Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MapMan from Virginia

Not too shabby

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Termini train station and maybe 10 minutes or so from the Manzoni metro on the A line which will get you to all the tourist spots in Rome. The Colosseum is about a 25-30 minute walk from the hotel. Overall the hotel is pretty good for the price, the staff were friendly and spoke English, appreciated me trying my best to speak Italian too. The room we had was labeled a king bed though it was really two twins/fulls pushed together, but sufficient. Bathroom was surprisingly large for Europe, you could fully extend your arms out in the shower. Breakfast (included) was on the top floor with a nice view looking west towards the center of Rome and the croissants were tasty. The surrounding neighborhood was a little shady being near the train tracks but it seemed most of the people walking around were fellow tourists or locals going to Termini anyway so I didn't feel in danger (I'm a guy). A couple good restaurants are about a 5 minute walk away which was convenient the first day we got there. Overall the hotel fit our needs: a place to simply fall asleep and get free breakfast while being relatively close to public transportation. If I went to Rome again I'd probably stay here given how pricey hotels can get to be just a bit closer to all the hustle and bustle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Good location and comfortable bed.
Cons: Keep standards and maybe staff could be happier.
Location: Good location, 15 minute walk from Termini, alternatively not far from a Metro stop either.
Very good location and you definitely get what you pay for. Room was very clean and breakfast was very nice. Staff were very polite, but didn't seem to be happy working there! Other than that I have no complaints. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by John from Leeds,UK

Disappointed

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: It was handy for getting in and out of the centre of rome
Cons: Air conditioning unit. Air conditioning unit. Air conditioning unit.
Location: The location was OK. There were 2 very good pizza/pasta restaurants just up the road towards the station which we used a few times.
The air conditioning unit in our room was broken with apparently no hope of repair. As the temperatures outside were between 30 to 35 all week the room was an oven. Only a pitiful little fan was provided as a recompense! The doors of the shower unit fell off every time you used the shower. The curtains could not be opened as the pull cord snapped. The mini-bar (ha!) was not particularly cold. Breakfast was adequate but not particularly varied. The staff were OK but didn't necessarily go out of their way to be helpful.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by markos

Slightly far but nice.

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Cons: Bathroom neends upgrade
Location: Bit out of the way
Very quiet but room was a bit dark. Furniture looks old and tired fresh bright paint badly needed.
1 out of 5
by Kimberly from Denver, CO

Worst Hotel in Rome

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: There was nothing about this hotel I found nice, or accurate to the description found here.
Cons: A accurate description of the hotel for a start.
Location: It's reasonably close to a few restaurants and the train station. No Rome landmarks within walking distance.
We booked this hotel about 2 months in advance through Expeida. The description of the hotel claimed this hotel was "minutes from the Spanish Steps", that they provided complimentary wifi in all rooms, that they had an airport shuttle, and that were the upmost accommodation in Rome. All of these couldn't be farther from the truth. When we arrived via a 60€ taxi ride thanks to no shuttle, we found ourselves in the dumps of Rome. We checked in and then asked for access for the wifi, only to find out it was 5€ for a continuous 3 hours. Again, faulty advertising. We then went to our room only to notice our bathroom was flooded. The staff, who's manger was nowhere to be found, acted as if bathroom flooding was normal and they would send someone the following day. We then found out that when we were departing the hotel, we must turn in our key to the front desk, allowing them access to our belongings (also, there was no safe in the room, as the website claimed there was). We quickly departed this hotel, vowing to never return and spread the word to beware and stay away. Consider yourselves warned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ace

A little seedy neighborhood

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Cons: Rooms could use more light
Location: Trains real close
An easy location to walk to sites and trains. Room was dark and air conditioning was controlled by front desk, called twice to make it cooler but didnt happen. Staff was nice and very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ivan from Puerto Rico

Hotel is ok if main purpose is rest at night.

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: The staff was very nice and friendly, spoke Spanish and English, Closeness to train and trolley stations
Cons: The rooms have wifi but you have to pay for access, should be free. Rooms should be redone so all of them meet the same standard.
Location: Near the Termini and Via Marzoni were there are nice restaurants. Close to Piazza Maggiore were we could take the trolley to move to Metro stations.
We had the opportunity to stay twice in a period of 12 days.Our first stay was from 5/24 to 5/26. The hotel has 3 buildings along the via Giovanni Giolitti, same street where Rome Termini is. We walked from the Termini to the hotel and it is a 15 minute walk which I didn't mind much since the weather was cool in the mid 60's. Maybe doing it in the middle of the summer might be a little tougher. The staff was very nice. We are from Puerto Rico and fluent in English but it was nice that many of the front desk staff spoke Spanish and English. The room that was assigned to us was in the 4th floor, it was excellent. We were a party of 4 adults. We were comfortable and the room had plenty of electrical outlets to plug our voltage converters to charge all our electrical gadgets. The bathroom was big and very clean although the shower was small per American standards, but no big deal. The room even had an L shaped balcony with nice view of the neighborhood. Breakfast had eggs but one it is finished, it is not replaced so it becomes a continental breakfast. On our second stay which was for only one night, we were assigned another room in the first floor. Although bigger than the room on our first stay, this one was noisy, you can hear everything from the hall, the shower had mold and there was only 2 electrical outlets that we could not use because our voltage converters would not fit, a complete difference from our first room we had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budget hotel stay

Posted May 21, 2013
Cons: The maid always forgot to give us toilet paper after cleaning our room, so had to go down to reception to ask for toilet paper nearly every evening.
Location: Within walking distance of Metro and Central train station. Also local supermarket and a few restaurants.
Helpful staff at reception. Within walking distance of Metro and Central train station. Close by restaurants was decent for eating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 21, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hot room
Location: Bit seedy
Room very warm (and this was in April) - air con not working, had to keep door open to corridor to cool rooms down. At night needed to close window due to trams/trains noise so then it got hot!!! Satins on walls - not sure what this was. Not enough pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Terry from Sheffield UK

Good hotel for economy stay in Rome centre

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Staff friendliness and breakfasts
Cons: Damp bathroom
Location: 10 minute walk from the Termini station - maybe 20 with a suitcase. Well located for local public transport, restaurants and supermarket. Seemed safe.
We received a really pleasant welcome by the member of staff on reception. This was typical of all staff members, including cleaners and those serving breakfast. Registration was smooth and well explained. Our twin room was adequate in size and certainly OK in terms of storage space for a week's holiday. Another chair would have been nice, but basically it was a comfortable place to stay over-night and crash out for the occasional lazy late afternoon after a day walking around the city. We were there in spring which is probably the best time in terms of room comfort - not cold enough to need the heating, not warm enough for air conditioning. I can imagine the sound of the heater/A-C could be annoying if trying to sleep in the room. The bathroom was our only problem. It looked a bit tired, with crazed shower tray (although the shower itself worked fine). The lack of real ventilation meant it had quite a damp feel to it - the tiles on floor and walls took a long time to dry after we used the shower, and there was a slightly mouldy smell in the room. Classic moment was the arrival of a slug climbing the condensation-wet wall one evening! Overall though this was bearable if you want a relatively cheap hotel with good city centre location. Breakfasts were filling; the surrounding area seem safe enough during the day, though by choice we did not go out after dark.