Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miamisburg, OH

Nice hotel in nice area

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location and good breakfast. Lobby is beautiful.
Cons: Beds are uncomfortable. Air conditioner barely worked.
Hotel has a nice staff with decent but older rooms. Breakfast was included and very good. Good location. Room was ok, but beds were uncomfortable and air conditioner could not adequate cool the room. Hotel staff said it "met their standards". Essentially, the place was "ok" but I'd stay somewhere else on my next trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The beds were divine. I stayed in a twin with my young son. We had 2 very comfortable queen beds.
Cons: Reception staff were a little disengaged with the client.
Location: Fantastic location
The Hotel was in the middle of the Via Del Corso but yet a quite embiance and place to relax from the busy area. Perfect for walking to the Spanish Steps and exploring the region aroung the Pantheon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston texas

Good hotel but definitely not for a 5 stars hotel.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Good choice because it is in the center of Rome and you can visit the colloseum and Vatican by feet. Next to Spanish steps and the famous fountain Trevi. The breakfast ok, the staff ok, not so clean, and the suites overpriced for what you get. Great ceilings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Great location, spacious.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The location and the service. Also the size of the rooms.
Cons: Mantainance in general.
Location: There is everything near, restaurants, plazas, churches, metro, historic sites, etc.
The hotel is located in a great spot. Walking distance to most important attractions in Rome. It needs mantainance beacuse it is an old building. The rooms are big and spacious. The bathrooms have tubs with showers on handles so it is not so comfortable. The staff is kind and have good attitude and service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Extremely grand hotel in excellent location.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The Grandness of the surroundings and helpful staff.
Cons: Shower and hairdryer.
This hotel was as grand as it's name! The reception areas were amazing with fantastic historic ceilings, pillars and even a marble lion on the staircase! It was in an excellent location, very close to the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain (which is being restored so we could not get close sadly) It is also along a main shopping road with everything from designer shops to H and M! The rooms were clean and well kept with a modern bathroom, while retaining the historic feel with art work of places of interest in Rome. My only complaint would be a dribble of a shower and a rubbish hairdryer! Staff were very helpful and were willing to spend time helping us to get around Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Fabulous location, beautiful lobby, nice breakfast, room overall better than anticipated
Cons: More control of air conditioning, somehow telling the front desk staff to be more friendly or at least acknowledge guests with questions
Location: Very close to Spanish Steps and in the middle of shopping district. Almost everything is walkable if you want it to be.
Location is perfect-everything is walkable if you are willing. Lobby/seating area has an elegant feel and should be taken advantage of. Room was comfortable (air conditioning adequate but we would have preferred a few degrees cooler) and we were pleasantly surprised that the bathroom was large (we had a triple facing the courtyard). Only made it up to the terrace once, and that happened to be when it was closed (not sure why) but we could sit outside anyway and I bet it's gorgeous day or night. Breakfast is about the same as other European hotels - breads and pastries, cereal, bit of fruit, cheese, and meat, yogurt - no complaints there at all except that the coffee was much weaker than normal Italian coffee. We arranged ahead of time for gluten-free breakfast to be available for my son. This was mainly Schar bread/cookies, but they were also willing to give him a fruit salad or prepare anything else on the breakfast menu for him. Restaurant staff (particularly the maƮtre d') was excellent. There are a few items in the mini fridge (water, soda, beer, juice) that are free but are not replenished. There is room for a few of your own items, and there is a grocery store around the corner. The not-as-good: Although everyone in Rome was super-friendly and helpful, the front desk staff was not. The toilet in the room was kind of gross under the rim, and somehow our room was not made up one day. They were very apologetic and sent up extra towels and bath products right away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel in great location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: grand hotel with lots of marble but completely outdated. Needs to be refurbished in a big way
Location: center of shopping and the sites
sorry for this grand hotel totally neglected but poor maintenance needs upgrading and attention to details in a big way
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Excellent hotel great location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Grand hotel with splendour of a bygone age the staircase alone is a marvel of marble.much better than staying in a soulless modern hotel.Great location walked to all the sites we wanted to visit with the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Rome

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The staff are very polite.
Cons: Please improve the variety of the breakfast. I guess my stay of 7 nights was the reason of getting bored of cold cuts. I wish they offered eggs.
I traveled to Rome at the end of June. This was my last stop of 5 cities I visited. I was upgraded to a better room. I stayed 7 nights and got used to the location and move around. You need to take a taxi to the hotel if you are arriving at the train station. Everything else is just within walking distance. The Coliseum, The Vatican, The Tiber River is two blocks away, Piazza del Popolo is at the end of the street. The Spanish Steps two blocks away. Because of the location, there is a lot of noise of people and music from musicians outside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ponza italy

Location is excellent, room tiny

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Location was excellent, staff wax friendly, room was tiny, dirty and the breakfast was very limited! Maybe my understanding if 5 star is different!