Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Derry

Honeymoon in Rome

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Top location and excellent facilities.
Cons: Mini-bar/restaurant costs were quite high but no more than would be normal for 5 star accommodation.
Location: Vatican on your doorstep! Excellent "Villa" like setting within the hustle bustle of Rome.
Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Hotel rooms and common areas were clean and beautifully presented. Location was perfect for venturing off to see all that Rome has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulously luxurious and friendly hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The hospitality and the top rate service and accommodation
Cons: More childrens food.
Location: Perfect location for the Vatican (10 mins walking) and Piazza Navona (20 mins walking).
The staff were all, without exception, very friendly and couldn't do more to help. The surroundings were beautiful and clean. The room was stunning. We were upgraded to an apartment that was amazing with its own jacuzzi. The pool was beautiful. Food and drink are not cheap, but then the hotel is worth it. Taxis are called by the hotel very quickly with an ETA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amman

Great Trip

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Very nice hotel almost close to everything except the colosseum. There are no night clubs near the hotel except one that is not super. But the hotel itself is great with some really nice facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect Roman holiday

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: We loved the location, the amenities, the pool and surrounds, and most of all the fantastic staff.
Cons: Very little. The wi-fi could be better I guess, but it's a small thing.
Location: Rome is a beautiful city, the hotel has a prime location, close to all major tourist sites as well as the lovely Trastevere district.
Our stay at the Gran Melia was idyllic. The hotel is magnificent, luxurious, the perfect urban resort. The location is great, close to the cultural sites and great eating spots. The staff are attentive and friendly, and a great shout out to Frederica, who looked after our every need throughout our stay. She was fabulous and so were the rest if the team. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, it's wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Treat yourself and stay here!!!!!!!!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: What is there not to like. It was perfect!
Cons: The pillows! That is my only negative about the hotel, the pillows! Even if you had two, they were so soft, it felt like you had no pillows at all.
Location: The Vatican and Tiber River are right there. The hotel has a shuttle that takes you near the Spanish Steps. Nicely located.
I am very cautious when it comes to searching for hotels and rely heavily on reviews. Any of the reviews on this place that are 4 stars and above are the truth (although I am not sure why anyone would give this place 4 stars). If you are looking for an intimate hotel, this is it. The hotel is not so massive that you have to walk miles and miles to your room, pool or restaurant. For those who are worried about kids being at the hotel, do not worry, there were no kids running around losing their minds and creating chaos. Food was excellent, drinks were awesome. For those of you who love to try a new wine, Gaetano is your wine man. He knows his stuff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Gorgeous resort in heart of Rome

Posted Jul 26, 2014
While expensive, this hotel is meticulously kept with an attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Amazing in every way.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: the staff
The hotel was just perfect in every way, its worth asking about an upgrade when you check in, we got a bigger room for no extra cost. Use the free bus to get into the city and save the Taxi fares.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Great hotel in close location to key sites

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Service, friendly staff, good location and popular from what we could see given the number of holiday makers there
Cons: More toiletries would have been helpful as didn't appear to be enough on a day to day basis. Bathrobes not suited for the larger person.
Location: Vatican very close as were most historical buildings of interest. Good eateries nearby. Music festivals located down by river bank
Great hotel with pool, gardens and usual amenities. Staff were very friendly, happy and attentive. Room nicely cool and refreshing after a hot day out! Room very spacious and modern.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel room's outlook was facing construction site.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff were very courteous and helpful. Breakfast buffet very pleasing.
Cons: Considering I paid the same price as my friend whose outlook was the pool I was very disappointed with the construction site outlook.
Location: Close to Vatican attractions. Tiber River had live music and restaurants all along which added to the summer holiday ambience of the area.
High price tag for a construction site outlook. Everything else was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Beautiful Property. Pleasant Stay.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Beautiful property, top-notch service.
Cons: Offer guests a different room to avoid view of construction.
Location: Great location if you don't mind walking. Vatican, Sistine Chapel, St. Peter's Basilica, and other sites are 10-12 minute walk away.
Gran Melia Roma is a beautiful resort hotel in every sense of the word "resort". Although we didn't take advantage of all the amenities (spa, pool, etc.) we did enjoy one of the restaurants and the outdoor lounge area for beautiful...very nice! Our room was on the 5th floor and the view, past the construction going on next door (only seen, never heard), was a picturesque snapshot of Rome which was absolutely breathtaking at sunrise. The service was great, no complaints there. Everyone from the front desk & concierge to housekeeping to the restaurant staff was very attentive and handled our every need. Other than being given a room with a view of tarp and scaffolding, the only other negative I can think of was the hill you must walk up to get back to the hotel after a day of touring the city. : ) All in all, we'd stay here again.