOOK IT

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
CARLO ALBERTO HOUSE IS AN APARTMENT WITH THREE UNCOMFORTABLE BEDROOMS AND FOR US IT CAME OUT TO BE A DISASTER,TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY AND A VERY UNCOMFORTABLE STAY FOR MY FAMILY. THEY HAVE AN 18TH CENTURY ELEVATOR, IN WHICH ONLY TWO PERSONS COULD STAND. ITS IMPOSSIBLE TO ENTER THROUGH THE MAIN DOOR OF THE BUILDING AS NOBODY WOULD ANSWER TO YOUR BELLS, UNLESS SOME GUEST WOULD COME OUT. THEIR PROMISES ARE FALSE. THEY CHARGE FOR THE AIR CONDITIONING. EVEN AFTER BOOKING FOR A BATHROOM WITH YOUR ROOM, THEY COULD GIVE YOU A SHARING ONE. THEIR HOTEL STAFF IS VERY RUDE AND OF NO HELP EXCEPT ONE GUY WHO IS SWEET AND HELPFULL.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Serin

Apartment not hotel with very old shoe box lift

Posted Sep 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Service and cleanliness was excellent. The lift is so old and very very small. This place is not suitable for anyone with children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Wei

The host and hostess are friendly and helpfull

Posted Jun 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
To stay somewhere, first three things I concern are - safety, hygiene and convenience. In Carlo Albert House you got three, plus very friendly and helpful host and hostess. Before We arrived I got a list of question to ask, but all of it were answered in the introduction without asking! The restaurants they recommended proved good meal with reasonable price. At last day, after check out, we still got half day to airport, they kindly allow us to leave our luggage in a room to enjoy more Rome attractions. That is part of nice memory about our holiday in Rome. All are very much appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Terry

great place to start each day

Posted Apr 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
This establishment was very close to the train station and the metro was right outside the front door. The owner was very helpful in sharing sites to see and how to get to them. You were given a map which was very helpful. She speaks good English which was a big plus for me. Each day started off with a great breakfast of cheese, toast, meat, juice, coffee, and pastries. The room was very comfortable and clean as was the bathroom. The room was cleaned and straightened every day. Do make sure you get the payment details when you check in. I had no idea they wanted me to pay the bill in cash. I did end up paying with credit, but not without some disagreeable interaction which almost made me miss my train to the airport. Sorry it ended that way because I really like the people and place. Just make sure your have a discussion on payment and it will be a rewarding experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B in very convenient location with great owners

Posted Nov 22, 2011
We really enjoyed our stay at this B&B, owners were waiting for us to let us in. The location was very convenient, right next to a metro stop Vittoro Emmanuelle, which we didnt know so we had some tough time locating this hotel. It was extremely hot even in early September so the owners got us a air conditioner for the room without which it would;ve been tough. Loved the cappucino machine and quaint rooms. Got a real feel of Rome, different feel than a hotel roo. Sal was very helpful in giving us information to get around and tourist information. Overall loved our stay and would defintely stay there if we visit Rome again..
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Carlo Alberto House. Good location for transport

Posted Nov 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
This B&B is run by Sal and Lisa who live offsite. You need to “book” in an arrival time so they cn be there to greet you. We had a very adequate room for the price and a VERY comfortable bed. Breakfast ws self serve, so there was access to this nd the kitchen are all hours. The metro station was right outside and main railway only 10miutes walk. Very handy for departures. Our hosts were lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Great Hospitality.

Posted Oct 9, 2011
Very convenient location, close to both transport and points of interest. Friendly, hospitable and helpful staff. Free refreshments and snacks throughout stay. Good quality for price. Happy to recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great B&B an excellent base to explore Rome

Posted Mar 30, 2011
I chose this B&B based on other positive reviews, price and location. It did not disappoint. The B&B is a series of rooms in an apartment building, with a central area for breakfast. The two guys who run it, whilst not on site full time, do a great job looking after the place and attending to guest needs. I recieved an email immediately on booking asking what time I would like to check in, and one of the hosts was there to meet me and give me a set of keys. The location is a short 10 minute walk from the train station, and was close enough to walk to all the major sights in Rome - Colosseum, St.Peters / Vatican, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, etc. Breakfast was self serve, with a few options, and was set up the night before, which was really handy for a few very early starts. I would have no hesitation recommending this B&B as a simple, comfortable, convenient, no frills option at the budget end of the market.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Mario from Trinidad and Tobago

A place to rest your head

Posted Apr 10, 2010
This is not a hotel. It is an apartment on the fourth floor of an old building. If you are not cloister-phobic, it is OK. The elevator to get up to the apartment is extremely small (holds two persons max) and the room is tiny. Entrance from the street is by a small gate but there are no signs to indicate this fact. I I didn't ask around strangers on the street, I would never have found the place. The staff (two men and one woman) is pleasant enough but English is spoken with difficulty. When you check in, you are given a bunch of keys for easy access to the house. Breakfast is a self-service affair but the menu is limited and you have to make your own space on the table. The experience was like bunking-up by a friend. It is a nice place for resting your head but not much else.