Ratings based on 562 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from UK

Hotel Colosseum

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The roof terrace is great and a real bonus.
Cons: Breakfast is a little limiting being the standard European far but acceptable.
Location: We were a little disappointed with the location a little to far away from the attractions. The restaurant recommended by the concierge was excellent.
We had a short break at this hotel and the staff were excellent. From the roof terrace you can see why the hotel is called the Colosseum, but it is not that close to the Colosseum about 1.5 km. I was trying to book into a hotel closer to the attractions, but it was still generally fine if you are prepared to walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A short break in history.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Good location, firendly helpful staff, comfortable room and nice breakfast.
Cons: Slightly more comfortable mattress.
Location: Very close to the Collaseum
A great historical city with interesting sites and a very warm welcome. I would recommend a trip to Rome to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeanette,Colin from UK

Fabulous hotel in great location.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, quality of the facilities and the roof terrace.
Cons: No
Location: Book a Vatican tour. Easy to do the Colosseum with a jump the Q ticket through a city bus tour co.
From the minute we walked into the hotel we found all the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble to ensure we had an excellent experience of their hotel and Rome throughout our 4 night stay. Our room was lovely. We were shown where everything was and how everything worked which was briliant. It was extremely clean and very comfortable with every thing working properly especially the AC of which we were most grateful. The breakfast was good and the inside residents areas were lovely but the roof terrace was the star. What views! We could see 260 degrees from the Basilica S. Giovanni, taking in the Colosseum, Unknown warrior memorial, round to the Vatacanand more. The roof terrace was a very welcome and lovely space to take a rest during the day and a lovely space to meet fellow travellers and exchange experiences over a drink after a hard days sight seeing. We would certainly recommend this hotel very highly and will certainly stay again ourselves. It's location just off of Cavour is great. It is quietly located for its residents while being very near to different transport routes and the main areas either by these or on foot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice Hotel near Colosseum

Posted Jun 23, 2014
We moved to this hotel after another did not work out. Our room was fine for three people, if a bit expensive. The patio on the roof made it all worth while as we watched the sun set over Rome (with beers in hand!).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by su from uk

great location

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: the location, good wifi but there is also free use of computer & printer in lobby so you can do some work or print boardpasses, only some of the staff
Cons: security for luggage facility, certain staff members need to improve their personal skills & the triple room was too cramped for 3 adults
Location: see above
Certain members of staff were pleasant. In fact, young reception chap, on check in, offered an adaptor during our stay due to problems with ours. Thankfully they eventually worked for me to return the adaptor. However some of the other staff were cold except for the usual buon giorno greeting. Can I just point out that the lady in dining room was the most cold and abrupt, not something I expect when even staying in a 3 star hotel. She offered cappuccinos to only a select few. The housemaids were pleasant and cleaned the rooms very well. The roof terrace was pleasant with a beautiful 270 deg view including Colosseum and St.Peter's. Would recommend watching at dawn, sunset and at night to catch the lights of the city. But usually by evening was a mess as a lot of guests would leave their empty bottles. I would suggest hotel staff do a check over at sunset to ensure it remains well kempt or even keep a bin there. The big plus was the location which is what matters if you plan to explore Rome. Colosseum, termini station within 15 minutes and Sante Maria Maggiore within 1-2min was serene and peaceful. Cavour station within minutes. Monti district was great to do shopping, from boutiques, gelatos, restaurants`& last minutes souvenirs. Overall the big positive is the location and if you are out during the day exploring and just need somewhere to relax at the end of the day then this place maybe it but not for less than the full price (luckily got on discount through expedia)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andrew from bracknell

Clean an friendly hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Clean an friendly hotel close to everything you want to see in rome would go go back for sure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carl from Cheltenham, UK

Great Hotel with fantastic roof top terrace!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Location, quietness and a fantastic roof top terrace!
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Central position so you can walk to most places of interest eg Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc
Great location - able to walk to most places of interest directly from the hotel. Fantastic Roof top terrace with the most amazing views. Great staff with a helpful attitude to all questions asked. So quiet despite being in the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great central Hotel, close to attractions

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms with air conditioning. Fantastic roof terrace to watch the nights away with a few drinks
Cons: Tea / coffee making facility in room
Location: 10 minutes walk to Colosseum, Roman Forum, River Tiber. Easy access to the Vatican & St Peter's, the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain
Great base to explore a fascinating city 5 mins max to the nearest Metro (Via Cavour), - would recommend booking in advance for some of the major sites such as the Colosseum, Vatican museums & Sistine Chapel. Local people all very friendly and helpful. Weather was excellent and averaged over 25 degrees. Good food & wine with a wide range of choice - had excellent Italian classics such as pizza but also really good steaks & sea food dishes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by J.B from York, England

Good hotel for exploring Rome

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: The convenient location and the roof terrace was a bonus
Cons: Fresh fruit at breakfast and better juice.
Location: Location was very good, less than 10mins walk to the station, 5mins to nearest metro. Colosseum, caf├ęs & restaurants within ten mins walk.
We spent 5 nights at this hotel and had no complaints. The hotel is in a quiet side street, Our room was clean and comfortable, the towels were changed every day. The staff on reception were very helpful and able to answer any questions we had about how to get about. Breakfast was adequate, cereals, rolls, cooked meats, cheese. Fresh fruit would have been good but the tinned peaches & prunes were nice. The roof terrace was a bonus, a lovely place to sit in the sun after a few hours sightseeing. Free wifi & a free safe in the room was useful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanna from London, England

Nice hotel very close to the termini station

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: convenient location, cleanliness, very helpful and kind staff, good quality breakfast, calmness.
Cons: The hotel could have a coffee machine or just better quality coffee.
Location: Location is just perfect, close to Termini Station and just few steps from one of the major basilicas in Rome- Santa Maria Maggiore.
We travelled as a family to Rome between 27-31.05. 2014, we booked this hotel basing on the customer rating, we weren't disappointment , in fact pleased. This hotel is located very close to the Termini station and just few steps from the Basilica Santa Maria Maggiore. It was a nice surprise that we found this hotel very quiet and peaceful. The closest neighbourhood is very convenient (church and military) if you would like to have nice night sleep. We would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody the only reason we gave 4/5 is coffee (served during breakfast)wasn't very italian, not very tasty! and the hotel could be a little bit refreshed. But if you decided to go to Rome you can absolutely rely on this hotel!