Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff, great hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The Staff The Cleanliness The service
Cons: Rooms with private bathrooms or showers would be appreciated by some.
We had a 3 night stay here and loved it. The staff are amazing, so helpful, pleasant and efficient. The hotel is lovely, modern, spotless and great to return to after a few hours sight seeing in the heat. The liquid area is very relaxing, the coffee great. We liked the room but a bit more privacy in the shower would have been better for a couple of friends, however we worked it out! Turn down service was good as was the breakfast. The staff at reception always called you by your name, a lovely touch for a big hotel. Would definitely return here. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill but we found out we could nip into the carpark and take the lift up which was very useful if you have any walking difficulties. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Comfortable hotel, lovely grounds

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The gardens, pool, and friendly service.
Cons: Nothing really, would go back.
Location: Tremendous views from the Gianicolo hill, if you have the energy for the climb. Trastevere, Vatican City, and Piazza Navona are just short walks away.
Rome is a busy place, so it is nice to return to a hotel with a bit of greenery and peace and quiet. All is still within easy reach though, bars and restaurants in Trastevere are a short walk away, and the hotel lays on a free shuttle bus into the centre every hour. Swimming in the outside pool at midnight was a highlight!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex UK

Just the job

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: Some inconspicuous direction signage
Location: St Peters, Castel d'Angelo and Vatican are a few minutes walk away
Our trip was to give my wife possibly her last experience of Rome as she has a terminal illness. The staff were very welcoming and within 20 minutes of arrival we had proseccos beside the pool. The room was fine with typical Italian styling - a glass screen with blind between bedroom and bathroom and the bath within a wet area with glass sliding doors. The overall style is minimalist luxury, so minimalist that there is no signage for floors or room directions. Staff arranged an excellent guided tour of Ancient Rome. A brief visit to remember.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incompetence at the front desk

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Checking out
Cons: Front desk staff need to be empowered to respond to legitimate issues identified by customers. Manager need to respond.
Location: Near vatican
Paid extra to avoid construction noise only to have staff moving table and chairs on the terrace which was situated on the roof of our room, at 5 a.m. in the morning. Expressed my disatisfaction three times to the front desk and each time the response was that they could not do anything and that they would speak to the manager. When I checked out, I was asked for my e-mail address so that a manager could follow up with me. Several days later, nothing. Mold/Mildew on the wall between the shower and the bed. Five star???????
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expensive food

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Excellent hotel, only complaint was that food was overpriced. Breakfast cost €36 and was standard continental.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry, UK

Great hotel!

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The style, the setting, the friendliness, the standards
Location: Its very close to the Vatican and only a few minutes in a taxi to the centre of Rome
My partner and I had a fantastic stay in Rome helped by the comfort of this lovely hotel. It met every expectation we had...the staff were genuinely warm and friendly, the setting is beautiful and the standards very high. Its a calm oasis in a busy city which enabled us to tour a busy capital city for the day and then return to a relaxing poolside area to wind down and have a well-earned drink!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Only for couples with no friends

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Cons: Customer service, please your clients, they keep you employed.
Location: Near the Vatican and Trastevere and shuttle bus to The Spanish Steps
I was travelling solo and had friends visit me from overseas. The staff were terribly rude to them, changed there story everyday about who could visit me and use hotel pool, they were happy to take more money to upgrade my room, and happy to take my friends dollars for spa treatments but not allowed to use the pool, one gay couple were actually escorted out and treated very rudely by management.These are professional people and were never under any influence or rude to anybody on hotel premises. The staff kept passing the buck and blaming each other and they refused to get me the GM. Every day of this stay was a new drama and I was left with no apologies and reeling in a bad mood, not at all what I expected of this holiday or this hotel, don't stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a 5*

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The location was in a perfect location for site seeing.
Cons: The facilities could be improved by being made more welcoming.
Location: The Vatican is right next door and all other tourist attractions are relatively near by.
We are so glad we booked this hotel as part of a package through Expedia as we would not of been happy if we paid the full price. We were supposedly in an upgraded room. I hate to think what the previous room would of been like. The room was relatively small but seemed clean apart from little ant type creatures going around the floor? They could do with seating other that two chairs at a small desk with a TV directly up above. The bath is unbelievably uncomfortable and the shower lacked power. We didn't eat in the hotel as it was cheaper to go into town which I believe the majority of people did. Soft drinks were rather pricey with coke being 8 euros. The reception staff weren't overly helpful when it came to trying to sort out a query we had with our booking? Apart from that the rest of the staff were delightful. I say all this about the hotel but if the question was asked "would I stay there again?" The answer would be yes - because after spending a while looking around Rome we didn't come across any hotel that looked better! It was in a perfect location for site seeing!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Nice hotel coles to Vaticano an cita center

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The gardenia and localización
Cons: Maybe the menú in restaurante
Location: Excelente ok
For esconde timé excelente experiencia in an inusual hotel in Europa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Excellent hotel. Staff very curtious and helpful. Room was spacious and comfortable. Food excellent. Nothing bad to report about this hotel. Loved it. Would defo recommend.