Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by W. Pope from Rome

Misleading information about 5 stars rating;

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was in no way a 5 star property; at best a 3 star and very misleading in the information on your site about this. We changed rooms several times, as one smelled of mold; the toilets didn't work well, one room was without air conditioning, the beds had a thin sheet and you could see the mattress, when we tried to go for american breakfast listed on your site, they said we had to pay for it, and the only real positive as advertised on your site was the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel with a difference

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
The Grand Hotel Plaza is centrally located which enables access by foot to many of Romes tourist attractions. As suggedted by the name the hotel is "grand" in its appearance and is of itself worth the time to explore. The room was of a generous size, including the bathroom. The staff generally had a good understanding of English. Free wi-fi worked well. Very good variety for in-house breakfast. A couple of very small issues 1) the shower was handheld with no fitting to hold it above your head which I find awkward 2) we had a meal with our tour group in the hotel with the meal and service somewhat average.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

CONDITION AND MAINTENANCE

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The paint in the room was scaling off. There was strong dampness smell in the room. the toilet was blocked. the roof of the other toilet was leaking. THis hotel does not fall into 5 star category, not even 4 star. I have stayed in several 5 star hotels in several countries. This was the worst five star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from florida

Elegant Hotel centrally located in Rome

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: It had elegant old world class. It was quiet and peacefu. The staff was friendly and accomodating.
Cons: I was surprised that the tv had only 2 channels in English. The electric outlets were not compatable with my adapter.
Location: The location was great. Everything was in walking distance. There is a taxi stand right in front of the hotel which we found very convenient.
The Grand Plaza Hotel is a beautiful elegant old hotel with old world charm which was built in the 1800's. It is centrally located within walking distance to many of the amazing Roman attractions. It is also surrounded by great shopping . The staff was friendly, professional, and accomodating. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Overall, I found the hotel to be quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast each morning with impeccable service. There is a nice view from the roof and a gorgeous church across the street. Our eight day stay was amazing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kazu from japan

good price and good location but noisy aircon

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: good location
Cons: prise and location
Location: near spain park and main street
good price and good location maybe that's only. because hotel is old and traditional so room and system is not new
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ernesto from Venezuela

Good location hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Very good location, you get a lot but pay a little premium for it.
Cons: Need to get some work with the tubs a the shower, every time we use the shower lots of water was going into the bathroom floor.
Location: Close to Vatican, Trevi Fountain, Colesseum and many other roman ruins.
The hotel was good as expected, extremely well located all mayor atractions are within walking distance (2-3 kilometer radius). Breakfast was good but limited offer. The area is also with good stores, restaurants and outside tables.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arsen from Aventura, Fl

Great Location in Rome

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: TConsidering the price, the only missing thing is a strong wifi coverage.
Location: Walking distance to Piazza dei Popolo, Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain. Near Castell San Angelo and the Vatican.
This hotel has a superb location, in the middle of ancient Rome and walking distance to most of the monuments you want to see. The accommodations are fine but the staff is great. Just keep in mind is a old hotel, so it has a great architecture and decor but lacks 21 century perks like modern bathrooms and great wifi... which is the only thing I would complaint because is extremely week and you are not able to hook on it from your room. But as people say, there's nothing perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from New Jersey

Nice, centrally located hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2013
The Plaza is centrally located in the center of Sorrento. The rooms are nice, a very pretty rooftop pool area and a nice lobby and terrace for drinks. I would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location good

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Location is good, even excellent, hotel is old building, breakfast should improve, some smell at rooms, only one room cardkey for a couple is not convenient, staff told us that it is a hotel procedure, first time heard of such a procedure?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sonia from Adelaide SA, Australia

Princess for a day

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: Fabulous decor! Close to many attractions, lovely staff, beautiful room, comfortable bed, hot shower.
Cons: Only the screeching of the seagulls that were beyond the hotel's control! Couple of minor issues were fixed quivkly.
Location: 1 street from via condotti, on via del coral, also great shopping, central to lots if other sights, eg 20 min walk to Vatican & 30 to colosseum.
Its an absolutely glorious looking 15th c (i think) palazzo covered in frescoes, gilt, wonderful furniture & fresh flowers. From the moment i stepped out of my cab until i left i was treated like an honoured guest & nothing was too much trouble. It was a visual feast or the eyes, my room was beautiful (marble bathroom), bed was comfortable & it was literally walking distance to some of the best sights of rome, including trevi fountain & Spanish steps & was literally one street from rome's best shopping strip. Who could ask for more? And a bonus is that it was as described on its website, so i got to live the life of an Italian princess for a few days - unlike experiences I've had in other hotels on this trip. Overall a great pleasure and highly recommend it.