Ratings based on 489 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Central Hotel in Rome

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Great location and is in walking distance to all of the main attractions. The hotel was lovely and staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay in Rome.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We found this hotel to be excellent in every way. Very coveniently located, would definitely recommend it and stay here again. The staff was extremely froendly and helpful. Service was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

A very pleasant stay indeed!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The hotel had an upmarket yet comfortable feel to it and was clean and shiny at all times.
Cons: The only minor detail that would have topped off our stay would have been tea/ coffee making facilities in the room.
Location: Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, National Art Gallery
We chose the Hotel Barocco for our honeymoon trip to Rome. The hotel itself is in walking distance to all the main sights and all roads seemed to lead back to it. It was also perfect for sampling different areas of evening meals; the cheaper Trevi area or the more expensive Spagna area. The room was cleaned regularly with fresh towels appearing during the day and evening. We were greeted by friendly, yet professional staff who made us feel very welcome and for whom nothing seemed too much trouble. Knowing that it was our honeymoon, they aimed to make our stay special; leaving a handwritten note and a bottle of chilled Prosecco for our arrival which was a lovely touch. They helped us to book excursions and were on hand to answer any questions that we had. All the staff; from reception to kitchen to the porters spoke very good English (excellent for us as we hadn't had time to swat up on our Italian due to the madness of wedding preparations) which put us at ease straight away. The breakfast offered plenty of choice which meant that we could fill up in the morning and then didn't really need anything more until our evening meal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel in the center of Rome

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: breakfast
Location: great location
Nice boutique hotel, However it is really tiny and congested and rooms are outdated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire UK

Reassuring!!!

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Booked the Hotel based solely on reviews, thank goodness!! Love Italy, Love Roma! Thankyou guys, whilst the rest of Rome can be frustrating although beautiful, you we're just beautiful! xx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monaco, MC

Comfortable and convenient hotel to visit Rome

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, good location.
Location: The Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and a small part of the Colosseum are currently under renovation. Check status online before travelling.
The location of the hotel is very good; within 10 minutes walk from the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. It is a great starting point to walk around Rome and see all the sites. It is also only 10 minutes walk (or 7 euros by taxi) from the Termini Station, which means it is convenient to use the Leonardo Express train directly from the Fiumicino airport into town (14 euros one way). The area around the hotel is safe and it is OK to walk outside at night. This is a boutique hotel on a side street, so the view from the room isn't fantastic. The entrance is also a bit small. However, the rooms are very pleasant and comfortable, the bathroom is spacious and the staff were friendly and helpful. They gave me great recommendations for dinner and tips on public transport. I would stay here again. If you have back problems and require beds with a good lumbar support (as I do), the beds here are good (altough not fabulous) and will enable you to rest properly. The building has many steps, even from the elevator to the rooms, so it is not very convenient for wheelchair users. As an Expedia Elite Plus member, I was given a big plate of fruit in my room upon arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great cosy hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Excellent hotel in great location. Room a bit small but staff were excellent and the hotel was a clean. Beds were brilliant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Great location!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: As above - great breakfast, super comfortable beds, great location!
Cons: Wish it was slightly less expensive but priced well for the hotel market in Rome.
Location: See above.
We stayed for two nights during the second week of July. This is a lovely hotel within walking distance to many tourist (and non-tourist) sites and lots and a variety of shopping (decent through high-end/luxury products). We walked to all of the historic sites (Colloseum, Pantheon, Borghese park) from here. There is a taxi stand on the square which makes it super convenient when travelling farther distances and the subway is also around the corner. The staff were all very professional and friendly. The beds were so comfortable we slept in and missed breakfast one morning (we never do this!!). We realized the next morning what a mistake that was as the breakfasts were fabulous (not typical Italian breakfasts - loads of warm and cold options to order as well! We were also left a lovely fruit plate in our room. It was a bit expensive (as are most hotels in Rome) but overall a 4.5 star and we would absolutely recommend this to our friends and stay there again. A few other notes: 1) the hotel will arrange a private car and driver to the airport (we had an immaculate Mercedes) for only slightly more than the flat taxi rate - it is about a 45 minute ride to Leonardo da Vinci. We took the subway after arriving from Venice by train to Termini station - just 2 stops from Termini station; 2) the hotel entrance is not right on the square but off a side street - despite its address on the square; and 3) Trevi Fountain AND parts of the Spanish Steps are under construction this summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Great location to see all of Rome, great service.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Travelled with a newborn baby - staff were very accomodating and even helped us out by storing our luggage for an extended stay. Staff were extremely great in providing advice for restaurants, shortcuts and best places to travel. Breakfast was good, hotel was slightly smaller but this was expected. Highly recommend this hotel for anyone travelling in Rome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

great location in central Rome.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: location.
Cons: four star hotels must have at least alarm clock and working TV..
Location: walking distance from Spanish Steps and Trevi. Metro station is around the corner, also plenty of taxis by the corner. Many cafes and shops around.
Good location in central Rome. Booked here because of the reviews and the location, walking distance from Spanish steps. However, the room was incredible small even for one person and European standards without toiletries, no alarm clock, although the room was clean,TV was not working properly and have to call on several times to fix it, no view. Actually my view was towards a small court yard full of debris, very unkempt. Breakfast was rather good with quality and abundant of dishes.