Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a 5*

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The location was in a perfect location for site seeing.
Cons: The facilities could be improved by being made more welcoming.
Location: The Vatican is right next door and all other tourist attractions are relatively near by.
We are so glad we booked this hotel as part of a package through Expedia as we would not of been happy if we paid the full price. We were supposedly in an upgraded room. I hate to think what the previous room would of been like. The room was relatively small but seemed clean apart from little ant type creatures going around the floor? They could do with seating other that two chairs at a small desk with a TV directly up above. The bath is unbelievably uncomfortable and the shower lacked power. We didn't eat in the hotel as it was cheaper to go into town which I believe the majority of people did. Soft drinks were rather pricey with coke being 8 euros. The reception staff weren't overly helpful when it came to trying to sort out a query we had with our booking? Apart from that the rest of the staff were delightful. I say all this about the hotel but if the question was asked "would I stay there again?" The answer would be yes - because after spending a while looking around Rome we didn't come across any hotel that looked better! It was in a perfect location for site seeing!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Nice hotel coles to Vaticano an cita center

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The gardenia and localización
Cons: Maybe the menú in restaurante
Location: Excelente ok
For esconde timé excelente experiencia in an inusual hotel in Europa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Excellent hotel. Staff very curtious and helpful. Room was spacious and comfortable. Food excellent. Nothing bad to report about this hotel. Loved it. Would defo recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Fantastic facilities just a walk away from the Vatican. The staff was more than accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel and very close to Vatican City.

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Location and the superb service.
Cons: Nothing we noticed.
Location: 10 mins walk to Vatican. 40 mins walk to Coliseum. Lots of nice restaurants at the various piazza's close-by.
We booked this hotel for our honeymoon and upgraded to a Junior Suite. The service (Red Level) was excellent from the moment we arrived until we left. The location is excellent for the Vatican (10 mins walk) and close to all the other major attractions. We also used the spa, which has very good facilities and treatments.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel did live up to the rating

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The first room we were shown to was perhaps the worst room in the hotel. It was on the basement level and there was construction going on a few feet from the window. We asked if anything else was available and they offered another room for a considerable amount more per day. They did manage to move us to another room the next day where we were a few levels above the ground floor. We were suprised to learn that the hotel is less than 3 years old. There was mold in the shower and a little paint was peeling from the ceiling. The exterior of the hotel also showed paint damage. The hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable. At 3 stars this would have been a fine hotel. It just didn't live up to its rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel, close to everything that's important to see

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Nothing that I saw
Location: Awesome. 5 minute walk to the Vatican, 30 minute walk to ancient Rome along the Tiber.
Been thinking for 20 minutes now, but still can't find anything negative to say. Brilliant hotel.... Staff are awesome. Have never been told so politely that I needed to wear long trousers in the Vive Voce Restaurant. All-in-all, a wonderful hotel, with exceptional staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury Hotel, luxury feel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Classy yet not stuffy hotel 10 minutes walk from the Vatican. The room was large and had lots of nice touches (open plan bath and shower etc.) The staff was helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Paradise in the Centre of Rome

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: They could serve tea in the bedrooms somehow as there is only coffee
Location: Everything is nearby, the location is fabulous.
Stayed at the Gran Melia for the weekend, had an absolutely fantastic time, the staff very attentive, facilities second to none, setting wonderful, and so close to the sights, next door to the Vatican. And to top it all off what wonderful weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Fantastic hotel, great service and friendly staff

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and the quality of service was great. The rooms were lovely and comfortable..
Cons: The rooms were lovely but faced out to small backstreet.
Location: Very close to Vatican and reasonable distance from main attractions. Hotel up on a very steep hill so not ideal for people with walking difficulties.
Very nice hotel - a first class experience from the greeting on arrival, through to the welcome drink while we were waiting for the room to be prepared and then throughout our stay. Close to the vatican and not too far away from the main sights.