Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peta from Brisbane, Australia

Posted Jan 10, 2014
We booked a room with a shared bathroom. The room was spotless and tastefully decorated. There are two bathrooms - one full bathroom with shower and toilet, as well as a separate toilet. We stayed four days and only had to wait to use the shower once - no problems whatsoever with the shared bathroom. The owner, Patty, is friendly and helpful - the hotel is her own home which has been converted. The location is superb, between the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and very close to art galleries as well as the Piazza Barberini and the Barberini metro stop (although we did not use the metro - everything we wanted was close enough to walk). We had a wonderful stay and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Ithaca,NY

Exquisite!

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: its elegance and old world decor
Right in the heart of Barberrini, a couple of blocks from the Metro, it's only one stop or an easy walk to the Spanish Steps and Borghese Gardens.The hotel is beyond beautiful--more like a grand residence, really: Beautifully appointed. Exquisite!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on a budget

Posted Nov 26, 2012
Pros: Location was unbeatable
Cons: Dog barking all night and horrible beds.
Location: Walking distance to many restaurants and the Trevi Fountain.
Small and quaint. The location is unbeatable. Parking, even with a scooter was difficult. walking distance from countless restaurants and the Trevi Fountain. Connected to residential section so we had a dog barking half the night, very annoying. The room was adequate in size for a place to rest our heads. We did visit Rome to stay in our room. But the beds were tiny and uncomfortable. We actually took them off the frames and laid them on the floor next to eaxh other for the night. The owner was very accomodating though and helpful with directions and sight recommendations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leslie from Tappahannock, VA

Great value and nice place to stay

Posted Oct 9, 2012
A little hard to find, but beautifully located close to attractions, shopping and restaurants. Very quiet and nicely kept. The beds weren't the most comfortable - a little too firm. The price was right.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One Night In Rome

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Lack of upkeep of the property
Location: Great!
The location is very close to Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. The hotel is one of 3 in the building. It appears the hotel was an apartment at one time. Sinks were added to the bedroom to make it a hotel. The bathroom and shower are shared down the hall. The building is very old and not kept up well. The hotel was clean but the lack of upkeep made it a little depressing to stay. I would suggest if you only need one night and you want to keep the cost down, you can give it a try but know it is a depressed property. I would like to stress again it is clean and the staff is very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Norm from Newcastle Upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK

Great hotel for couples and people on business

Posted Sep 19, 2012
Pros: How clean the hotel was, value for money
Cons: Nothing really but the lift is small for those who carry a lot if baggage
Location: Location is excellent, minutes away from the metro and Trevi Fountain
This hotel was great value, anyone worried about the shared bathroom shouldn't be, it was always available and clean. This hotel is in a great location and minutes away from the the underground metro line.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St Paul, MN, USA

Good value for the price

Posted Jul 3, 2012
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: The tiny shower! I am a small woman and I hit my elbow numerous times!
Location: Great location!
Overall we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Boccaccio. The location was great! We loved walking past the Trevi Fountain every day. The hotel is also close to the train station which made getting to the top attractions very easy. Our room was clean and quiet. We had a private bathroom which was very nice (especially because we booked a room without the private bath, but because this room was available she upgraded us at no charge); although, the bathroom is extremely small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by See the World from Iowa

Get what you pay for

Posted Jun 18, 2012
I stayed here for three days, It was inexpensive, and that's the quality I received. My tiny room was extremely clean, but the bed was uncomfortable. Bring a blanket in case you easily get cold. What was there for linens didn't suffice. Be prepared for a shared bathroom, although, I took many showers while I was there, and didn't have any problems with access to the bathroom. There was a sink and mirror in each room, so you could at least brush your teeth, and apply make-up there. I was hardly in the room, so considering what I paid, it wasn't bad, but next time, I will definitely cough up additional money for accommodations that are a little nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JG from Florence, Italy

A little gem I feel compelled to share

Posted Apr 22, 2012
The only reason I hesitate to recommend this hotel is because I would very much like to keep it a secret. The hotel is Patty's private apartment; it occupies an entire floor, one end of which is the rooming house. A shared entrance, but the rooms are very separate from her private residence. Five rooms only, one double has its own bath, the other four rooms share a bath in the hall. However, the wc is separate from the shower, and the shower also has a wc, so there is little chance of a wait when you need to use the wc. Probably not recommended for families, but great for anyone else who is willing to go without a few amenities in exchange for savings. The place was very clean, the windows insulated therefore very quiet. No breakfast included but everything you need just around the corner. Of course the location is what makes this such a great find. Close to bus lines and subway as well as walking distance from some of the major sites. Patty told me that the rooming house has been in her family since her grandmother's time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Derek Ng

Your home in Italy

Posted Apr 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
For my 5 night stay in Rome I did a lot of research into the various hostels and hotels available around the Trevi Fountain/Spanish Steps area, and the Boccaccio consistently rated high on a lot of website reviews. So I bit the bullet and I'm glad I did. First off, it's extremely easy to find, just a block or so down from Station Barberini, which is only 2 stops from Termini. When you get there you go up one flight of stairs (a lift is available) and are greeted by a smiling Patty at the door. Patty is the 3rd generation owner of the Boccaccio and a lovely, maternal presence in the house. If nots really a hostel, nor pension or hotel. It really is an extension to Patty's home, and guests are encouraged to treat it that way. So no fancy locks, TVs, etc. I stayed in the single room overlooking the front door. I've heard other reviews mention the noise but I was fine. It's bright, sunny, big for a single, comfortable and sported a sink and cupboard. It was also very clean, and the cleaner does come around every day to tidy up. There's a separate bathroom and another shower/toilet room down the hall which is also maintained well. I suppose where one's expectations need to be adjusted is that this really is Patty's home, and if you're comfortable in that kinda space it's lovely. What separates it from hostels is the level of service, even if the amenities are similar to what you can get elsewhere. I'd definitely recommend it for travellers who want a personable experience in Rome.