Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

My night at the Grand Hotel De La Minerve.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: I loved the location and the staff.
Cons: Maybe the beds.. my back is weak and I like a great bed.
Location: The Patheon and the Lago Argentina are super duper close.. the hotel is very centrally located.
It was great.. I was there only for a night since my family arrived the next day and had already reserved an apartment else where.. but, I will only stay there in the future. It was a great location with great views. I loved being so close to the Patheon but yet not able to hear the noise. The staff was delightful! I arrived early in the morning an they were able to give me early check in at like 10 instead of 3 and I was able to do a late check out at 2 instead of 12.. that was fantastic. The breakfast was delicious as well.. all really good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Location is perfect

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Very good location, I would say it is located in best part of the town, close to everything, yet far enough from boutiques of Spanish Steps. That is, all store near by are cheaper and restaurants are better, area is less crowded. Room is small, but cosy, staff is helpful. One thing that was very important to me and worth mentioning is a comfortable bed, good quality mattress. I found this is the most important part of hotel staying, as this is very important after all day walking. One thing I found extremely overpriced is a hotel breakfast. I went there once and paid for it more than in any any other restaurant during my entire stay. Without putting any numbers, let's just say, that for the rest of the stay, any breakfast I would have outside in cafes cost me 10-15 times less. After first day breakfast, I did not bother even checking hotel bar. Yet, I do not regret my choice as it was a very pleasant experience after all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Great hotel located very centrally.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Already explained in the above answer - the staff, room size, views, central location.
Cons: Internet sucked. Breakfast too expensive.
Location: A stones' throw from the Pantheon, a 2,000-year old temple-turned-church with very lively square, good eateries and more much round the corner.
A really great hotel located right in the middle of everything in Rome you need to see. We were pleasantly surprised by the relatively generous size of the rooms. The view from the room was spectacular, and even more so from the rooftop restaurant. The best thing about the place was the staff, in particular the guys working at the Concierge. All restaurants recommended by the Concierge were first-rate. The team was really helpful and each individual extremely friendly and nice! It's not always that case you can guarantee such quality of service in hotels in other European capitals that are more pricey! Two negative comments: first, the breakfast was 35 Euro a person, but no big deal as it forced us to go out and grab a cappuccino and pastries outside the hotel; second, the wireless Internet connection, albeit complementary, sucked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva, Switzerland

Excellent location, grand ambience

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Wonderful old world style right next to the pantheon. I made my booking online through Expedia at 22h00 on the way to the hotel. Arriving 10 minutes after making the booking the check-in went seemless, with the hotel offering me a free upgrade. Room was very spacious, very clean and surprisingly large. The TV did not work properly, but not really an issue as was very late...and who really needs TV when in the centre of Rome? Would recommend sndvI will return.
3 out of 5
by RO from Seattle, WA

Over rated and over priced!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: location, front desk staffs
Cons: furnishing, carpeting, a/c system, bathroom design, cleanliness
I found it disturbing that this hotel is listed as a 5-star hotel…only if in a 10-star system. It is 3-star at most. Positives: great location, most staffs are friendly and eager to help. Negatives: dirty (guest rooms as well as public areas), tired furnishings, bad bathroom design (rectangular toilet seat), worn down and holey bathrobes, broken a/c control (either not cool enough or freezing cold), one doorman who never smiles and only stares you down which makes you wonder if you are being greeted as a hotel guest or scrutinized by a prison guard… My husband and I selected the hotel because it is centrally located and steps away from the Patheon. Smooth check-in but things turned bad quickly: our room looks nothing like the picture, tiny even for European standard, dirty, a/c control barely attached to the wall, smells like bug spray which quickly got me dizzy. The bathroom is very tinyl and difficult to manage even the smallest movement, rectangular toilet seat which hurts your bottom if you sit on that for more than 2 minutes, bathrobes are worn down with multiple holes. We had a sleepless night. The a/c temp/fan speed control didn’t work. Air from a/c has a certain stale smell that resembles mold. We were so miserable that my husband tried to cancel the rest of our stay and move back to our first hotel. The gentleman at front desk was understanding and moved us. Still problems with the new room but we stayed.
2 out of 5
by Lisa from Chicago

Disappointing hotel in terms of cleanliness

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: They need to put some serious cash into improving the interior. Get rid of the hideous navy bedspreads and just use white linens.
Location: Pantheon is right there, but restaurants are few. Great organic juice bar around the corner.
We only stayed for one night. Great location, but that's all it has going. Rooftop restaurant is a major disappointment. Room was dirty. The hotel just needs a major upgrade. New paint, furniture, etc. Air conditioning did not work well in the bedroom. Room rates are way too high for this type of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely gorgeous hotel, the location, the staff

Posted Apr 29, 2014
We had a fabulous time, the location is central to everything you need, the hotel is superb a real 5 star hotel and the staff were wonderful Definitely highly recommeded, we would go again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by TerryTravellers from Palo Alto CA

A perfect location

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Minerva's public areas are beautiful, well maintained, and spacious. Their guest rooms need updating and improvement in quality. The towels are budget quality, the bedding is polyester fill comforters with hard pillows. The plumbing needs updating....our tub drains in two hours. The walls are blank with one small print. Yet, if you look at the web site, the suites all look colorful and lush. In reality, most are not. They told us that all the rooms are different. But, they are all sold in the same category. We checked out quite a few rooms as they were being turned over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beefo from California

Luxury at the end of a busy trip

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Staff friendliness and helpfulness.
Location: Everything was nearby.
Our family did a Venice to San Gimignano to Rome trip. It was great to end our trip in luxury at de la Minerva. Very helpful location to all the must see sights.