Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Amazing Location!!!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The location is simply amazing, very close to all the major sites but in an area away from the noise. The staff was very helpful, I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Australia

Very close to what I wanted

Posted Jun 20, 2014
I liked because it was close to Piazza del Popolo Trevi f, Piazza di Spagna and ather locality like the Vatican etc. etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to public transport

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Room furnishings
I stayed in the Hotel Centrale for three nights. Overall, it is a very nice little hotel. I was in a single room which was small, but all hotels in Europe are small. The room was clean and well kept. Only complaint I had was the mattress was a little sunk in and pillow was flat. The guys in the room next to me were fairly noisy and I could hear them come in late at night. Breakfast was OK, nothing exceptional, standard bread rolls, jam, cheese, yogurt, and coffee. The hotel location is good, just a 5 minute walk from the Flaminino metro station and two minutes away from piazza Poppolo. Overall, a nice hotel in a nice location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack & Gwen from New Orleans

Great location, no frills rooms

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Mattress & pillow quality need major improvement!
Location: Definitely eat at Pizza Re!
Terrific location just a couple of blocks from Piazza di Poppolo & Flaminio metro stop. Great shopping/walking area for the evening passeggiata, wonderful, small local restaurants nearby. Our "superior" room was big by European standards, but the bathroom was hilarious: literally 2.5 feet wide! I'm only 5'1" & had about 3 inches to spare between by knees & the wall opposite the toilet! And be forewarned: If you can't sleep on a rock-hard mattress with a pillow that is closely related to a stone, you won't do well here! We asked if they had any softer pillows, and they added two fatter rocks to our bed! But after walking 7 to 8 hours each day, we slept quite soundly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and friendly staff

Posted Mar 18, 2014
The hotel is perfectly located for a reasonable cost. You can walk to all of the main sites within 30 minutes. A decent breakfast is included and free wifi was a plus. At the front desk they will give you a good map and highlight all of the major attractions in Rome. Also right across the street from a great pizza place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natali from Dubai

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Mar 8, 2014
We stayed 6 nights. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Reception adviced good places to go and always helped us with any of our requests. Very clean room but little bit small especially bathroom and shower. However, it was not a big problem. Hotel is located in quite place but at the same time it takes only few seconds to reach Via del Corsa (thesis street for shopping), 3-4 minutes to metro, 10 minutes to Spanish steps, about 15 min to Fountain de trevi. So many destinations are in a walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CJ from Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Friendly staff, quiet, great location

Posted Oct 6, 2013
We were very happy overall with our 7 day stay at Hotel Centrale. We had one of the larger rooms with a large bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was reasonably clean and very quiet, which was surprising given its location near major streets. The air conditioner worked fine, the water pressure was great and temperature hot. The old elevator was a nice touch, which helped with our Rome experience. The breakfast was somewhat disappointing, however. The coffee machine made **instant** coffee, I believe. You could pay for an espresso, but the espresso/cappuccino at a local shop down the road (towards the river) was much better (make sure to drink it standing or it costs nearly triple). The croissants were not top quality. The location of this hotel was perfect. Walking distance to all of the sights, lots of restaurants nearby. When we visited, the city was resurfacing the road, which was a nuisance but out of the control of the hotel. We would definitely stay there on our next trip to Rome.
3 out of 5
by Dan from Buffalo, NY

Good location-Fair hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: The location was great. You could walk to almost all of the major sites in 30 minutes or less and not have to deal with the Metro or buses.
Cons: Freshen up the rooms and provide some vehicle access to at least unload luggage.
Location: Near the Spanish Steps and within walking distance of most everything else.
First of all, the hotel is in a permit required driving area. So if you have a car, forget this place. On the day we arrived, there was a water main break in front of the hotel and we were without water for half a day. So no showers, no flushing toilets and no refunds or any type of compensation except a couple bottles of water. The rooms were older and could have been cleaner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AM from New York City

Value in Rome

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Average hotel in a great neighborhood; good value for the price. Excellent staff and service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Great hotel, very nice staff, clean room, good AC, very recommended!