Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anna from Copenhagen

Good hotel for a few days in Rome

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We were looking for accomodation at a decent price, which is what we got here. I felt we got exactly what we paid for. The staff was friendly, and the room and bathroom was comfortable and clean. It is small, but we spent most of our time outside, so it wasn't a problem. The only downside was the noise coming from other rooms and the hallway - very thin walls! A plus for the free wi-fi and the good location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price and location.

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Only stayed 1 night. Staff helpful and in a good location for central Rome. Had a bad surprise when we had to wake up early to get to the airport, NO HOT WATER. What a shame, this was a deal breaker. Would have been fine if we could speak to someone about it. Be sure to chek if you choose hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Peter & Wanda from Toronto

close to piazzas

Posted Nov 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice inside but unassuming on outside. no elevator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel in Rome historic center

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Very decent room for very inexpensive price Must walk up stairs to lobby Has wife and in room safe Good location 10 to 15 minute walk to Pantheon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from Prague

What a surpise!

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Cons: Running hot water
Location: Location is hard to find. Even cabs have problems.
Hard to believe that behind the grey facade is a small cosy hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anthony from Toronto

great location - room good for the price

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
I want to mention the fact that you could hear the people walking around on the floor above you and hear the neighbors toilet flush and shower going around you. Otherwise, fantastic location to main attractions and trastevere area. The room was clean and shower/toilet worked correctly/had hot water. Please note, there is no elevator and you will have to walk up stairs (The reception is on the 3rd floor and our room was on the 4th floor). Overall, good price and great location to all the main attractions (walking distance from vatican, piazza navona, the Colosseum, and very close to a bus that stops at Termini train staton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from Melbourne

A slice of Rome

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Lack of maintenance
Location: Very good location
Domus Ester is in a great location for walking to the Colosseum and Vatican, And for eating out it's 5 minutes walk from Campo di Fiori and just across the river from the restaurant laneways of Trastevere. My room and bathroom were small, no hot water on the first morning but assured it was a continuous hot water service and receptionist went to check on it. From other reviews this seems to be an occasional problem, the next two days it was fine. The toilet seat was also loose which other reviewers have mentioned. What I disliked the most was the mouldy bottom section of the shower curtain which lay in the shower water due to it being too long, aside from this the room overall was very clean. In spite of these issues I would recommend Domus Ester for its location and price with an awareness of its lack of maintenance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Oct 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in a perfect location. The room was very basic and small but at least it had its own shower. It would have benefited with having tea and coffee making facilities in the room.This was an excellent budget hotel in a great location once you had lugged your luggage up 4 flights of stairs. The hotel arranged the airport pick up and drop off's which was a god send as i have no idea how we would have found the hotel with out this
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

not as advertised

Posted Oct 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel room was clean and in a good location but very hard to find. Picture of the front of the hotel is not the hotel but the restaurant around the corner of the building adding to the difficulty in finding it. The directions on the website are not correct. Also climbing 3 flights of stairs proved to be difficult for some in my party. Should have been more clear on website.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michaela, Vito from New York, NY

Domus Ester

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Pros: close to monuments, in the ancient center within the tiny narrow streets, great service, great breakfast, airconditioning
Location: close to monuments and important sights in rome, far from main train station and far from subway (20 min walking)
We spent 2 nights at Domus Ester. First, the shuttle driver from the airport could not find the hotel in the maze of the tiny streets of ancient Rome so he dropped us of "in the area" and we then spent another 30 min looking for it. We finally found it, but the hotel only had a small sign on the door. The reception is on the second floor, so we were not sure if we were at the right place at first. But from then on, the stay was pleasant. The both receptionists were very helpful, both spoke English and did everything to make our stay as nice as possible. The room was small, but clean. It had an air condining so we were confortable during the night (which was the only time we spent in the room). We got our breakfast delivered to our room and ot was great. Check in and check out was easy. The only thing I found to be little annoying was that it was long walk to nearest train. But we already knew this, since the hotel is located in the old town.