Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe from Toronto

Good All Around Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay at the Grand Hotel Giancolo was a pleasent one. Nice location, clean hotel, pleasent staff, and the breakfast which was included with our stay was excellent as well. Typical europen hotel breakfast spread but with the added quality and extras. WiFi worked as advertised. Small shower stall...but otherwise fine. If the price is right I would recommend, the registration card within the room had a very high maximum nighly charge that the city would accept for that star rating/room size.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann

The hotel staff were very nice.

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: The best thing about this hotel is breakfast on the terrace.
Cons: The bathroom was not clean enough, and the towels could be fresher.
Location: The hotel is located in good area., easy to get by bus, we took a taxi for only 15 Euros from the terminal because were were late and in a hurry.
The hotel has a swimming pool, we didn't have time to use it, because we got there in the evening and had to leave very early the next morning, but it's a nice neighborhood hotel, and staff were very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by C

Nice Location Great Pool

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The pool, location and breakfast.
Cons: The condition of the rooms need a face lift and new mattresses.
Location: I really enjoyed the area for the view and the fact it was out of the hectic tourist areas but still close enough to see the sites.
Nice location away from the crowds but close enough to walk around or short bus ride to city center. The breakfast was good and as always coffee in Rome was superb ;) The main attraction is the pool perfect after a long day walking around in the Roman sun. My only complaint would be the state of the rooms, slightly run down and the mattress was not very comfortable but that being said for the price, location and fantastic pool I would still recommend staying at this hotel if you don't mind being a little off the beaten path.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from Great Britain

hotel positives/negatives

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: It was very comfortable with excellent facilities.
Cons: Maybe the décor is looking a bit tired, perhaps lighter colours on the corridors would brighten things up!
Location: Lovely location as quiet and peaceful but no good if you do not like walking to get into the centre. Lovely open spaces all around.
A lovely hotel with super gardens and pool. However rooms a little on the small side, we were lucky to change rooms to a corner one where we had 2 aspects to look out on and room was bigger than some. Décor a little tired and wallpaper could do with updating, especially the pink/turquoise along the corridors. However, the staff were all very helpful, the pool was a haven at the end of a long day and the breakfast room was a lovely peaceful start to the day with a wonderful choice of goodies on offer. We also loved the location as there were plenty of open spaces nearby and although it was a walk into Rome, we enjoyed this aspect and never needed to use a bus. Lunch at the pool was sensibly priced and very enjoyable with again very helpful staff. We enjoyed visiting the small restaurant next to the hotel where the food was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michael from durham UK

lovely friendly hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: friendly ,clean and lovely pool to cool down
Cons: nothing
Location: 15 Min walk from Vatican.15 Min walk to Trastevere (bar and restaurant area) 40 Min to Colosseum
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel Gianicolo,our room was clean and very spacious.The staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast on the roof terrace was excellent .The pool was clean and a welcoming retreat from the hot sun .Would recommend this hotel .15min walk from Vatican City (down hill)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok!

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: The terrace and gardens
Cons: Poor air conditioning and hotel in need of an update!
Location: Outside of Rome in a beautiful suburb with plenty of restaurants, recommend!
I'm not normally critical and have stayed in many hotels. I picked this hotel as it was different to some of the bland business hotels in the city and very italian. The building is lovely and the pool and gardens beautiful. It was great to sit and have a glass of wine on the terrace in the sun, however there was not a barman available all the time, as on the night we were there, he was being shared with a private function elsewhere, which led to very slow service and my husband having to go to reception to sort out a second drink! My boys enjoyed the pool, but we had to buy them swimming hats from the hotel before they could go in it, which were 5 euros per hat. The room was nice, however my biggest issue was the air conditioning unit was broken and noisy which meant we got very little sleep and were very hot!! We did complain and were offered a change of room, but this was not practical at 11.30pm when the boys were asleep and we had unpacked. The breakfast was simple but sufficient. In summary, From the amount I spent on the room I would have expected more, however it was not dreadful. I probably would not go back or recommend as there is nicer available!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Surfing Spirit from Uk

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Over all it was great just what we needed after 5 day s in the city and walking every where . This hotel is not in the most easiest and half way up a hill, but if you like walking or happy to taxi it then it s fine or just stay in and relax. Wonderful pool and restaurant beside it just the job for the hot days of July. about 4pm we found it rained some time briefly others an hr or two. Every thing thought of in your room. My only negative point is the air conditioning was very noisy and the road noise made it hard to have window open at night. That could just have been the room we were in so don t let it put you off, take ear plugs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with pool

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Lovely hotel with fantastic pool area which was great to come back to after a day sightseeing. A bit out of the centre of Rome but we found that to be a good thing as central Rome was so, so busy. Nice rooms which were spotlessly clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean good breakfast

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Location: A little far from main parts of town. Just as well I like to walk although nice part of town
Great stay met my expectations. Other than a slightly grumpy receptionist (only one of them. All the rest v helpful) over confusion on a taxi booking as I got in the wrong taxi and he sided with the driver.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice pool and location, otherwise only so-so.

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: See comments above.
The pool is probably worth the price for some: it's a rare luxury. The location on the Gianicolo is superb, and there aren't any other hotels in that area. Great views from the breakfast room. The staff during the day time was friendly. But all-in-all, I didn't have a great stay. It might be the room I was given, which was on the first floor, too close to the reception desk. There was noise of people coming and going deep into the night, and the night receptionist occasionally talked on the phone. It sounded like he sitting right outside my door. So consider the hotel if you want the pool or the location, but try to get a room not on the ground floor.