Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The smallest double room in the world

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The staff was nice and friendly.
I paid for a double room or two single beds room for 5 nights. The room that was assigned to me was actually a single room "converted" in double by putting two single beds one next to the other. There was literally no room to move or to open a suitcase. The refrigerator didn't work. No free outlets near to the desk to plug the laptop (it was always a choice between having the lamp on and working on the laptop). The manager explained that they had overbooked the rooms but this is hardly a good explanation for a four-star hotel!
1 out of 5
by Stephanie from England

Moved hotel on arrival, terrifying location.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
On arrival to our hotel we were overjoyed with the location, just down the road from the Collosseum and in a really nice area with an abundance of restaurants. However on reception in the hotel, we were told our floor was having electrical faults and so we would be moved to a different hotel. Me and my friend who I travelled with are two 21 year old girls, have never been to Rome before, and had our trip meticulously planned in order to facilitate costs, travel times, etc. Therefore we were understandably pretty worried about the situation. After trying to negotiate with the reception staff, as we think they did actually have rooms available, we were told point blank that we had to move to their other hotel. The hotel staff told us that it was very nice internally but when we asked whether the location was "nice" and "safe" the male representative shook his head. We asked for a partial refund as our location was a great deal further from the sightseeing locations, and therefore would cost is a lot more in travel, but the man told us that they would not do that as that was the responsibility of expedia, which I thought was disgusting. Instead he offered us complimentary breakfast and a room upgrade "but not a suite". We reluctantly agreed as we had no other choice. We actually ended up staying at the Eurostar Rome Aeterna hotel which was nice but located directly next to graffiti and intimidating gangs of men - not safe. (End of word allowance)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice lobby, terrible rooms

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Unconfortable beds (two single beds pushed together), damp and humid room, no ventilation in the bathrooms, drainage problem of the sink and bath tub (took 3 minutes for water to drain! Which made washing baby bottles very messy and difficult!) , very small rooms with no drawers and no space to open the luggage, bad breakfast. You have to call the lobby to turn on/off the aircondition system. Overall definitely not a 4 star and very dissapointed!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy from seattle, wa

Close to metro

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: The room was comfortable, especially the bed.
Cons: Carpets need to be cleaned
Location: Close to the metro/bus lines.
Overall a good experience. We wished there were more restaurants in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tanios

Great stuff / near metro station

Posted May 7, 2014
Cons: Add gym
The hotel was very clean, near the Manzoni metro station (3 min walk). The stuff were very friendly & helpful. The breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dan from israel

Very nice hotel.

Posted May 6, 2014
A very good hotel. You get your money value!!! Good service, clean comfortable quiet rooms and nice bath. The only problem is that it's not right in the centre of the tourist area, but if you don't mind 20 minutes walk or 10€ taxi, it's recommended. Good to know: the hotel charge 6€ per day for city tax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Montreal Quebec

Better than nice hotel. Surprising good location .

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Just better than good hotel.
Cons: More pillows
Location: You can find everything you need in a ten minute walk.
Walked all over Rome for a quick 6 hours. One astonishing site after another. A complete overload of architecture , art, sculpture , people and marble. Staff suggested a great small restaurant just around the corner at reasonable prices. Buoni Amichi has great food and that's saying something after 25 days on a cruise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wood family from leeds

Family city break

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: If the hotel was more realistic about their rating which can only be a three star, then its great value. Great location. Great access to tube n tram.
Cons: Better directions from metro on the website. Better storage. Bedside tables could have been cupboards for "smalls". WWW info about renovation
Location: Local facilities are great and authentic Roman, used by locals. Felt safe even at night. Easy to get to main attractions but also just far enough away
To begin with the directions from the Metro were unclear. To get there go on the Metro "A" line to station Manzoni. Then walk along the Viale Manzoni and take second left onto Via Matteo Boiardo. On arrival all was good. Friendly staff, prompt check in. There was painting going on due to previous reviews about decor being dated. The receptionist also pre-warned us that the somewhat less than clean carpets were going to be replaced. Then to the room. These were disappointingly small. There wasn't sufficient facilities for two people to totally unpack. E.g. there were no draws for underwear, and the closet was very small. The closet door only just cleared the bed and we had to go sideways to pass each other. We had a "lovely" view of the sports yard of the local sports college, and school playground. The website somewhat misleadingly gives a view of some arched pallasades and a court yard as if these are part of the hotel. They aren't. They are part of the school. This was noisy early and late into the evening. The windows are double glazed but it was too warm to have them closed. Wi-fi worked fine. Bathroom was very nice, again if a little "compact". Fresh clean towels and linen. We didn't take breakfast but it looked very nice. Main attractions are within easy public transport reach. Number 3 tram or A line metro. All staff were lovely and polite, and very attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winterthur, Switzerland

Convenient location in Rome

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Location: The Coliseum is about 10 minutes away on foot.
The best thing about this hotel is the staff: very helpful and friendly. They'll give you directions, advice, tips and generally make you feel welcome. The bathroom had a bit of an unpleasant smell, but that could be as much due to Rome's plumbing system than the the hotel's. There's a fitness centre a few metres away, which is nice. It's also about a 5-minute walk to the Manzoni Metro station, which will get you to most areas of the city, and the #3 tram/bus line is very near. Other reviewers have complained about small rooms, but this one (a double) was fine, not huge, but adequate, and the bed was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shilpa from london

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: nice, clean, helpful, friendly staff and if it your first time in roma it is a great location at stay at.
Cons: room standards
Location: shops, cafe, fast food, restaurants within walking distance