Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angelafrom New Zealand

Lovely location, very romantic

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: The setting, the d├ęcor, the location, and onsite parking (lots of space)
Cons: room service & restaurant formula
Location: Summer in Rome can be extremely hot... We chose this hotel prior to flying out because located up on the hills and handy to the airports.
We had 3 rooms booked, but one of them did not correspond to what we requested (twin) and the only twin available was at the back of the hotel, overlooking the road. Also, my room was not made on day 2 because the staff only came to do it in the late afternoon (one would expect morning) and walked into the room without knocking... while we were having a siesta !! Finally, I regret that the dinner at the restaurant is menu only (4 course) as we would have preferred something a bit lighter at night. But apart from that, the hotel is beautiful, excellent location, and I would be more than happy to go back anytime.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom USA

some get the view

Posted Mar 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Registering over hotyels.com did not get me a room with a view... that may be the only think worthwhile in this place. the rooms I stayed in were old cramped and smelly... moldy. The whole place feels ran down and not in the "old Castle" way. The staff is unfriendly and will not offer help or advise. I do not recommend to stay here if one finds any other hotel in the area! No Internet in the rooms and may be some signal on the 1st floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom OH

Castel Vecchio. August 2010

Posted Aug 29, 2010 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our short stay.Two nights. Tho, my distinct impression upon entering hotel- the staff Not exactly happy to see guests - Language barrier -very awkward. Breakfast was so so- not worth getting up for. Sunday lunch So slow we had to leave, before we were halfway thru .Not an easy place to find Taxi s Noplace to sit poolside- a disappointment. Would I reccommend it to my friends- If its an overnight "Yes", but for a real vacation - I dont think so. Their idea of a triple room A joke! "The View Spectacular".
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Over-rated and rude

Posted Jun 14, 2010
The hotel is nothing like the description, it was full of weddings when I arrived, its miles from the lake, the staff were all incredibly rude, they had no information on the local area or sights whatsoever, the so-called relaxation areas are not at all, the pool was filthy... Over-rated!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Forfar

Wonderful views from the rooms across the lake.

Posted Jun 14, 2009
Fairly grand hotel perched on the edge of an extinct volcanic crater with extensive views in all directions. Rooftop pool pretty small and lake probably better bet for a swim
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Would not go again

Posted Jan 4, 2009 on Hotels.com
Hotel was nice from the outside,the bedroom was very basic,old and desperately needed a refurbishment,seemed more like a 1 star hotel from the inside!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Fairfax

Good value in a great location

Posted Nov 6, 2008 on Hotels.com
Castel Goldolfo ia a beautiful Italian village, summer residence of the Popes. The hotel is in a good location and, for the money, is quite adequate. The restaurant appeared over-priced, though we did not eat there. Breakfast buffet was just fine in a room with views over the lake. There is no internet service!!! This seems common throughout Italy, though sometimes there is a computer in the lobby. Service for your own computer in the room does not seem available outside chain US type hotels.