Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

they try to help me at least

Posted Jun 3, 2014
the hotel has no elevator, but at least they help us with the luggage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JSC from Singapore

Interesting location -

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very well-run hotel, punches above it's weight for a one-star establishment. Room was clean and spacious with window overlooking the Via Bixio. Staff were friendly and accommodating in English, offering luggage storage and other perks for free. Interesting area near the train station, many Chinese businesses, also Indians, Bangladeshis, Koreans, Tibetans and Sri Lankans.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from Warsaw, Poland

Lovely hotel near the center of Rome

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: The staff was amazing!! They were very helpful and always available.
Cons: The breakfast was available in a very nice cafe, but it was only a drink and a croissant. Also, the pillows were hard.
Location: Ask the man at the desk! He knows everything you need to know. The area is a little run-down and dirty.
The guy at the desk was very helpful about what to see in Rome, public transport, tickets, etc. We were allowed to leave our heavy suitcase there after we checked out, without an extra charge. They also let us use the microwave in the office. The hotel is close to bus stops, metro stations, and tram stops. It is a 20 minute walk to the Colloseum. Our room had windows opening out onto the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sophie from Newcastle, Australia

Great for your money.

Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything is really expensive in Rome so Family House is a great place to stay at a great price. The toilet kept dripping from condensation and you better close the lid when flushing as it is quite violent and you are bound to get wet. It is a bit further from the train station then it looks on the map but is still with in walking distance of heaps to see if you are a good walker. Breakfast was very small, don't get your hopes up. It also does not run for very long so make sure you don't plan things to early a d don't sleep in or you'll miss it. Still a good place to stay.
2 out of 5
by Camilo

Expensive and not nice.

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Location....nothing else....
Cons: Cleanliness!!!
Location: Subway station 2 blocks away, and from there..whatever you want in Rome.
Haven't been in Rome in any other hotel, but I believe it is really expensive for what you get. Though the staff has the best intention to treat you well, the hotel room is terrible and dirty. Still, it has a great location for tourism!
3 out of 5
by Magdi from California

Poor Hotel, third floor with no elevator

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: lots
Location: the location was in the center and near the train station
Poor cheap Hotel not good for family, Suitable for student, small rooms, third floor with no elevator
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by marc from bixio

ok for the price

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is in the Chinese area of Rome, which i did not mind. It was pretty close to termini station and colloseo area; the area was a good location. The hotel itself had some problems. First, it wasn't that clean, I mean it could have been better. The second problem was that the shower was really small. I am 6 feet, 200 pounds and had a problem. In addition, the hot water kept going from furnace hot to freezing cold; aggravating. The good things are the location and the owners. They were pretty good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by US visitor from Maryland

Parents and kids happy and comfortable

Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a great hotel for the price. We were in Rome in the summer, so the availability of air conditioning in the room was a life saver. The main person at the desk with whom we dealt was extremely helpful and called a cab for us the night before for a trip to the airport at 5am the next morning. He also clued us into the nearby presence of a good-sized grocery store and a gelato business (Fassi) just around the corner that has been in business since 1880 (oldest in Rome). We had dessert there three evenings - it is extremely busy but great. Only consideration for families or women - this is fairly close to the Roma Termini train station, so the neighborhood in places is rough. We never felt uncomfortable or threatened, but that does not mean that something could not happen. However, the place is pretty secure once you are inside - we had to go through four lockable doors to get to our bedroom. We would stay here again without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Sydney NSW, Australia

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Aug 24, 2012
The hotel was extremely cheap for Rome so we expected to get what we paid for. Instead, we got a great room, free WIFI, discount bottles of water and helpful staff. The location was good too. 15 minutes to the Colosseum and 15 minutes in the opposite direction to a great seafood restaurant. A few things in the room looked a bit fragile but we had no problems at all.