Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Burlington, On Canada

NEVER book this Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Friendlier staff at front desk . Locks on doors. Cleaner bathrooms .
Location: Good location on Via del Corso. Close to shopping & near the Pantheon
When we arrived , the front desk was very rude & not very helpful. We had arrived by car from Positano with our twin daughters . When we had retired for the night , our daughters were in a separate room & around midnight , a man burst into the room . It apparently was one of the staff . Our daughters then got a call from the front desk demanding that they turn off the AC as there was a complaint that it was making too much noise.Considering that we are staying in a 5 star hotel we felt the request was unreasonable & unwarranted . The next morning when I voiced my complaint , no one seemed to know what had happened the previous night - no call from the manager offering an apology . The room cannot be locked from the inside , so beware as anybody could enter the room .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chesterton, IN

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Hotel is exactly what you would want an Italian hotel to look like. The location is beyond great. The staff was great but a little overwhelmed at checkin times. Overall a great experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Impressive Hotel in Centre of Rome

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: The d├ęcor was beautiful.
Cons: Staff could be more welcoming.
Location: Very central location, beautiful Basilica opposite well worth a visit.
Edwardian Hotel in amazing condition, it was even better than the photographs.The staff were not especially friendly, the same staff seemed to be on duty most of the time. The gentleman in charge at breakfast was the most pleasant and very efficient, breakfast was more than ample in a beautiful Edwardian dining room. Lovely white bed linen and towels. I would recommend going up to the roof terrace for a cocktail, expensive but lovely view of the Basilica opposite and the Spanish steps. We had a room facing the main street and the was live music on the pavement outside every evening which we enjoyed. We took the tour bus of the City, but catch the first one to ensure a seat upstairs. The city taxi's to and from the airport have a set charge which is displayed on the door & very reasonable. There were plenty of Taxi's from outside the Hotel, make sure to only use the one's with a badge on the door & a meter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom santiago, chile

Classic building, excellent location

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Very good overall. Only bad points for no wifi on the room and poor working TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

A true gem

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: Service and communication with this booking site
Amazing building - a leftover of a bygone era of hotels, purpose built 19th century building with Grand Budapest Hotel type charm but not rundown. The reception room that is the bar/lounge area is magical. The unfortunate thing is the staff, who are frustratingly disingenuine. We arrived at 7:30pm and were told that they only had one of the two rooms that were booked and pre-paid. No one had informed us and the concierge didn't seem to empathise at all - I didn't really care whether it was Expedia's fault or theirs. Barring that mishap I may not have noticed that the staff were particularly bad, and hence the whole place would have been magical. But I did. I would still go back though and would recommend to others. The dream value is priceless and it and it's much more impressive than most 5 star hotels. Note: the superior double was a great room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst reception/concierge

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Very bad reception/concierge. The building is a pice of art but badly managed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, very central

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The size of rooms were really good, we wanted to relax in the room and the seating area was spacious which allowed us to do this.
Cons: The shower was so tiny, could hardly turn around in it without knocking off the shower head. Odd, as the bathroom was huge.
Location: Very central, lots of attractions were in walking distance.
The hotel was a delight to stay in. It used to be a palace and it is gorgeous. The main lobby area is beautiful. The rooms were very spacious and the bed was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rome

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The staff and the location.
Location: 20 minutes walk from the Vatican & Collosseum, 10 minutes form the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain.
Right from the start staff were very friendly and helpful - from check-in to checkout. The hotel location is excellent, within easy walking distance of all the major attractions (5 minutes from the Spanish steps). Breakfast was well worth it - a spread of typical Italian foods in a stunning room. The room itself was lovely, opening onto a courtyard and just big enough. We had a great time - 4 days in Rome and well worth it!.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, not a 5 star hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything else
The hotel is very old and in desperate need of renovation. The bathroom floor and the bedside tables appeared dirty, but I am not sure whether it was because they were really old or whether the cleaning personnel did not do their job right. The breakfast was quite bad so we opted out of it after two attempts. The only good part of our stay was the hotel's location. It is 25 min walk to the Vatican and 20 min to the Roman forum. You can see all the main tourist attraction without using public transportation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miamisburg, OH

Nice hotel in nice area

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location and good breakfast. Lobby is beautiful.
Cons: Beds are uncomfortable. Air conditioner barely worked.
Hotel has a nice staff with decent but older rooms. Breakfast was included and very good. Good location. Room was ok, but beds were uncomfortable and air conditioner could not adequate cool the room. Hotel staff said it "met their standards". Essentially, the place was "ok" but I'd stay somewhere else on my next trip.