Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location and the efficient concierge
Cons: 24h front desk
The first impression was not the best, the front door was locked, nobody would answer it. We called the phone number indicated in the reservation and after a complicated check-in, we got the keys. The room was very big, very clean and comfortable. Only next day we saw the guy from the staff (who was super efficient, polite and attentive). The location is just perfect, walking distance from any touristic point. Would surely recommend the hotel. However, would also recommend to make sure somebody will be there at the check-in time. Be aware that the breakfast is actually a ticket for the next door coffee place; we enjoyed it, but one could be disappointed with the fact that there are limited choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from Belfast

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Upon arrival, as we had expected nobody was on reception and we had to phone to get them round to let us check in, we had a few issues getting the phone number to work (we had to put an additional 0 in front of the number printed on the placard outside, which took us a frustrating 20-30 minutes to figure out). But once that was sorted we were helped and accommodated very, very well. The room was small but clean and comfortable with everything you need. Location is perfect, within walking distance to everything, and taxi's are readily available right outside if you wish. If I were to mention any downsides they would be noise from the buzzers as people entered (we were in room 001, right beside the buzzers), and the squeaky beds were a bit annoying. All in all I'd stay here again, we had a great holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Scott from Cleveland

Perfect price and location

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: I believe that having staff there more would make it easier for some people, but not all. Shower and bathroom were small but that was insignificant.
Hotel is in a perfect location if you want to walk around Rome and have access to everything on foot. The cafe next door has a perfect breakfast which is included in the hotel cost. There is a lack of staff for most of the day, which was not a big deal to me, but if you are needing assistance it may not be for you.
Comment from
Jan 11, 2014
Dear Guest, we are extremely glad to realize that you lived such as good experience at Domizia Sancti Angeli, where you felt as welcomed and well attended like we always aim to. We all remain at your disposal and look forward to receving you back at our Holiday Home, so to give you other unforgettable moments... we do have a reception until 12.00 and available at the main reception with a multilingual Staff at Residenza Domizia in Via dei Coronari 14 most of the day for any help. Thank you for choosing us and for your nice review about the whole experience. Kindest Regards, Tommaso Scotto di Luzio
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Hartford, ct

Nice hotel with a concierge for few hours a day

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: The bathroom was the best part.
Cons: More info. in the Exp pack. re. staffing. Info: Check-in til 7pm & call re. check-in, not that they're not there; We wanted other phone #'s.
Location: The location was pretty good for us. Far from the subway, so only buses go there- complicated.
There is staff is very nice, but only there until 11 am so if you arrive to check in after that, there is no one to answer the door and let you in. Although they have another hotel, the phone number there was not listed on the Expedia information or on the door of the Domizia Sancti Angeli. When I asked about using a computer, they said I could use their lap top, but it took days to coordinate that since they are rarely there. Once I was able to use the computer, she let me use it for a long time and was very accommodating. It was just frustrating that it took days to get access. The room was nice and the bathroom was beautiful. It is on the ground floor, so the traffic outside is very loud. We were in the room closest to the entrance, so every time someone came or went it was loud (a buzzer system was used). There is a safe, but it is not attached to anything and it is so small that someone could easily take it with them if they chose to. The breakfast that is included is provided with a voucher from the cafe around the corner. It was ok, but stingy. It included one coffee, one croissant, and one half glass of orange juice.
Comment from
Jan 11, 2014
Dear Liz, we do have a reception until 12:00 at Domizia Sancti Angeli but we are available with a multilingual staff at the main Residenza Domizia in Via dei Coronari 14, just 5 minute walking away from Domizia Sancti Angeli. To solve the late check in we have put a note very clearly on all the web site including expedia and 2 days before arrival day of all our kind guests we send an important information abaut arrival time to guarantee check in. the safes, are all now attched inside the wardrobe of rooms Breakfast is an Italian Breakfast as mentoniated on the web site. We feel very sorry for all and thanks for the review which helps us to improve. Best regards, Tommaso
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Drew from Colorado Springs, CO

Decent price, excellent location

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Size, affordability
Cons: A front desk to help you if you need someone, like arranged transportation to the airport.
Hotel room is spacious with a state of the art bathroom (although a little ding was our sink backed up and wasn't fixed for about a day and a half - but it didn't disrupt too much), had a fridge which was awesome to chill water/drinks, and overall room cleanliness/condition was awesome. It was very secure with not one but two passcode doors to get through, the location could not be more ideal, and the price was unbeatable for the facilities. CON: unfortunately the final impression was the lasting impression. This building is not located with the main front desk building - that's located about 6-7 blocks away. This place claims a 24 hr front desk. However we had an early morning flight and wanted to settle our bill the day prior. There was a lady that sometimes roamed the hallway in the morning, waiting for you to leave so she can clean the room. I spoke with her about settling our bill the day prior, but on that day she was no where to be found. As night fell we also wanted a taxi reserved since we spoke to taxi drivers and they said we'd be hard pressed to find one at 4:30am. I then made the walk to the main building only to find it closed! There were no instructions on how to use the phone, but since the main office was closed, there would have been no one to talk to. We got up even earlier, left a note about settling our bill, and searched forever for a taxi. Just disappointing there was no concierge to help us when we needed it most - otherwise it's a good place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but wouldn't stay again

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: The noise
Location: Great location, just a short walk to The Vatican and the Piazza Navona
The hotel was in the perfect location, just a short walk to many of the sights, but unfortunately we left wishing that we had stayed elsewhere. There are only 5 rooms in this tiny hotel and the reception is only manned in the morning. 4 of the 5 rooms are facing a very busy main road, with the window being on street level. The walls were paper thin, meaning you could hear the tv and talking in the rooms next door. The entrance is accessible via a code and they are also very noisy. This combination meant I had little to no sleep throughout my stay. My overriding regret is not reading reviews before we booked. I recommend you do not book this hotel if you wish to sleep. It is fairly clean, well decorated and in a great location but I would have sacrificed this if I could have stayed somewhere where I could get a bit of sleep!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara

nice hotel perfect location!

Posted May 15, 2013
Pros: location was perfect a 7 min walk to vatican city, 15 min walk to coloseo, 10 min walk to spanish steps and just about 10-15 min walk to everything!
Cons: the staff being present would of made my stay go a lot smoother
Location: everything is near by it really is a great location
Great experience only complaint is I only saw the staff when i checked in. They were never there to assist me with questions or reserving a taxi when needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KerryF from Kent, UK

Clean, functional, great location, terrible noise!

Posted Mar 14, 2013
Pros: Location, spotlessly clean, really hot shower which is a plus after a hard day sighseeing!
Cons: The noise from other rooms, lack of hotel staff, squeaky campbeds.
Location: The location is perfect for exploring on foot but miles away from the Metro which wasn't a problem. Vatican 10 mins away, Colluseum 25 mins walking.
Location of this hotel is great. Very quiet but central - 10 minute walk to the Vatican and 25 minutes to the Colluseum. The rooms were small but functional and spotlessly clean. The beds are basically campbeds with a wrought iron frame placed around them to make them look like bedsteads. They were comfortable but every time you moved they squeeked which was a bit annoying! We didn't suffer from any road noise which we were concerned about after reading other reviews. The BIGGEST problem with this hotel is the noise from the other rooms. I can honestly say I have never experienced anything like it. The walls are so thin we could hear people sneezing and going to the toilet. It was horrendous. I had to buy earplugs in the end just to try and get a few hours sleep. I would not describe this place as a hotel, it is more of an upmarket hostel/apartment mainly due to the noise and lack of hotel staff. However that said, it was a perfect base from which to explore Rome and we literally used it as a place to lay our heads after a hectic day out sightseeing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky, USA

Location, Location, Location!!

Posted Jan 17, 2013
Pros: Location & Price
Cons: Lack of staff...
We stayed at Domizia Sancti Angeli for 12 nights. The rooms are on ground level and next to a busy highway; so it was a little noisy at times but nothing to bad. The room seemed to have been newly remodeled and was nice. The bed was not a king bed; instead it was 2 twin beds put together but they slept ok. The staff was helpful and nice when they were there (from 10 am to 2 pm only). The location was GREAT!!! Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PATRICIA from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK

ROME VISIT

Posted Dec 15, 2012
Pros: STAFF
Cons: BREAKFAST
Location: EXECLENT
WE DID NOT STAY IN ROOM BOOKED BUT AT THE ONE WHERE THE RECEPTION IS AT. FIRST WE WERE DISSAPOINTED AT THE ROOM WE WHERE GIVEN AS IT DID NOT LOOK AS MODERN, BUT IT WAS LARGER AND RIGHT NEXT TO PIAZZIA NAVONA, THE STAFF WERE SO HELPFUL AND COULD NOT DO ENOUGH FOR US,MAKING SURE WE HAD ROOM HOT ENOUGH,KETTLE HAD RIGHT ADAPTER, AND EVERYTHING WAS OK FOR US . THOMASSO AND CHRISTINA WERE VERY HELPFUL AND HELPED US TO ENJOY OUR HOLDAY ONLY NEGATIVE WAS BREAKFAST ,WE DID NOT GO TO CAFE BUT SUPERMARKET AND BOUGHT WHAT WE WANTED. AS WE HAD FRIDGE AND KETTLE