Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice comfortable hotel close to attractions

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Nice clean hotel with friendly staff in an excellent location. The breakfast room is extremely cosy but I understand you could have breakfast in your room. The air conditioning is limited and could do with being able to adjust to cooler if required as would have been more comfortable in our case. Don't bother with the lift - it's tiny. Overall for a 3 star hotel it is good.
2 out of 5
by carol from Rome Italy

Roman holiday.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: location and friendly staff.
Cons: Having tea/coffee facilities in the rooms.
Location: centrally located , walking distance to most places.
From the pictures of the hotel website it did not show that there were two flights of stairs to climb before getting to the elevator. Reasonable overall but I really need my cup of tea after a long day walking.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ross from sydney

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel handy to main train station and walking distance to major attractions. Internet costs extra and constantly drops out and when working is terribly slow. No iron available. Lots of stairs. Air cond not working. Front rooms very noisy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breakfast Room

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Centrally situated within a stone's throw of the nearest underground station giving quick access to many of Rome's highlights.
Cons: See above
Location: The location abounds with eating places, not all of them, amounting to much. One exception is a lovely restaurant: L'antica Fraschetta in Via Venezia.
The hotel was fine on a 3 star basis and the staff were pleasant and accomodating. However, the breakfast room was very small which meant queuing ( in the corridor ) at times. I think at least one other room should be made available for this purpose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Werrington England

perfect location for sight seeing

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The location was perfect
Cons: Attitude of some staff-sadly mainly the Italians!
Location: Walking distance to all the main sites and close to metro for the rest.
Very good value for money, clean, comfortable if basic, breakfasts adequate with a good variety to choose from.Staff fell into two categories: some were very helpful and friendly but others were sullen and seemed to have to deal with us very reluctantly. Only real complaint was the price of the hotel taxi- 110 euros for trip to and from airport was a bit steep when normal taxis were charging 60. I expect to pay extra for the convenience but not that much! Overall would stay there again and recommend to friends
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paulina

Hotel Augustea

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Hotel is alright for its price, close to all the main attractions (20mins walk to the Coloseum, similar time to Di Trevi Fountain and Pantheon- if you like walking, there's no need to buy the metro tickets for the city centre points), only a bit further to Vatican. It's only a 5mins walk from the Republicca metro station which can take you to Ottavino station (near Vatican) or Anagnina (there's a bus from Anagnina to the airport which costs €1.4 as far as I remember). The hotel itself is not that bad- the receptionist was quite friendly and gave us the keyes to our room at 12, not from 2 (the check-in time). They communicate in a quite good English. Our room though was dark and not very nice but we didn't spend a lot of time in it. Breakfast was quite boring-no veg or cheese but if you're not fussy, you'll survive. The bad thing was that you need to pay for the Internet around €4 a day! Overall not that bad. P.S. be prepared to pay €2 a day per person for the city tax!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the best thing about this hotel is its location.

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: location and friendly staff
Cons: cleaning variety of food for breakfast
it was a shot visit so it was ok but could be imporved
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from London NW11

Cheap, cheerful and practical

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly, good value for money and centrally located.
Cons: Not wheelchair accessible. There is a working lift but still steps.
Location: This is on the Via Nazionale a main road with all shops imaginable. Close to Repubblica station but everything is walkable in central Rome
Check in was simple. Asked for a quiet room and got one overlooking inner courtyard (drab appearance but very quiet). This is a basic hotel with basic facilites everything is in working order but not the best quality of anything. In reality you are going to spend very little time in a hotel room in a city like Rome that anything more elaborate would seem a bit wasteful. This place ticked all the boxes for us but for those wanting style and clash and plushness will need to pay some more and go elsewhere. But if you are looking for a place to dump your bags, put your head down for a good nights sleep, have a wash and brush up and a decent breakfast you wont go far wrong with this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the center

Posted Jan 28, 2014
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, basic facilities.

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Very small single room with little natural light. Limited breakfast options, but reasonable value overall.