Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from England

Beautiful location, building and grounds.

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Location location location! The stone walls and castle decor beautiful. The staff were very efficient and helpful.
Cons: Pot rather than small cup/glass of coffee. Saves asking for more! Shuttle to/from airport.Bathroom could have done with decorating.
Location: Rural surroundings, not sure about what to do as we spent our weekend in Rome.
Arrived early hours of the morning, staff very friendly, showed us to our room. Up late so had room service next morning, HUGE bowls of fruit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John

Romantic Hideaway Just Far Enough Outside Rome!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Bathroom shower was a little small but manageable.
Location: Location was easy off highway, easy drive to train station in and out of Rome.
The ONLY complaint that my wife & I had about our recent stay at Castello della Castelluccia was that we did not stay long enough!!! If anyone is looking for a wonderfully romantic getaway just outside of Rome...Castello della Castelluccia is "THE PLACE"! The grounds, the rooms, the dining, the staff - all !st Class 100%. Easy 2-minute drive to train station brings you into heart of Rome. Breakfast Buffet and Dinner were outstanding. If ONLY once, well worth it.
2 out of 5
by Vic from Texas

Not a great experience

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Beautiful scenery
Cons: Staff communication
The property is beautiful but that is about where the fun ends. The air/heat did not seem to work; just glad night temp was nice enough to crack the window for comfort. There was only one hotel staff that was friendly and accomodating. The main problem was the staff did not communicate to each other at shift change. I think we were the only people staying there and they could not seem to remember what we asked of them. It was a disappointing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable room. Beautiful grounds.
Cons: Outdoor pool was empty and full of leaves but given it was January, not surprising. I suppose the only improvement could be the pool all year heated.
Location: Car essential for going anywhere.
Arrived late but well looked after. A truly beautiful hotel but set not far from main road that looks rather unappealing as you near the hotel. But what a relief when we pulled up at the gates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jan McBride from Castello Lucianno

review

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
perfecr-beautiful space and fabulous food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place when first arriving in Rome

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Location for the purpose and Anna in the restaurant!
Cons: Not typically having the restaurant unavailable due to other affairs so often
Location: Not much.
This location is a wonderful choice if your plans are to arrive in Rome and then drive the next day to another location in Italy. We arrived in the afternoon and had plans to drive to Tuscany the next day with a rental car. We picked up our car at the Rome airport and drove about 35 minutes to the hotel and avoided any Rome city traffic since it is located on the north west outskirts of Rome outside of the loop highway. The GPS got us there without a problem. The hotel is a coverted castle and is in a quiet area surrounded by open space and feels like you are not anywhere near the city. It is a lovely property and very cool in terms of the history etc. The room we stayed in was called a 'romantic room' for some reason perhaps because the bed was 4 poster, but it was a bit small and just OK. The facilities are nothing special in terms of any activities but one caution mentioned in many posts is that they frequently have weddings etc and they take priority in terms of the restaurant (and you likely don't want to leave the hotel to find a place to eat at night in that area). So we were told that they could have dinner for us but not in the typical restaurant due to a wedding - they set up another room for the restaurant guest. It was OK, kind of plane. The food however was very good and the server was FABULOUS. Her name was Anna and she was great. She also worked in the breakfast room the next morning - Anna was the highlight of our stay!. So, this is great for the purpose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevin from San Diego, CA

Very Romantic Italian Castle (Tower)

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: It was a Castle! It was fun to explore and walk around the castle grounds the breakfast and dinner was amazing!
The Hotel Castle was very romantic and was very charming full of cool passageways and many beautiful views of the countryside and sunsets. The staff was very helpful and most of the spoke English and helped with reservations, taxi information, and more. I highly recommend this place for a romantic getaway to Rome if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of downtown Rome. It is about a 10 minute drive from the Hotel to the public trains and then a 30 minute train ride to the center of Rome. The hotel does provide a shuttle service to and from the train station as needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andre P. from Bloomfield, MI, USA

Castle outside Rome

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here 10 years ago during our honeymoon and enjoyed it even more this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andre P. from Bloomfield, MI, USA

Castle outside Rome

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here 10 years ago during our honeymoon and enjoyed it even more this time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A real Italian castle

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Charming castle with lots of character and nice staff.
Cons: Spa requires TLS, comfortable communal area for guests to stay.
Location: Visit to Rome
We had an excellent stay for 12 days. The swimming pool is wonderful.