Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hopkinton, MA

Comfortable Hotel in Quiet Part of Rome

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Good service, clean rooms, wonderful pool and gardens.
Cons: The shower needs to be improved as it did not keep water off the floor, but hey this is Italy. :)
Location: Good location to get away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. Near the Trastevere neighborhood with its own local Roman feel.
This was my fourth time in Rome and I stay in a different place in a different neighborhood every time. The Gianicolo is in a quiet area of Rome but is a hike from most of the common attractions so you will need a taxi to and from you daily activities. Seeing we were traveling in the hot summer months the pool was a refreshing break to the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Quiet location

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The location meant that it was quiet, and the staff was helpful.
Cons: The restaurant needs improvement. Also, the amount of toilet paper provided could include an extra roll occationally.
Location: The locatin was high on the hill so it was necessary to take taxis or the bus to get around. there were 2 restaurants within walking distance.
The hotel was located on Gianicola hill over looking the Vatican. It is very high up and even the most intrepid walker might have difficulty climbing back up to the hotel. We took taxis, which were reasonable, and there is public transportation available. The staff was helpful and arranged for transportation when needed. Breakfast up stairs on the roof did not live up to the setting, but was acceptable. The room was comfortable, and typically European. The biggest disappointment was dinner at the hotel. The setting, out by the pool was lovely. The meal was the worst we had in Rome, and probably the worst i've had in a long time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looking Tired

Posted Jul 24, 2014
I have stayed at this hotel on 2 prior occasions. Following each of these stays, I have been happy to recommend the hotel to friends visiting Rome. Unfortunately the same cannot be said after this most recent visit. My room had numerous areas of failing decoration, the ageing air conditioning system was incredibly noisy and had to be turned off in order to sleep and the bathroom flooded whenever we used the shower. The common parts of the hotel also looked in need of a facelift. On my first nights stay at this hotel, the family planned to retire early as we had been up for an early flight that morning. When we got to our room we were greeted with VERY VERY loud music. Upon investigation, this music was coming from the pool terrace which was directly below our bedroom window. It seems that during the summer, management of the hotel have taken to renting out this area for private functions. Be warned they go on until well after midnight. Following a complaint to the manager the following morning, a discount on the agreed room price to reflect our discomfort was duly applied. An appreciated gesture, but not at all what I was expecting from a hotel of this (reputed) standard. Despite its great location and outside pool area, I am not sure I would return to this hotel when next in Rome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family feel

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Swimming pool, relaxed attitude, personable staff
Cons: It is a little noisy
Location: Easy walk to Vatican (10 min), frequent buses to get into town
Friendly atmosphere, helpful staff and laid back ambience, while service was professional
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in pleasant area.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Overall, a very pleasing hotel.
Cons: Other than the hotel having more control of the weather I think they've pretty much got the facilities, comfort etc right for the price.
Location: The hotel is in a very nice area for strolls in the evening, walks to local coffee shops or making your way in to the city centre.
The hotel is in a nice area with a few parks nearby. It's close enough to the main sights ie Vatican, etc to be in walking distance but there are hills involved. A reasonable fitness level and this is perfect. Breakfast buffet was good and had an evening meal there which was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Deb from Halifax, NS

20 minute walk to St Peter's Square & The Vatican

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nicely located in a residential neighborhood, which is only 20 min walk from St. Peter's Square & The Vatican. Please be mindful and diligent that one portion of the walk is along a narrow (sometimes heavily traveled) street, with very narrow sidewalks. Wouldn't recommend walking it with children. The hotel itself, was good, but the walls are paper thin and you could hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room. The included breakfast was usually cold with no bunsen burners to keep food hot. Location is the best asset this hotel has. Also a very nice pool. 8 of us (4 couples) stayed there 2 days while visiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to American University of Rome

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast room.
Cons: Internet was slow and intermititantly was unavailable. The restaurant was average.
Location: Was 2 blocks from the American University and near the park. Otherwise it is in a residential area.
Stayed for 1 week. The hotel was in a good location, near the University and park. The hotel has a nice garden and is clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Houston, Tx

Nice hotel in a great part of town.

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: The staff, and the great atmosphere of the hotel.
Cons: The shower in the single room. My next stay I will book the double room.
Location: Location is everything. This hotel overlooks the Vatican. I suppose you could walk there, but due to the rainy weather I didn't.
This hotel has an excellant staff, very friendly and always willing to go the extra mile for you. The breakfast buffet was great. They always kept the buffet stocked with fresh food and drink. The only problem I had was my shower was small. I hit the control knob a couple of times, and was blessed with either very hot or very cold water until I could get it readjusted. I am 6ft. tall and weigh around 230 and had some trouble with that,but soon learned to be careful with the control. I really had an excellant stay at this hotel and I would book my next stay there. I wish all hotels that I've stayed at had been as nice.Although I was by myself there were a lot of families staying there with small children and all seemed to be having a great stay. Never heard one complaint while I was there for 10 days.
3 out of 5
by Lenja from Cambridge

Long weekend in Rome

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Nothing in particular
Cons: Service - wi-fi, fridge, shower.
Location: Other than Piazza Garibaldi, nothing really to do nearby but can walk down hill to Trastevere. This hotel is not recommended for non-walkers.
The hotel is located up the hill from Travestere in a non-tourist area. It's a bit of a walk up steps and hills to get to it, but this is fine if you don't mind a bit of exercise. And of course, it's an easy 10 minute descent to this popular area when you're going out. It's very near Piazza Garibaldi which has lovely views over Rome. However, the actual hotel was a disappointment - the wifi in the room didn't work, the fridge didn't work (and they didn't even try to fix it), the shower was terrible. It's hard to rate the hotel as a four star. In the summer there would be a nice big pool in a garden which is great, but it doesn't factor in the winter. The breakfast room had a good view of St Peter's dome but the buffet wasn't very exciting. I don't recommend this hotel other than to say the price was fair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from Myrtle Beach, SC

Very nice Hotel. Walkable to St. Peter's Square.

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Excellent staff. Friendly and willing to meet you needs. NO COMPLAINTS!!