Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with pool

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Lovely hotel with fantastic pool area which was great to come back to after a day sightseeing. A bit out of the centre of Rome but we found that to be a good thing as central Rome was so, so busy. Nice rooms which were spotlessly clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean good breakfast

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Location: A little far from main parts of town. Just as well I like to walk although nice part of town
Great stay met my expectations. Other than a slightly grumpy receptionist (only one of them. All the rest v helpful) over confusion on a taxi booking as I got in the wrong taxi and he sided with the driver.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice pool and location, otherwise only so-so.

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: See comments above.
The pool is probably worth the price for some: it's a rare luxury. The location on the Gianicolo is superb, and there aren't any other hotels in that area. Great views from the breakfast room. The staff during the day time was friendly. But all-in-all, I didn't have a great stay. It might be the room I was given, which was on the first floor, too close to the reception desk. There was noise of people coming and going deep into the night, and the night receptionist occasionally talked on the phone. It sounded like he sitting right outside my door. So consider the hotel if you want the pool or the location, but try to get a room not on the ground floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gracious Hospitality on the Gianicolo

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Beautiful setting, gracious hospitality, abundant breakfast, welcoming public spaces. We stayed for a week, and found every aspect of the hotel's service first-rate. The location is a bus ride or a steep walk downhill into the historic center of Rome, but the quiet and the cooler temperatures, to say nothing of the elegance of the setting, make it a wonderful hotel. Nearby are the beautiful Villa Sciarra and Villa Doria Pamphilij. Dine nearby at the Antica Arco, Il Focolare, or Trattoria Il Vascello. Or in the hotel's own dining room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by R & S from Finland

Really poor WiFi connections.

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nancy from Santa Fe, NM, USA

recommend for visitors to american academy in rom

Posted Apr 6, 2013
Pros: Breakfast and the staff.
Cons: bathtub would not hold water. wi fi kicks you off and does not remember you
Location: perfect for american academy in rome. a hike home from the center
If you are visiting someone at American Academy in Rome, I would highly recommend this hotel. It's right around the corner. It's good value for the money, clean, breakfast in a LOVELY breakfast room included, wi fi that actually works, included. Not everything absolutely perfect, but the staff extremely friendly and helpful and it was a good place to land. If wanting just to be in the center of rome, this might not be ideal as you must hike up the hill to get home. Breakfast had everything from fresh fruit (one of the most delicious pears I have even eaten) to eggs cooked two ways to pastries (which i avoided but looked very tasty) to high fiber cereal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leona

enjoyed stay

Posted Nov 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed stay with plenty of walking. As was slightly further away from sights and on top of hill saw some beautiful views over Rome and places we would never of ventured. Hotel lovely but paid extra for jacuzzi room and was not working. Despite this would certainly return if only for fabulous breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Daniel

the most beautiful view in rome was from my window

Posted Nov 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel with beautiful views in a stunning neighborhood. Very clean and breakfast was outstanding. Only complaint: nights were getting chilly and the heat had not yet been turned on. But there were extra blankets and quilts. Trastevere is not in the center, but for me that was a plus. Peace and quiet and the center a 10E cab ride away. Sunrise and sunset over the wall of Gianicolense - birds chirping - 150 year-old trees - great dining choices within a block or two. Plan to go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jackman and Bland family

Posted Nov 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
Spent the first night in very poor basement room with only disabled facilities. We were greater with this option saying that we would be moved after the first night in spite of booking weeks in advance. The rooms we moved to but rather tired. Breakfast could have done with fresh fruit and a better quality cooked breakfast, the cooked option being poor. However, the cakes and gateau for breakfast were good.staff were very helpful and friendly. Would we stay there again probably not!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by tina

Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Generally speaking it was a beautiful old hotel, nicely maintained.lovely breakfast on roof top included. one guy behind the front desk was very helpful, another couldn't be bothered.. I guess he wasnt into service. it was a nice break from the touristy part.