Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable.Lovely crisp sheets.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Handy for station.Clean and comfortable.Staff helpful.A good ok'd fashioned Italian hotel .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Kings in Italy are infants?

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Its location
Cons: Service. They should start by smiling to customers. Furniture needs urgently to be updated.
Location: It's great to be near Termini Station. You can go everywhere from there. Santa Maria Maggiore Church, near the hotel is fantastic.
I was supposed to get a King Size bed in this hotel. It was a single bed that made noises everytine I moved. The room wasn't ready by check in time. The personnel, mostly chinese, barely speaks italian (just one of them could be considered fluent) and even communicating in English was difficult. Bathroom: the shower stall was so little that I flooded the bathroom everytima I took a shower. Everything looks old and not really clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading, Berkshire

Adequate hotel near Termini station.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The Italian character was nice, although not top end, was good for the price. The location was good as we could walk to anywhere in central Rome.
Cons: The hotel management really need to deal with elevator noise that disrupts sleep. I'm sure it would be ok in the other rooms however.
Location: Termini, the main station is literally round the corner. There was a historic church very near and all the major attractions of Rome nearby.
This hotel had nice Italian character in a great location near Termini station. The drawbacks were however: (1) We had a room next to old elevator. It made a very loud sudden screeching sound stopping us from getting to sleep and woke us up in the night. I suggest the hotel management look into this. (2) On the expedia booking we put down that there are 2 adults and 2 children. On arrival were told there were only two beds as we only paid for a triple room.I wrongly assumed that Expedia would have automatically made the adjustments to get us the extra bedspace but it has to be formally requested on the booking. We got by, but the attitude of the hotel reception staff was discourteous and disappointing. You don't want to be told ''its not my problem'' by them after 9 hours travelling with delayed flights and young kids. They offered an extra bed at 15euros/night but couldn't do at short notice for the first night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Deseptive description

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Terrible room, small as a closet. The king size bed requested was smaller than a tein. Linen was torn, pillows were flat. Shower was pathetic. Front desk did not even have an iron. Included breakfast iseorth a skip definately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Great location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location!
Cons: For price and if not living there, all good.
Location: Easy access to transportation, places to eat close!
Not in room a lot, good breakfast (continental, but free), clean and comfortable. Small, but so are all rooms in Europe. Reasonable prices, everything was clean and worked! Bed comfortable and staff were helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

European Holiday_2014

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Hotel D'Este is in close proximity to Roma Termini which is very convenient. It's handy for day trips. We went to Tuscany and also to Naples.
Cons: Hotel D' Este needs to consider improvements in the general state of the building - it's falling apart.
Location: In close walking distance to Roma Termini (Rome's Central Train Station), restaurants, shopping, Basilica of Sta. Maria Maggiore.
Our experience staying at Hotel D'Este for 7 days is mediocre. But our overall experience exploring Rome and taking day trips to Tuscany to see the Leaning Tower of Pisa and also to Naples to visit the ancient town of Pompeii - AMAZING!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Great value

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The staff were friendly and the room was always a lovely temperature.
Cons: The lighting and some of the décor.
Location: Great location, easily accessible, close to the old city. If you're feeling adventurous you can even walk to the Vatican in just under an hour.
Short walk from Termini station, 20 minute walk to the Forum, friendly (and English speaking) staff. The proximity to piazza dell'esquilino (practically on the doorstep) was a nice touch as well, and it served as a good point of reference when navigating my way back. The decor was a little antiquated, but the room was clean and the shower was decent (which is a huge plus of course!). If you're a light sleeper I'd recommend asking for a room at the front of the hotel, as opposed to the back. The square out the back is home to a number of what I assume were A/C units, which made a pretty noticeable noise all night; sort of like a deep hum. It wasn't an issue for me given my exhaustion from walking around in the Italian sun, although I did have to shut the windows, but families/couples might not enjoy this so much. The area wasn't bad, although it's probably worth mentioning that the nearby streets seemed quite popular with street vendors and consequently quite congested. Quick note, I did notice one or two homeless folk lingering around near the piazza in the evenings, but you're bound to see a few on a city break! Nobody ever gave me any grief and I felt quite comfortable withdrawing cash from an ATM (which has English language functionality) opposite the piazza. Otherwise, no issues whatsoever. I'd stay there again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to all sights

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Really good value clean and an easy walking distance to all the hotspots (you will do a lot of walking in Rome wherever you stay) friendly staff. Could do with a bar but other than that we had a great time! Would stay there again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Value

Posted May 25, 2014
The hotel is in major need of renovation, it is small, dark and dirty. The maid doesn't have a cart so the floor of the hallway is covered with garbage from rooms and used sheets etc. They don't even use a card key, its a regular key with a huge piece of wood attached to it. The breakfast was sub par, coffee from a vending machine. I stayed at Napoleon earlier and it was a far better hotel for less money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dustin from Austin, Texas, USA

As advertised. Good value. Good location.

Posted May 12, 2014
Hotel review I stayed here solo. Liked it a lot . Would even stay here again with my girlfriend. Great location for the price. (All of Rome is pricey, but this is priced well) Took me 3 minute to walk to train station. 8-10 minutes to walk to coliseum (I was by myself and no distractions though...so I walk fast). 20 minute walk to Piazza Popolo. I stayed in a single twin bed room with interior view. Room had tall ceilings. Hotel provides a decent breakfast. I paid $988 (including taxes) for 6 nights using Expedia. Clean: can tell the room is maintained Functional: smoke detector works, wifi is good enough, shower gets hot, etc....all as advertised. Amenities: simple solid wood furniture (desk, wardrobe, end table), mid-size refrigerator, lock box, two large mirrors, tall ceilings Cons: somewhat thin walls (can hear loud conversations). Wasn't really too big of an issue though.