Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Advantages of Staying at Grand Hotel Palatino

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The location is the greatest advantage. The staff is accommodating, the breakfast buffet is wonderful and the lobby is roomy.
Cons: The room was not as clean as I would have liked. The dust piled up behind the door and the bed was more firm that I prefer.
Location: We saw the Vatican, the Coliseum, all of ancient Rome, the Capitoline Museum, the Pantheon and attended church services.
Grand Hotel Palatino is located within walking distance of almost everything. My wife and I are 76 years old and we were able to walk from the hotel to every site in which we were interested with the exception of St. Peter's and the Pantheon to which we took a bus (I do not recommend the open tour because it does not stop near enough to the sites and walking to them consumes too much time, but that is another story).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to subway

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Great tidy rooms, great location
Location: Many good restaurants nearby, one minute from subway station
The renovated rooms are amazing, good size and great bathroom. Stayed on the 6th floor facing Via Cavour and had no issues with noise at night (some reviews I read online said noise was an issue, but I didn't find that to be true). Close by restaurants have an amazing cost/performance ratio, a lot better than the expensive restaurants/bars near Spanish Steps or Trevi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico, USA

Great location, center location is a real plus.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Air conditioning. The WiFi was very slow.
Air conditioning was lacking. It wasn't turned on until 1pm. The breakfast was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Karly from USA

Great Central Location, but not the friendliest

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location of the hotel is perfectly next to the colosseum and walking distance from every monument in Rome (including Vatican City if you are willing to walk a little). The hotel is also right next to a metro stop, so getting around is super easy. Free wifi was offered in the lounge but it was spotty, but it was better than paying 1 euro per hour to have it in your room. There are plenty of caf├ęs around Rome that offer free wifi though. Staff could have been nicer. Being that we are American and don't speak Italian, they seemed to be frustrated with us. I don't know if it's because they weren't confident in their English speaking skills, but the staff was not the friendliest. Also the walls are pretty thin, so be mindful. Free breakfast included eggs, bacon, toast, pastries, coffee, mimosas, and espresso or cappuccinos upon request... Good way to start the day. Overall, it's a bit pricey but I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable hotel in a fantastic location

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Location. Friendly staff.
Cons: Decor is dated and needs updating.
Location: It is 5 minutes from the Colloseum as claimed and as such all the main attractions are within a comfortable walking distance.
Fantastic location, friendly and helpful staff, decent breakfast. The rooms are quite small but clean and comfortable. The public areas are pleasant enough if a little dated. Wi-Fi signal is inconsistent. Overall good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by LLH from Montana

Okay neighborhood, convenient location

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms were clean and most of the staff was friendly. The Wi-Fi was expensive if you used it in your room and spotty if you used the free service in the lobby. It looked like the rooms had been remodeled and ours was very clean. The desk clerk who checked us in was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MPH from Boston

Comfortable hotel in great location

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
For access to the ancient Roman ruins, you could hardly do better - close to everything; lots of restaurants nearby; comfortable; clean; large selection for breakfast; very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Darrell from Dallas

9 hours late

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything!
Cons: I could have gotten there on time, and avoided the two hour van trip.
Location: The hotel is between the rail terminal and the colosseim.
Because of a combination of errors by the airlines, we arrived at 7 pm instead of 10 am. I was afraid that the hotel would have given our room away. Instead, they had upgraded us to a junior suite. The staff was supportive and friendly. The in-house resturant was fantastic. One thing that the description did not include is that there is a great street with quaint cafes behind the hotel. The food is great. A friend had told me that you should not hesitate to dine in the small cafe on small streets in Rome. They are reasonable priced and the food is made with pride.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rome

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Rooms were clean and the breakfast was good.
Cons: Staff can be more friendly.
Location: Walk up the stairs opposite the hotel, the church and the view is worth the climb!!
Have visited Rome before and will have to go back again to see more. Beautiful city.