Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York, N.Y.

Great location, not 5-star quality

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location, generally helpful staff
Cons: Should have a real lobby bar, and complimentary morning coffee should be put out for guests in one of the many lobby-level meeting rooms.
Location: Right near Pantheon and walking distance everywhere
Stayed for 5 nights. In the center of everything, and walking distance to everything you would want to see. Not a huge problem, but room furnishings could use updating to warrant five stars. Also, while the lobby is lovely, the lobby bar was open only until 6 p.m., and the much-promoted a Rooftop Bar had private parties going on both times that I attempted to go there. I would rate it 4 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom lincoln UK

Great hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Everything it was clean a a real experience we even managed to get a room with a balcony which was a lovely added bonus too can not recommend enough
Cons: not alot, all staff except one were brilliant, sat in the wrong seats (and was very rude about it but we complained and the hotel dealt with well
Location: perfect location next to the pantheon and other attractions in walking distance
From the impressive lobby, right to the moment entering the room for the first time everything was a wow moment, the room exceeded expectations and started the trip well seeing my girlfriend so happy with the room, then when we realised we had the balcony room too that was a proper added bonus! while the room wasn't ready (as we were slightly early) we went to the roof top to have a meal which was amazing too (the only disappointment was the restaurant on roof was closed on the sunday evening) The staff more than accommodating. A real experience from start to finish thats the proper way to see rome too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was walking distance

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The rooms and service are top notch. Great starting point for the day.
Cons: The restaurant. The rooftop view is nice but the food is subpar.
Location: The hotel is centrally located. You can literally walk in any direction to start exploring.
The Minerve is centrally located and made walking around Rome very easy. The rooms are nice and spacious. They have a fitness center. I'd avoid the rooftop restaurant. However, there are several great options for breakfast and dinner close by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

State of Neglect

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location is great
Cons: A total make over is required
This hotel is not what it used to be and is certainly NOT a five star! The hallways have old and dirty carpets, walls are full of ware and tear marks, the staff is only so so...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

My night at the Grand Hotel De La Minerve.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: I loved the location and the staff.
Cons: Maybe the beds.. my back is weak and I like a great bed.
Location: The Patheon and the Lago Argentina are super duper close.. the hotel is very centrally located.
It was great.. I was there only for a night since my family arrived the next day and had already reserved an apartment else where.. but, I will only stay there in the future. It was a great location with great views. I loved being so close to the Patheon but yet not able to hear the noise. The staff was delightful! I arrived early in the morning an they were able to give me early check in at like 10 instead of 3 and I was able to do a late check out at 2 instead of 12.. that was fantastic. The breakfast was delicious as well.. all really good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael Svanefrom København

Topklasse i Rom

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Et skønt og centralt beliggende 5-stjernet hotel. En flot og meget god restaurant på taget med en meget fin udsigt over ROM. Et ophold der var alle pengene værd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Location is perfect

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Very good location, I would say it is located in best part of the town, close to everything, yet far enough from boutiques of Spanish Steps. That is, all store near by are cheaper and restaurants are better, area is less crowded. Room is small, but cosy, staff is helpful. One thing that was very important to me and worth mentioning is a comfortable bed, good quality mattress. I found this is the most important part of hotel staying, as this is very important after all day walking. One thing I found extremely overpriced is a hotel breakfast. I went there once and paid for it more than in any any other restaurant during my entire stay. Without putting any numbers, let's just say, that for the rest of the stay, any breakfast I would have outside in cafes cost me 10-15 times less. After first day breakfast, I did not bother even checking hotel bar. Yet, I do not regret my choice as it was a very pleasant experience after all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rosafrom København

Fantastisk!

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Alt var bare tip top. Hotel, service, belliggenhed. Og det aller bedste er deres smukke taghave. Vi drak drinks deroppe hver aften, ubeskriveligt!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dubai

Great hotel located very centrally.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Already explained in the above answer - the staff, room size, views, central location.
Cons: Internet sucked. Breakfast too expensive.
Location: A stones' throw from the Pantheon, a 2,000-year old temple-turned-church with very lively square, good eateries and more much round the corner.
A really great hotel located right in the middle of everything in Rome you need to see. We were pleasantly surprised by the relatively generous size of the rooms. The view from the room was spectacular, and even more so from the rooftop restaurant. The best thing about the place was the staff, in particular the guys working at the Concierge. All restaurants recommended by the Concierge were first-rate. The team was really helpful and each individual extremely friendly and nice! It's not always that case you can guarantee such quality of service in hotels in other European capitals that are more pricey! Two negative comments: first, the breakfast was 35 Euro a person, but no big deal as it forced us to go out and grab a cappuccino and pastries outside the hotel; second, the wireless Internet connection, albeit complementary, sucked.