Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Carol from CT

Lovely villa

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
GHVT a lovely place with a wonderful setting overlooking Rome. Well maintained and clean. Breakfast not up to expectation for the price. Location is beautiful, at top of hill in a garden setting, but a long walk to town - had to drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great alternative to avoid chaotic Rome, Frascati

Posted May 25, 2013
Pros: The village atmosphere.
Cons: The cuisine is terrible. Simple do not eat at the hotel, opt for the many restaurants in Frascati, some simple highlighter.
Location: Castel Gandolfo which is marvelous and 20 mins away from Arricio, a place stuffed with topical Lazio restaurants (Osteria L'Arricciola).
I use to rate hotel between two categories; either those you would forget, or those you would love to come back. This is one of the latter. Frascati is a very nice village outside Rome, and the Villa Tuscolana is the best hotel at the top of a hill, ensuring the best dramatic view over the city. The place, gardens, constructions and forestry is awesome. Only 25 mins way from Rome this place is a great alternative to avoid the city and swap for great typical food, peacefull environment and green.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ezio from Geneva, Switzerland

Impressive architecture and view

Posted Feb 12, 2013
It's an ancient villa on the top of the hill with stunning archtecture and impressive view on Rome. Only drawback is the distance from Frascati. There's a path for pedestrians which takes you in Frascati downtown in about 25 minutes (steep going back to the hotel). Room are beautiful and corridors really amazing. Good restaurant inside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave

Secluded gem

Posted Jan 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have stayed many, many times in this hotel for business and occasionally for holiday. The location spectacular but you need to be healthy to walk there, it is a 15 minute walk from town up a 1/5 slope. However, the staff are friendly, very accommodating and this hotel is extremely good value. I will certainly stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lyndsey

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Had an amazing stay here! Its just a short walk to the frascati centre so location was perfect. However the hill is rather steep so wouldnt recommend the walk back up if you arent that fit! But The views are amazing and the staff were reallyfriendly. Definitely recommend to everyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from australia

great location need own transport

Posted Sep 19, 2011
great location for travellors with own transport
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Grand Hotel Villa Tuscolana

Posted Sep 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
Beautiful building, needs some money spent on the detail. Single rooms no air conditioning (32 degrees) had to pay to upgrade showers awful either to hot or too cold and sprays up as well as down and outwards. Furniture in room scruffy. room not clean. Only saw one member of staff. The hotel is very isolated and on steep hill. Was told 10 min from Ciampino but in reality a 40 euro trip. Bar closed in hotel but they did offer to serve me. Shuttle bus free to town and station. No water tea or coffee in the room. TV size of laptop and windows would not close.The nearby town of Frascati is a sleepy place although it was a Monday. Fantastic local train service very cost effective. Would not stay there again would rather pay more and stop in a larger town. By the time you take taxi costs into account its about the same but you will find it much more interesting. I would say you really need to have a car to stay at this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Edmonton,AB

A dream hotel.....but, some conditions apply

Posted Aug 6, 2011
The hotel itself is just fantastic. The service is good, the view is magnificent, but you have to be ready either to rent the car to drive there, or to use the hotel shuttle service which is extremely inconvenient. We always waited for that shuttle at the train station for 30-45 min. I wouldn't advise to relay on it too much. They say that the walking distance from the hotel to the station is about 15 min. I didn't try, but still I don't think it is true...And even if it is true, the hotel stands on the top of the hill and surrounded by thick bushes on the steep slopes....Good luck for you if you want to try that route...Especially if you arrive at the station at around 9-10 pm. All the rest was perfect. I would definitely stay there next time if i could arrange my own transport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis, MO

Short stay at Villa Tuscolana

Posted Jul 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
Pros: in a beautiful location on the hills above Frascati. There is plenty of room to walk and relax and everything was very clean and in good order. I found the staff very pleasant, but not every person in the group I traveled with felt the same. I found that most others frustration stemmed from a communication barrier. Cons: my bed was quite hard, I wasn't sure what to expect, but it could have been a bit cozier. Still, I wasn't miserable. I was also fairly upset that the morning I went down for breakfast just hoping for a cup of coffee I had to pay the charge for a full breakfast just because I sat down at a table with friends. I tried to explain to them I only had time for coffee, and not even time to finish my cup for that matter! Yet they felt the need to charge me in full.