Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by TMC from Manassas VA

Basic hotel in convenient location

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Television didn't have any English-language channels. Wifi was patchy (weak in same areas of the hotel, strong in others.)
Location: Some museums, close the Santa Maria Maggiore church neighborhood. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby, although none upscale.
This hotel is typical of a type common in Rome, but not in the US (or a lot of Europe). It consists of several floors of what used to be a residential building. I was on the top floor of the hotel but there were apartments rented to local residents above me. The first room I was in was very noisy as the tenants were up until after midnite doing what sounded like renovation work. The manager moved me to a quieter room after 2 nights. The room had all the basic necessities and was large enough. There are essentially no public areas other than the front desk and breakfast room. Breakfast was minimal in selection and quality. Location is about 4 blocks from Termini station so access to Metro and buses is excellent. The neighborhood is not a luxury one; many of the residents seemed to be Africans or South Asians. As a woman travelling alone I am very sensitive to safety but I have to say I never felt I was in any danger. In the mornings there is a local market in the same block as the hotel, including a fruit and vegetable stand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fred from Virginia, USA

A Great Place to Stay

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Location: Just three blocks from the train station. The owners ready to have a cab for you in 5-10 min.
The hotel only has 31 rooms but the three brother owners are all exceptionally helpful and friendly. The d├ęcor is basic, clean and comfortable. Great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great price, very central.

Posted Sep 26, 2013
A really nice, friendly hotel and for central Rome, unbelievably good value. Rome has a reputation for pretty rubbish and expensive hotels, but our experience here was totally the contrary. Lovely room, great bed, everything impeccably clean, very warm and helpful staff, and they are dog-friendly! Wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Everything

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Traditional hotel (smaller rooms) close to trains, subway, Rome attractions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by johnny ace from wales

Beware the morning market

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Avoid room 101. The shutters are nailed shut (so no natural light) and we now know why! It's on the ground floor and EVERY morning a street market sets up at 6:00am. Lorries unloading, people shouting, scaffolding scraping - the lot! We eventually got moved to the 3rd floor, where the noise was just about tolerable. They really should not be letting this room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Greenville, SC

Great hotel in a wonderful, safe location.

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location and that the hotel was so nice.
Location: Close to the train station so hop on the Metro and its easy to get to all the sites. Go see to the papal audience.
This hotel is in a great location. The room is a good size, not tiny, and very nice. Lots of really nice woodwork. The breakfast is very basic but was very good - exactly what we needed to start the day. The staff was wonderful - spoke very good English. Having never been to Rome, I knew near the train station would be a good location but was a little concerned about how safe it was. We loved the location and felt safe even walking back at night. We noticed that the local Police precinct is about 5 doors up from the hotel. Being so close to the train station makes it easy to walk to catch the Metro (subway) and the Leonardo train to the airport. I would highly recommend this hotel and if we ever get to return to Rome we would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great respite after Albania

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: see above
Very cozy, helpful staff, excellent on-site breakfast. 5 minute walk to train/metro/bus station. No complaints.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Rose from Australia melbourne

Not impressed

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We got there. Old room. Paint peeling off bathroom ceiling and mould in shower. Need I say more. Only after complaining did they put us into a better room. Still was nothing to brag about. Only had breakfast once, after that what a waste. I wouldn't even call it breakfast. No toast, or eggs and the size of my pantry at home. Poor
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jon from Dallas

Inexpensive Rome

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
If your looking for a hotel under few hundred euros that has faculty that will treat you amazing this is the place. The rooms & shower are nothing to call home about, but the location is pretty good. The staff is really awesome they made sure we made it to our flight at 3:00 am on time. They had a taxi ready for us and helped negotiate our flat rate. Very great service, but the star rating definitely reflects in decor. Overall very nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from Deep River, ON, Canada

Good location, very helpful staff

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Arriving by air, I had an overnight stay at the Domus Praetoria Hotel in Rome before traveling South by train. The location is very good, an easy short walk to Roma Termini, but one has to look for the house number and the list of occupants in order to find the hotel. My room was very small, enough for one person. The available space was very well utilized, featuring all the necessary amenities and very efficient remote control air conditioning. The unit was very clean, the bathroom fixtures were up to date (I loved the rain shower), and the bed was very comfortable. The Internet was sporadic, but good in the corridor and other public areas. The room was quiet, despite a market in the street next morning. I had to contact someone South of Rome and had great problems getting through. There was no cell phone reception in my room; however, the receptionist went out of his way to help and called for me. Next day I got information about a sightseeing buses and could leave my luggage for later pick-up. Upon my return the desk clerk made another phone call for me, and reminded me to hurry if I wanted to catch my train. Everyone went well beyond the call of duty. I certainly recommend this hotel especially for service and cleanliness.