Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Our recent stay at Arco dei Tolomei made for a truly memorable experience in Rome! The hospitality of the staff was warm and helpful. The location was excellent for a plethora of food choices and breakfast was delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Uriel Meshoulam from Cambridge

A very good choice - central yet quiet guest house

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is a guest house - not a hotel - so you need to adjust your expectations accordingly. Clean, nice size room, free Wi-Fi, extremely friendly host who gave us indispensable hints as to what to see in Rome (don't miss the Palazzo Valentini). Location is out of the hub, yet is close to everything you would want to explore. Most sites are easy walking distance. The neighborhood is quiet, charming, and full of good places to eat. Why not five stars? It is almost there. Furniture could be modernized a bit. For those who care - there are two flights of stairs (Carlo was kind enough to take our luggage upstairs, and also took them down when we left!) Breakfast was adequate, but not great: no eggs, and surprisingly no cappuccino or espresso machine (rather, very dark coffee)! Yet, Carlo remembered that I we prefer plain yogurt, rather than the sweet stuff. The help was wonderful: always in a good mood and smiling. All in all, this was a good choice. It probably deserves more than four stars, but i reserve five stars to the ultimate experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kathleen and Dan from Atlanta, GA

Great Italian feel! Short walk to must see sites.

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was wonderful. We throughly enjoyed it. We loved the stairs to the balcony that lead from out of the window! The room was lovely, the attention to detail did not go unnoticed, although we found the bed to be a little hard! We did not meet Marco, the proprietor, but did have the pleasure of being greeted by his assistant, Josline, and speaking with her on several occassions. We found her to be absolutely delightful and very helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike and Laurie from Los Angeles, CA

A Roman Nighborhood

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved staying away from the center town bustle of Rome here just across the river in Trastevere, a fine old (very very old) but refreshing neighborhood. Arco Dei Tolomei is very nicely situated to walk to any spot in Rome Central and in Trastevere. Seems like you are staying in your own comfortable home filed with art and history. The proprietors and staff here are amazingly friendly and helpful, made the 5 day stay here truly enjoyable. Excellent breakfast and nice louging area and patios are special. Thanks for a great stay. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Suzie from Melbourne

Lovely guest house in Trastevere in Rome

Posted Aug 29, 2013
This is the 4th time I have stayed at Arco, and I loved it as usual. I would never want to stay anywhere else in Rome. Comfortable, hospitable, and welcoming atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wayne B from California

Feel like a local in this neighborhood

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Guest House was perfect as we were looking for an area close to the touristy sites without being right in the middle of them. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It was a block away from the Tiber River and a 30 min walk or less to everything. In seeing some of the other areas, was very happy to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Connecticut

Charming B&B with more than a touch of luxury

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: If aesthetics matter to you, this is the place for you. Also our host and his assistant both speak English fluently and could not be more welcoming.
Cons: A very small matter: lighting for in our room for reading
Location: Trastevere is a popular part of Rome for dining and nightlife, especially for young people, who cross the Tiber in great numbers in the evening.
We felt like guests in Marco's beautiful family home in the Trastevere section of Rome. The dining room, of course, is central to one's stay in a B&B, and Guesthouse Arco dei Tolomei's is sumptuous! Breakfast was the opportunity for delightful conversation and for dining on a delicious assortment of Italian goodies ranging from freshly-made cakes to hams and cheeses to Marco's own cherry and orange home-made preserves. We could have lingered all morning! This was the finest breakfast in all our B&B and hotel stays in Italy. Marco and his wonderful cook/assistant Jocelyn, were extremely hospitable and helpful with directions, advice, and ordering/downloading tickets - to the Vatican Museum, for example - from their computer, which guests may use. The house is furnished with lovely antiques and excellent taste, yet has a relaxed, comfortable "feel." Our room was comfortable in the Rome heat, with both a little balcony for sitting and air conditioning. We stayed at Guesthouse Arco dei Tolomei for four days and would return in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great place to stay in Rome

Posted Mar 11, 2013
We had a very enjoyable stay at Marco's. The breakfast every morning was beautiful and delicious. Marco was very helpful in suggesting places to eat. And when we couldn't find an available tour for the Vatican, Marco found one that was far better than any we could have found on our own. If we return to Rome, we will stay at Marco's again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Simon

Traditional plus comfort and convenience

Posted Feb 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
A great place to stay - extremely friendly and helpful host
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anel L.

Amazing host, neighborhood and location!

Posted Oct 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
We could have not asked for a better place, family and location to stay at. This place had more than you can imagine and Marco was more than helpful providing us with guidance on sites to see. It was a great place to finish our honeymoon :).