Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Gorgeous resort in heart of Rome

Posted Jul 26, 2014
While expensive, this hotel is meticulously kept with an attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Amazing in every way.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: the staff
The hotel was just perfect in every way, its worth asking about an upgrade when you check in, we got a bigger room for no extra cost. Use the free bus to get into the city and save the Taxi fares.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Great hotel in close location to key sites

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Service, friendly staff, good location and popular from what we could see given the number of holiday makers there
Cons: More toiletries would have been helpful as didn't appear to be enough on a day to day basis. Bathrobes not suited for the larger person.
Location: Vatican very close as were most historical buildings of interest. Good eateries nearby. Music festivals located down by river bank
Great hotel with pool, gardens and usual amenities. Staff were very friendly, happy and attentive. Room nicely cool and refreshing after a hot day out! Room very spacious and modern.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel room's outlook was facing construction site.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff were very courteous and helpful. Breakfast buffet very pleasing.
Cons: Considering I paid the same price as my friend whose outlook was the pool I was very disappointed with the construction site outlook.
Location: Close to Vatican attractions. Tiber River had live music and restaurants all along which added to the summer holiday ambience of the area.
High price tag for a construction site outlook. Everything else was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Beautiful Property. Pleasant Stay.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Beautiful property, top-notch service.
Cons: Offer guests a different room to avoid view of construction.
Location: Great location if you don't mind walking. Vatican, Sistine Chapel, St. Peter's Basilica, and other sites are 10-12 minute walk away.
Gran Melia Roma is a beautiful resort hotel in every sense of the word "resort". Although we didn't take advantage of all the amenities (spa, pool, etc.) we did enjoy one of the restaurants and the outdoor lounge area for beautiful...very nice! Our room was on the 5th floor and the view, past the construction going on next door (only seen, never heard), was a picturesque snapshot of Rome which was absolutely breathtaking at sunrise. The service was great, no complaints there. Everyone from the front desk & concierge to housekeeping to the restaurant staff was very attentive and handled our every need. Other than being given a room with a view of tarp and scaffolding, the only other negative I can think of was the hill you must walk up to get back to the hotel after a day of touring the city. : ) All in all, we'd stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gran Melia, high prices low standards

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Goo location with a pool
Cons: Attention to maintenance detail. Technology that works. Less intrusive staff.
Room was OK for a 5 star hotel. Some lights not working (fixed on first day) TV not working (Fixed after 3 days of complaining and being told it was me, even when fixed very hard to use, RC had 3 second delay and only worked half the time), Breakfast was 70 Euro EACH/day. We decided to eat out at the great selection of nearby cafe and restaurants. The one time we did eat in the food took ages to arrive and one of our meals was cold. Used the laundry service get some clothes cleaned and was told they would be back next morning but then they did not arrive till 8pm next day. Complex lighting system was missing labels so using it was by trial and error. Same for AC. Wall mounted WC not fixed securely, Bath plug drained almost as quick as the water went in (yes it was sealed) Some staff excellent, others argumentative and rude. Our opinion is that if you don't need a pool in the centre of roam there are plenty of better places to stay. If you have phd (Needed to use the lights, although one of us did have a phd and still could not figure it out) and like all your personal effects moved each day and sprinkled with rose petals then this is probably the place for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jules from u

Ideal location, great pool

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Lovely hotel but it's relatively new and that shows. Service isn't great and can be slow and staff seem quite junior. Within half an hour of arriving we had already experienced a room mix up and been served raw chicken - neither of which was handled well. However location is great, eight minutes walk to the Vatican and about the same to Trastevere and it's wonderful to have the pool - a good way to break up the sightseeing, especially for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, friendly and friendly staff

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Loved staying there, lovely hotel. Good location for Vatican. Would highly recommend to friends and would stay there again. Room very clean and staff very helpful and polite. Lovely pool area also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brett from Washington, DC

The staff is great! Views of the Vatican!

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: The staff is great!
Cons: Pancakes on the buffet
Location: 5 minutes from the Vatican
We stayed there for nearly 10 days! The rooms are probably the best in Rome. The staff is great! Only wish there were pancakes on the breakfast buffet. If you are going to go to Rome- stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from W

Calm oasis in the middle of bustling Rome

Posted May 30, 2014
A beautifully equipped hotel in a nice quiet part not far from the Vatican. 10-12 euro cab fare to trevi Spanish and acropolis. 5* deluxe. Definitely recommend.